We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gresham Hotel to your Saves list
Gresham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Huge breakfast with amazing choice. Centra, grt location & great value for money. Hard to fault. Advise booking directly with the hotel and people watching in the lobby . I Will be back without a doubt

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    772
    404
    198
    98
See reviews for
366
1,234
158
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is grand on the outside and does not disappoint inside. The staff were OK at check-in, not overly welcoming but not rude either; we had arrived earlier than the standard check-in time and were given a room, which was great.

Our double room was at the back of the hotel, it was a nice spacious room and we liked that there was a separate shower cubical rather than just a shower over a bath (there was also a bath). Plenty of soft white towels and toiletries (which is handy for those travelling on restricted luggage allowances). The bed sheets were lovely and you could indicate if you wanted them changed or OK to sleep on again.

Breakfast was a full choice of hot and cold options and would cater to all tastes. The only thing that let the hotel down was that the breakfast staff seem busy and not focused on the customers: we had to wait until our breakfast was almost over on one day before we could get anyone’s attention for tea or coffee, on another day the restaurant was almost empty, but the staff were more focused on setting up new tables rather than clearing tables of customers. A small thing for the hotel to work on for an otherwise lovely stay.

Very handy when arriving that the AirCoach stop is straight outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Gresham has been dispensing gracious hospitality for perhaps a hundred years now, and it retains the character of a 19th century hotel while providing 21st century amenities and comfort. The service is exquisitely courteous, helpful, and friendly without being over-familiar. The twin room was small but comfortable; the bath could do with an update but was adequate; and the location could not be better. The hotel is convenient to shopping, sightseeing (the hop-on/hop-off bus is just steps away), theatres, pubs, and restaurants. For a major city hotel, the cost is well within reason, especially in terms of value. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

just returned after 3 nights at the Gresham It was an excellent Hotel We had a room at the back not much of a view but as it was only used for sleeping in there was no problem The room was large and quiet, clean and comfortable with towels changed daily and sheets as often as you wanted. The breakfasts were one of the best we have had at any Hotel the choice was great you could have a full Irish choosing what and how much you wanted or continental again having a good choice or if you wanted some of both you could. All the staff were polite helpful and nothing was too much trouble The Hotel is situated on the main street and is only a minute from the bus stop for the hop on hop off tour buses(at the side of the Hotel) It is also only a two or three minute walk from the main shopping area If I return I will most certainly stay at the Gresham again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights recently on a bed and breakfast basis. Check in was quick and efficient. I had e-mailed asking for a quiet room and that's what we got. Room 448 was very comfortable with everything we needed for our short break. However, for a hotel which claims to be one of the top in Dublin it could do better.

The duvets on the single beds are very narrow so when you turn in bed you get cold. The bathroom is in need of an update, the shower needs to run for 5 mins + to warm up.

My worst gripe was at breakfast the first morning. We both went to get hot food and left our tea on the table, when we returned a waitress had put our tea on a tray of dirty dishes. When I said to her that we weren't finished she proceeded to lift our cups off the tray of dirty dishes and place them back on the table and left. My cutlery had also been lifted so I had to go looking for a knife.

I have to say I did expect better from a hotel of this standard.

We had no further problems and we did enjoy our stay and the Gresham and if in Dublin again I would have no hesitation in booking again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

my friend and i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and nothing went wrong. The rooms were nice and big and so were the bathrooms. Everyone that worked there was extremly friendly and helped us out on everything we needed, from calling us a taxi to telling us where we should go for dinner. Also you could just walk straight to temple bar within 5 minutes or less!! Would deff. stay here again on my next trip to dublin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in the Gresham for one night, was absolutely lovely. The staff were all so friendly, rooms were spotless and the cocktails were superb! Breakfast was delicious! Deffo will be going back ..Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare. Excellent proximity to major attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gresham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.