We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gresham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gresham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel has a great location, looks elegant and the staff are very pleasant. However I had a double room on the 5th (top floor). Because of its Georgian facade, by the time you reach the 5th floor the windows are small and are set high in the wall meaning no view. The double rooms are snug. The heating control kept cutting out which meant the room was frequently chilled. The Saturday night was busy in the hotel so on Sunday morning even quite early the hot water for the shower did not reach the 5th floor and I had to use the room kettle for hot water to enable me to shave . I had friends staying on the 1st and 2nd floors who did not have the same problem. There was no bottled water supplied in the room and the mini bar was empty which is usually a sign that the hotel does not trust its guests. The coffee mugs in the room were not washed properly and rubbish was left for hours in the room passageways.
I think the hotel will slowly descend to a 3 star and then be turned into a department store. If it was my hotel I would give the GM a kick up the bottom and tell him to sort these issues out. It can get back to its former glory but it needs to change now.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    590
    310
    181
    84
See reviews for
276
944
137
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We ended our trip in Ireland with a splurge, staying at the Gresham hotel. Their prices are a bit high but the rooms were great and the location was ideal. Being right on O'Connell street, we were centrally located for everything we wanted to do on our last day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My daughter and I came to Ireland to celebrate her 17th birthday last month. We stayed 3 nights at the Gresham Hotel which is centrally located in Dublin. The experience was a delight. We were allowed to check in early upon our arrival and had a spacious room with a double and single bed. Flat screen TV and free wi-fi to boot. We were steps away from the shopping of O'Connell Street and a short walk to the bus station. The hotel has the charm of old world Dublin rather than the sleek modern look that seems cold. The desk staff were wonderfully pleasant and helpful. We put the DO NOT DISTURB sign out while we were on a day trip and returned to find a large wicker hamper full of clean towels, new soaps/shampoos etc.just outside the door. I could not say enough nice things about the Gresham...give it a try on your next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me & my husband try to get to Dublin a few times a year. We have stayed in a few other hotels for convience to maybe the O2 arena once but we always seem to come back to The Gresham. As this was yet again another wonderful stay, I felt I should actually sit down & let others know just how good the hotel & staff actually are. As soon as we arrived we were told our room would be up-graded for simply booking through the hotels website. The rooms are always lovely but this room was amazing. Breakfast every morning is the best I've had in any hotel I've stayed the selection is fantastic & the staff are always so friendly & helpful. I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in a few hotels in Dublin but the Gresham Hotel is the one we will definitely go back to. Driving in Dublin is not easy if unfamiliar with Dublin; but the directions provided by the hotel were detailed and easy to follow. On arrival at the hotel in O'Connell Street and at reception we were dealt with quickly and efficiently; the receptionist was helpful and informative. Our room was bright, it was spacious, with two lounge chairs and table to compliment the large comfortable bed. The en-suite bathroom was also spacious with a bath and separate shower enclosure and had a selection of toiletries. Information about hotel and other local amenities was provided in the room. The only fault with our room was a wardrobe door which needed some fiddling to close; a minor issue for the hotel maintenance staff to fix. The hotel is centrally located with easy access to all the local tourist attractions and shopping areas. We had an excellent evening meal in the hotel served by very friendly bar-restaurant staff. We fully recommend this hotel and as stated previously will definitely go back.
Glenn, Lisburn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've been in Dublin many times but never stayed in the renowned Gresham. We were initial wary that it may be dated due to age. However, we were wrong. It is very modern yet retaining the feel of a grand hotel. The hotel is on O'Connell Street and within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions, shopping on Henry Street, Grafton Street, Temple Bar and the train station. Parking is available to the rear for €15 per day which is quite good for Dublin. Our room was spacious with a good ensuite and a comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and the bar/restaurants well staffed to ensure speedy service. Great value at €100 per night for a central hotel and we'd fully recommend. We will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishaw
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with 3 other friends for the weekend. On settling in to our room we found that the safe wasn't working so we had to phone to get someone up to get it fixed. When we looked out the window we looked straight on to the back of some flats, this was not what we expected. Then we tried to access the internet via the TV remote and this did not work. When we reported it we were told that there wasn't anyone available to fix this. Again this is not what you would expect from a hotel of this quality. When we tried to access the View my bill option on the TV remote again we were told this wasn't available we would need to contact reception to view my bill. On the first morning at breakfast they were going to charge us for this when our deal was inclusive of breakfast. Just another fault on their part. On the Sunday morning we approached the concierge to ask him how we could get to Leopardstown racecourse we found him to be very unpleasant and abrupt and not approachable at all, not in the right job I suggest, or perhaps we did not flash the cash so to speak. We eventually got our information from another guest who was most helpful unlike the concierge. On checkout our bill showed we were charged for our breakfast after all, when we pointed this out to the receptionist she apologised and said it was a admin error. All these faults came in 3 days was very disappointing. There are far too many hotels in Dublin for me to return here again I am afraid. Extremely poor customer service from a four star hotel. Next time it will be the Westbury which oozes class and leaves the Gresham standing.

Room Tip: Our room 278 had a very poor view in fact no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Family Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare. Excellent proximity to major attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gresham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.