We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at The Gresham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gresham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gresham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 177 hotels in Dublin
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at The Gresham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I recently stayed at the Gresham Hotel with my sisters and Mom during an annual Chrsitmas trip to Dublin. I can't enthuse more highly about our wonderful stay. The staff and service were excellent from our check-in at reception to our departure. The staff were exceptionally friendly and keen to make our stay totally enjoyable.

The Gresham is a lovely hotel which has recently been re-furbished with an elegant foyer perfect for taking afternoon tea (which we did) and people watching. The breakfast was superb and the bar serves fantastic cocktails with staff eager to recommend a new tipple. As the weather was so bad - we tried out Toddy's bistro which was good value for a relaxing meal in a nice atmosphere.

Overall, the Gresham is a great place to stay from the excellent service, fantastic staff and great location - visitors to Dublin can't go wrong if they decide to stay here

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    955
    576
    304
    177
    84
See reviews for
272
918
133
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a few days visiting Dublin and choose to stay at the Gresham Hotel. The hotel deserves every one of its four stars.Excellant staff, beautiful decor and smack in the centre of Dublin city. The food in the Writers lounge is excellent and very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We were in Dublin midweek for a concert in the Olympia and the hotel is a leisurely 10 minute walk away from the theatre. The front desk staff were very welcoming and friendly.Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and very well equipped. There was ethernet or wi-fi for internet access. We had a drink in the bar before going out, which had a lively mix of patrons, young and not-so-young. The following morning check out was hassle free. I would highly recommend the Gresham to all types of travellers, business or leisure. Why stay out of town when you can get great rates and all the amenities right in the middle of town?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fivemiletown, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Fantastic hotel. Great atmosphere. Very clean and breakfast was great. Staff were very helpful. Bedroom was very spacious. Carpark accessible from within Hotel building was really helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

the hotel is located ideally for city centre shopping and close to all types of public transport. If you choose to stay here included the full irish breakfast (the porrige is the best) and toddy's bar is great for a drink and meal in the evening. I've stayed for a christmas shopping break for the last two years and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

we were greeted by friendly staff, we arrived early in the morning and we had'nt very long to wait for our room we had it before 12 oclock. for the price we payed we had a beautiful room with bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast and dinner was included in our price and both times we had a lovely meal. staff at all times were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

The Gresham may not be the the cheapest hotel in Dublin but it is surely the best. It's location is second to none. Perfect for shopping, theatres, restaurants, The O2 and sporting venues, with the vast majority within walking distance. The money you save on taxis compensates for slight premium.
Staff are very diligent and attentive. The rooms are well equipped and very clean. The food is as tasty as the bed is comfortable.
An evening stroll through the cobbled streets of Temple Bar is a must with The Porter House being a great place to wet your whistle.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare. Excellent proximity to major attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gresham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.