We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westbury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Westbury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westbury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grafton St | Dublin 2, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westbury. The staff were wonderful from our arrival through our checkout. We arrived well in advance of the check-in time, but they could not have been more helpful in storing our bags and directing us to a local eatery for lunch.

The room itself was very nice, and had the most comfortable bed of our time in Ireland.

I also have to give a special note of thanks to Tommie, on the Bellman's staff, who went above and beyond the call of duty to assist us. This was my first time driving on the other side of the road, and finding the carpark for the hotel was a bit of a challenge. We ended up parking two blocks from the hotel and arriving on foot. Rather than give us directions, Tommie walked with us to our car, and drove with us back to the hotel. Along the way, he gave us tips on which pubs to try and places to have dinner. This was truly remarkable service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear jnklien,

Thank you for having stayed with us and for having favourably reviewed The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

The entire team including Tommy on Concierge are most proud of your lovely comments with regard to the levels of service you received and are most appreciative of the positive review you posted on Tripadvisor.
I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Thank you once again for your valuable custom and kind comments on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,425
    388
    95
    33
    27
See reviews for
293
845
98
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last week our Association had its Annual general Meeting at the hotel.
The Westbury felt more like a private hotel and the service was impeccable and the general standards of the hotel outstanding.
The two meeting rooms we reserved one for the Board 10 persons and the other for the members 30 were perfect for our needs.
All the Irish people we met were most helpful and our members felt that Dublin and the Westbury hotel was the perfect venue for our meeting.
John W. Herbert
General Secretary
EDRA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear johnHCologneGermany,

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for having used our hotel facilities including our wonderful conference area.

It is truly delightful to read your kind review and everyone here greatly appreciates your positive review.
I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Thank you once again for your most favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great service with friendly helpful staff. The room was comfy and very clean. Go out the front door and start shopping on Grafton St. It's all good!!! We needed some help navigating the remainder of our trip in Ireland as we had decided to give the car back. The gentleman at the consierge, Edward, was so helpful and got us the best means of transportation to each of our next stops. He was a God send for us!! Thanks Edward!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear LaurieR,

Thank you for your most kind review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for being one of our cherished customers.

Everyone here on the team including and especially Edward on Concierge is truly delighted by your delightful comments.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are what one would expect at a 5 star. Indeed, it is far superior to the Merrion Hotel which was very disappointing. I had two bugbears however. One was the fact that after a night out, we were interrogated by a bouncer guarding the door asking to see our room passes. It felt like we were underage teenagers looking to gain entry to a nightclub! The second issue was the lack of noise insulation from the next room. Whilst the neighbours were not loud in the least, when I was in the bathroom, I could hear every word of a telephone conversation next door. Noise insulation is the least I would expect of any hotel, never mind a 5 star one. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Scully1234,

Thank you for your favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for your valuable custom.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over other establishments in Dublin and that you would return to stay with us.
Customer loyalty is something we greatly cherish at The Westbury Hotel.
I am concerned to note in your review however that you experienced some sound insulation issues from your bathroom and i regret not having had the opportunity to hear your comments in this regard prior to your departure from our establishment.
I would urge you to please contact me at joseph_downing@doylecollection.com to discuss your stay in more detail.
I look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Thank you once again for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Won a prize of a night in the Westbury and stayed on the Bank Holiday Monday after the marathon.

The hotel is really central for shopping etc and they have improved the car park arrangement since the last time we stayed there a few years ago.

Grafton St is practically outside the front door which is convenient for men who tire of shopping!

The hotel has nice reception areas, but the rooms are a little dated. Noise can be a problem but in fairness this came from outside the hotel rather than inside, and you are in the city centre.

We had a family room with two queen beds and the room size was adequate. We opted to have breakfast in the room and it arrived on time with everything we had ordered.

We also strolled down to Trinity College to see the Book of Kells etc and the receptionist confirmed that we could stay parked after checkout which was generous considering the cost of city centre parking.

Overall, I couldnt fault this hotel - in that it ticked most of the boxes as expected. However it did feel like a hotel in a chain rather than a smaller individual boutique type.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear MikeLeinster,

Thank you for your favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for having stayed with us.

I am delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time at our hotel. I am concerned that you found your room somewhat dated and I regret not having had the opportunity to hear your comments prior to your departure.
I would like to take this opportunity to point out the The Westbury Hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment programme which we feel reflects the needs of the discerning guest and which allows The Westbury Hotel to be a member of The Leading Hotels Of The World.
The Westbury Hotel is part of a small group of eleven hotels located in Dublin, Cork, London, Bristol, Washington and Boston and this group is known as The Doyle Collection.
We strive to deliver excellence to all of our guests in every location and we provide a unique experience at each hotel.
I am disappointed to note that this does not appear to have been the case during your recent stay with us and I would greatly appreciate your contacting me at joseph_downing@doylecollection.com if you wish to give a more detailed account of your findings during your stay at The Westbury Hotel.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in one of the westbury's gorgeous suites and from the time we checked in we found the service and staff to be really helpful and attentative. There were lots of nice little touches that made out stay feel unique like no other hotel we have stayed in in the past. The beds are extremely comfortable and love the chocolates on the pillow ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear emulkerrin,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and for your most favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is indeed a delight to read that this was your first time staying with us and that our wonderful hotel and dedicated team ensured you had a lovely time.
I do hope that it will not be too long before you return to us and I look forward to welcoming you back .

Thank you once more for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are from the uk but met our NY friends at the Westbury just for one night however, we would happily have moved in . It is a beautiful, friendly , professional, immaculately clean and totally central to shops and bars . Thank you to everyone involved x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear julietscott,

Thank you for having stayed with us and for your most kind review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that our establishment exceeded your expectations.
I do look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay soon.

Thank you again for recommending The Westbury Hotel to others on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury Hotel

Address: Grafton St | Dublin 2, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#2 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World, and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury Hotel is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep.ocated just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city’s best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LHW, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jurys Doyle, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.