We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, no complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gresham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gresham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Fingerlakes Region of NY
1 review
“Great stay, no complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed at the Gresham for a couple of days at the end of September, 2009. Several people I talked to from Dublin told me that it was a formerly great hotel whose glory had faded so I was prepared for a bit of a disappointment. No disappointments for me. The room was spacious, spotless and comfortable with an excellent bed (and I'm picky), a roomy, stylish bathroom and nice amenities including a decent lcd TV and free Internet access. The lobby is impressive and I found the staff to be helpful although not consistently warm. The breakfast (included with the very reasonable 100 Euro/night cost) was tasty and BIG. Oh and the location was brilliant, within very easy walking distance of major shopping areas, Grafton St. and night life at Temple Bar. I couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    908
    566
    294
    177
    82
See reviews for
259
871
130
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed at the Gresham in September 2009.

Thought the hotel was good, rooms were clean & large, breakfast very good also. Friendly staff although check-out desk was over-whelmed the day I was there - only 1 staff member for about 6 customers.

Central location was good for Dublin. I did not need to park a car, understand that parking was available for €14.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niamh73
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The positives were the staff were friendly at reception, the room was nice and big as it was a delux room and the location.

The negatives were, we didn't book a delux room but asked for an upgrade when checking in, the delux room was what you would expect as standard room for a 4 star hotel. Our friends didn't ask for an upgrade and their standard room was tiny, they were not a bit happy with that!! The bar was expensive and when we arrived back to the hotel at night, it was like the Spanish Inquisition for us to be able to get a drink from the residents bar. The irish breakfast was cold which was very disappointing.

I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I would highly recommend The Gresham Hotel in Dublin city for somewhere the stay. We were greeted warmly on our arrival, the atmosphere and buzz around the hotel was great, our room was very nice, the staff were very helpful and friendly and above all the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed at the Gresham for a girly weekend and have to say the location is excellent. We were central to everything and could pop back with our shopping every so often. We booked our room on booking.com, we got a great deal however I think this reflected on the room we got. The room was very small and the view was onto a yard. There was no shower gel, shower cap or soap in the bathroom. The room served it's purpose fine for what we needed but I have to say I would have been extremely disappointed if I had paid the astronamical prices this hotel normally charges. The breakfast was not included in and was quite expensive. Also be prepared to pay for your parking which is situated at the rear of the hotel in a different street - it cost us €14 for the night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Very nice hotel, centrally located, beautiful rooms. If anything -its a 5 minute walk from Temple bar, other than that I cant put my finger on anything. Well worth its money!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

I stayed in the Gresham after a disappointing check in another hotel in the city centre.
I have to say they did accommodate all our request as my brother is on wheelchair.

Room were nice and confy, I found the staff very helpfull.

I am new in tripadvisor but I do travel a lot for business and I will keep writing review on hotels around the world.

Thanks to the gresham and thanks to tripadvisor for this opportunity

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare. Excellent proximity to major attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gresham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.