We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gresham Hotel to your Saves list
Gresham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
“A lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Gresham is a lovely hotel right in the heart of Dublin's main thoroughfare. Its old fashioned grandeur is mingled flawlessly with all the mod cons one could need. The staff are friendly, professional and efficient. The food is delicious and service very good. A great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    833
    426
    208
    99
See reviews for
398
1,313
163
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Gresham is an historic grand old hotel which has been visited by many notables in its long history. Despite its age, it has been well maintained in impressive condition. The location makes it a perfect place to stay while exploring the friendly city of Dublin. The helpful staff and in-house restaurants and lounges make it a comfortable and handy place to stay. We would stay at the Gresham again, no question.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights (Thursday, November 8 - Sunday, November 11, 2012) visiting friends in Dublin/Drogheda

-Still a gorgeous gem of a hotel - I always stay here when I'm in Dublin
-As previously stated, central to everything being in middle of O'Connell Street
-I love that it's an old hotel & I like the charm it has. I love just being in the space.

-room 569 was in the Lavery wing which I highly recommend as opposed to the standard rooms as I have heard those can be (but not all) a bit lackluster & in need of a refreshment. Also, the Lavery rooms are much bigger.
-room was large, lovely bathroom (with separate shower stall) & no-steam mirrors.
-although I kept the "Do not disturb" on my door for the days I stayed, a bag of fresh towels/toiletries were placed outside my door each morning just in case I wanted to use them (nice touch!)
-nice tea/coffee making facilities. Well stocked
-free WiFi which was quick, no problems
-lots of closet & storage space in dresser drawers

Room Tip: Lavery Wing rooms are much better & although about 40Euro more expensive, I think it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

lovely hotel right in the center of Dublin. I felt it was a bit expensive as breakfast was not included for the rate of the room. The room was clean and comfy but it was noisy in the morning think we were next to a store room where you could hear cleaners rolling things around. We were on the fifth floor and the window was draughty and noisey. For convenience in Dublin we would stay here again staff very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Gresham is a proper grown-up hotel, with a proper grown-up foyer and a proper grown-up bar that mixes proper grown-up drinks. The staff are welcoming, helpful and......grown-ups. Our room, a standard double, was not expensive, nicely laid out and very comfortable with (you guessed) a proper grown-up bath in a handsomely sized bathroom.

I have, however, three small reservations. It doesn't make enough of the literary connections, and that's a shame because I'd have enjoyed my stay even more if I'd realised I was sitting at a bar frequented by James Joyce. There was no tea and coffee in the room. The interiors are nicely laid out in deep red, tans and browns but the carpet in the foyer and bar is blue and should be in an airport.

I think we chose well. The 'boutique' hotels down by the river are eye-wateringly expensive, and while O'Connell Street isn't the Faubourg Saint-Germain it is a stylish start to a walking tour of what is probably the most welcoming city I've ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff of the Gresham are very obliging and generous. This means everything. It's an expensive hotel, but Ireland has its infrastructural limitations which come as a surprise from--well, from anywhere else. You may be surprised that you are dressed in every piece of warm clothing you brought because attending a conference in the Gresham could mean you are sitting for hours in an unheated room, in November! In two days I developed chapped lips but I never left the hotel environment.
The internet didn't work but the people on staff were terrific. Sangor especially, who insisted he and his team had a solution to everything at any hour of the day or night.
The best bit was an evening at Toddy's where Adam took me by the metaphoric hand and showed me a good time--at the bar, at the table. Had the best steak of my life. Perfection service.

Room Tip: Be ready for internet connectivity dodginess, the business centre is expensive and unheated. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went over for the rugby and this was out first stay in the Gresham, which is very well placed on O'Connell Street. The airport shuttle literally stops outside and the return stop is opposite.
Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the concierge Charlie.
We had a lovely suite, which was very large, with a separate sofa and dining table with a second TV. The room was onlyl et down by some shabby decorating and finishes in the bathroom.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#33 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#47 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,480 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#20 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,832 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Star Hotel
North Star Hotel
#53 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#28 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Family Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare. Excellent proximity to major attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gresham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.