We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Gorgeous old hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gresham Hotel to your Saves list
Gresham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location! Gorgeous old hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at The Gresham Nov 18-20th while in Dublin to visit friends. Stayed in Lavery Wing, Room 479.
Check-in was easy as was check-out & they have left luggage which is handy if you're not flying out til later in the evening.
Also, the Air Coach (blue bus) stops direct in front, is about 10Euro & leaves Dublin Airport every 15mins - super handy!
Room was a bit more expensive than others but was worth it to me. As the hotel is older, the rooms generally tend to run small so this room was more of the "standard size" as in North American hotels.
No major problems but some CONS:
- there was no Welcome Pack in the room (usually a binder with all hotel info, numbers, menus, etc) which was a bit annoying as I like to have a flick through & handy for local info. Also, I think an old Dublin gem of a hotel like The Gresham could do with more info on their impressive history, famous past guests, etc...guests like that sorta thing - staying in a place with so much history!
- had to phone twice to get bottle opener, no biggie but I assumed there would be one in the room (there is an off-licence across road which is handy rather than purchase expensive alcohol from mini-bar or hotel bar (if you just want a quiet drink in your room while getting ready - as I like to do! :)
- the WiFi in the room was a bit hit-or-miss though worked perfect when I took the laptop downstairs in Reception. More than once it didn't work in the room which was a bit annoying.
- the bar food was a bit drab. I had a roast beef sandwich with chips (literally 6 chips) that was very standard, not really worth it. I'd go somewhere else for pub grub.
- my view out the room was not pretty (bldgs, alley) as such (but could see The Spire so orientation was good) but tell the truth, it was not important to me, so not really a con (for me)
PROS:
- The location!
- The acutal construction/history of the building. Gorgeous! You know you are somewhere special just sitting in the lobby & taking a look around you.
- Staff were great, helpful, friendly

I didn't eat in the restaurant or have breakfast as I thought it was a tad expensive.

Overall, I loved my stay & would stay again!

Room Tip: Lavery Rooms more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    772
    404
    198
    98
See reviews for
366
1,234
158
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clonmany, Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were able to check in early which was fantastic as we had already travelled 4.30 hours by bus. Time of floods inDublen. Staff brilliant at front desk. Had evening meal there which was fantastic. Waiting and bar staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Fantastic location in centre of Dublin within walking distance of all amenities. Taxi rank just the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrecsam, Wales
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here in early November travelling by rail and ferry, check in was quick and efficient and bedrooms large and comfortable with a king sized bed which is probably the most comfortable I've slept in a long time. Breakfast was not included in the £276 price for 3 nights for two people. The cost of breakfast would have been pretty exorbitant at 19 Euros each. The bars in the hotel are excellent with competitively priced drinks (Food and drink in Dublin is not as expensive as it was some years ago).
The hotel is centrally located on Upper O'Connell Street with a taxi rank and the hop on hop off bus more or less outside the hotel. Henry Street shopping is 100 yds away as is the GPO. Grafton Street shopping and Temple Bar is a 15 minute walk from the hotel.
Overall this is the place to stay in Dublin and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Took what was on offer and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

i took my husband there for a birthday suprise and we had an amazing time
we arrived too early to check in but filled out all our details and was able to leave our bags there we asked the concierge if they knew somewhere we could have something to eat nearby and we went to brannigans and had the best irish stew ever !!!!
our room was on the 4th floor away from the lifts so we didnt have any noise issues at all although we didnt have a great view as it was at the back of the hotel we werent too bothered as we were out all day
our room was fantastic we had a large comfy bed although the room did get a bit hot and the bathroom was spotless
breakfast was fantastic we were greeted by julie each morning (she looks like an irish version of jenny eclair haha) we could not have asked for better service
from the airport there is an airlink 747 bus which cost 10 euros return and stops directly opposite the gresham running every 10 mins or so
getting around all the sights could not be easier we got a bus ticket which lasted 2 days for 15 euros each and stops at 23 different sights like the guinness storehouse , dublin castle , natural history museum and some of the commentrys from the drivers are so funny we actually stayed on the bus longer just to listen to them
i would recommend this hotel and i look forward to visiting again one day
we stayed 18th - 20th november

Room Tip: we stayed in room 444 on the 4th floor it was lovely and quiet but no view as its at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand-Quevilly 76120
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We love Ireland we discovered with Irish friends a long time ago. We stay in Dublin twice a year and now we enjoy staying at the Gresham for the services of the hotel and for its good situation in the city, near the theatre, the museum and the shopping centre.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet and it's very pleasant to eat or drink overlooking O'Connel Street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Great front desk staff
Tidy room
However, waited 15 minutes to be served in the bar while staff chatted ( all 4 of them ) to be then told the main bar stops food at 8.30!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Went to stay at the Gresham on 16th Nov with my daughter - our main reason for going to Dublin was for the shopping. Met my Rosemary & checked in straight away. As our room wouldnt be ready until later the concierge but our bags in for safe keeping. It is a gorgeous hotel & all the staff made us feel at home. The room we got was a triple room on the 4th floor. Huge room & bathroom with a double + a single bed in it with plenty of space. Very clean & best of all very quiet. The staff went out of their way for us in calling cabs, bringing our food & advising us where to eat, Breakfast was great aswell. The hotel is like an oasis in the heart of busy Dublin. Could not recommend this hotel highly enough THANKS TO ALL THE WONDERFUL staff at the Gresham - we will be back!.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a high floor + it must be in a quiet area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare. Excellent proximity to major attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gresham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.