We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. A Dublin icon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gresham Hotel to your Saves list
Gresham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
St Andrews
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic. A Dublin icon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel and got slightly irritated at the slow check in. It turned out my booking was not on the system. The receptionist apologised and upgraded me to a suite. What a delight! The room was amazing. And a little box of luxury chocolates awaited me. I ate in Toddy's and the food was wonderful, staff attentive and helpful despite being very busy. I visit Dublin regularly but this was my first stay here. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    650
    340
    186
    90
See reviews for
304
1,042
143
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Couldn't fault this hotel. It was in a great position close to shopping areas, temple bar etc & the airport busses & open top tour busses stop right outside.
The rooms were big and light, very clean, housekeeping did a great job each day.
Breakfast was good, great selection of cooked breakfast, fruit, yoghurts, scones, pastries, cereals etc. our only fault was that the dining area is not big enough for the size of the hotel so had to wait each morning for a table.
Otherwise, a great hotel obviously depending on how much you pay. We got it at a reasonable price so happy!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for two nights whilst attending a meeting, in the hotel. Efficient if a bit 'matter of fact' check in. Room spacious but tired, and difficult to keep at comfortable temperature. Hot water slow to flow and tepid at times. Restaurant was overwhelmed at breakfast, and had 15 minute wait for a table, then food slow to be replenished, as was crockery. Full restaurant and only one staff member serving hot food at times is simply inexcusable. Overall I think it is quite easy to find a better hotel in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

rooms very old fashioned in need of re furbisment to modernise same otherwise ok noisey on front rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Once again the stupid system of "wait till you be seated" proved its utter worthlesness.
First queue up for 15 minutes before entering the breakfast room with many open tables. However, the girl cannot manage all that seating, so the clients indeed are waiting.
Second, go to the rather limited breakfast counter and line up for the "full works". Whence it's your turn, the kitchen has not managed to satisfy the appetite of its guests, so the containers with runners eggs etc are mostly empty.
Then wait for a waitress to get your tea or coffee. However the waitresses are cleaning the tables and meticulously redoing the tables with new linen, plates, cutlery, glasses etc. Does nobody understand that plates and cutlery could be collected at the breakfast table by the guests themselves nowadays? Just take a small course in F&B management and a new world will open to this stuffy hotel.
Of course, check-out is not a simple procedure in this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castletownshend co cork
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had an Exhibition to honour the passing of one of my Artists Matt Lamb in The Gresham Last weekend and as usual with The Gresham everything went smoothly and we were looked after in the best way PERFECTLY. I had as our Special guest HRH Princess Sharifa Nour al Nasser of Jordan as our Special Guest and she stayed in the Elizabeth Taylor Suite and was she wowed.Matt's Daughter had The Lamb Suite named after her Dad and it was very emotional for her as Matt only passed away in February we had over two hundred attendents over two nights and apart from the show being successful my clients were treated very well. On Wednesday and Thursday we ate in Toddy's and enjoed the excellent Cuisine and on Friday night we held a dinner for 70 in The Gallery Restaurant and it was excellent and have to thank The Managers Hazem, Jamie and Sean for looking after us so well and looking after our Royal Visitor. Breakfast as usual at The Gresham is great and ate well every Morining. Want to pay special Tahnks to Reception, Concierge and Banqueting staff for being so helpful and to Michele Costello who looked after all our booking details and finally but by no means least would thank General Manager Paul McCracken and his Deputy Michael O'Sullivan for this brilliant Dublin City Centre Hotel

Fergus O Mahony

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

hotel is situated in centre of o connell street with taxis , bus stops , public transport etc all nearby. all the main shops are within walking distance. hotel itself is very comfortable and relaxing. breakfast and lounge food excellent while staff were extremely polite and helpful. Bar area is lovely to sit in and rest before heading back out to do some sight seeing or shopping.

Room Tip: while our room was ok it was a bit small and it may be worth while getting an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare. Excellent proximity to major attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gresham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.