We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Hotel Packages
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

First of all, the hotel is located at Dublin`s best area. Very close to stylish shops and bars. Everthing is at walking distance makes this hotel ideal place to stay for a weekend. The most amazing part is the power shower in the bathroom which is the best that I have never seen before. The staff is very professional and friendly. The only weak point is the bar which looks old and out of date. This does not go together with the rest of the hotel which is very trendy and full of good taste...

  • Liked — SHOWER!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — BAR
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    393
    135
    50
    31
See reviews for
217
765
72
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

This hotel is in a perfect location with the buzzing atmosphere of Graffton Street practically 2 mins walk, Temple Bar bars/pubs/clubs a 10 min walk and the famous O'Connell street a 15 min walk. The hotel staff are efficient and friendly, someone on hand to open the door as soon as you arrive, whish your bag off and take you to the lift. When you walk in to your hotel room you are invited by a wave of classical music already playing on your stereo. The bathrooms are lovely, the shower is amazing, I thought my head was going to explode - its definately a "power shower". The bath is HUGE....width and length and fills up in a nano second! (Definately enough room for 2 of you and no fighting for the tap end as the taps are in the middle!! - if only all baths came like that!) The only problem in the room for me, which might not apply to all....is that I love a duvet on my bed and here they have a sheet and blanket....nothing to complain about though because after doing the Temple Bar obligitory pub crawl I would of slept outside on the cobble road and not woken up once! Do not expect cheap prices for drinks in this area, maybe its because we didnt visit any pubs outside of the so called "tourist area", expect to pay about €4.70 for a pint of Guiness.

Now on to my only real rant about the hotel. I thought i had booked a B&B rate for the hotel so i guess its my fault for not checking but I ended up having to pay €96.00 for 2 days breakfast for 2 people. Now to me they would have to get bacon from the queens pigs, buy tomatoes made of gold and serve it to me whilst giving me a back massage and a pedicure whilst fanning me and serving me grapes!!!!! Directly 2 mins walk to the left and I could of had a decent breakfast for €7.50.
I didnt mind paying the charge because obvisouly i hadnt booked the correct rate however i dont know how they can charge such a ridiculous price for a cooked breakfast!!!

So.....if you are going to dublin and staying in the Fitzgerald hotel im sure you will have a fabulous time. However, dont forget to ask them if breakfast is included in your room rate BEFORE you go ahead and gorge yourself on some Irish sauted potaoes!!!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We have just arrived back after spending 3 nights at the Fitz for our Honeymoon, and on the whole we really enjoyed staying there. The service throughout our stay was really excellent.

We arrived to a friendly concierge who promptly took our bags and directed us to Reception. The lady on Reception was nice and welcoming, and she upgraded our room, which was a nice touch.
Unfortunately, although the room design was nice, it wasn't particularly well decorated, which was surprising for a 5 star hotel.

We booked a meal in their Citron Restaurant, and the food was very nice.

The Hotel is in an excellent location, on the corner of St Stephens Green and Grafton Street, right next to Dublins Shops, Bars and Restaurants.

If you want a special stay and have some money to spend, stay here!

  • Liked — Excellent Service
  • Disliked — Quality of Room decoration
  • Tips/Secrets — The Deluxe Rooms don't look any different to the other rooms, so save you money!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFran, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2006

I stayed for two weeks for business. I enjoyed the Fitzwilliam and would definitely stay there again. The bathroom was out of this world!

Pros: exceptional location; wonderful service -- the airline lost my luggage and they actually called to follow up for me; classy, non-tacky carpeting; the best hotel bathroom I've ever stayed in (beats the top 5 star hotels in San Francisco), both in terms of the shower and tub; thoughtful touches -- chocolates, umbrella, apples, etc. The gym was new and totally fine, and the hotel looks much prettier in person than in pictures.

Cons were mostly little things: room carpeting was a little worn; room service food was horrible and slow, and there could have been more to choose from; no wifi in the rooms and the internet cord could have been longer; the bed and towels were nice by European standards, but not American; sporadic replenishment of bathroom goodies -- one day qtips, the next day no qtips; the walls were somewhat thin -- could hear the baby in the room next to me babbling.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

We stayed at this hotel a year ago and thought the staff were very surly and unhelpful especially the concierge's.

After deciding to book a last-minute pre Christmas break we stayed here again due to its excellent location. This time we booked a room at the rear of the hotel as we found the Green view rooms to be too noisy last time. The room was as expected, although a little too warm and stuffy for us. The aircon was a little weak and ineffective and the heating was on full blast despite it not being particularly cold outside.

The biggest difference however was the staff. They couldnt do enough this time and bent over backwards to help. The concierge was a revelation. One called Robert was outstanding and really tried to get us a dinner reservation when everywhere was packed. He did too, so thanks Robert. Last year the concierge wouldnt even get us a taxi on departure and directed us to hump our bags 100 yards to a taxi rank. This time, not only did they book one for us, but they found us in the bar when it came and our bags were already loaded. Perfect.

So I would recommend this hotel now they have sorted the staff out. The location is excellent and the rooms are very functional although slightly bland. Awesome shower. Breakfast still too busy, so we ate out in a cafe. Cooked to order and a quarter of the price. The Inn on the Green is also great, although a little cramped when busy.

  • Liked — Awesome Shower and great location
  • Disliked — Hot and stuffy room. Poor aircon.
  • Tips/Secrets — Robert the concierge is really good. Try the Unicorn Restaurant at the far corner of the Green for a great meal.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2006

I chose the Fitzwilliam for the location and the great reviews on this website. I was not disappointed, The room was beautiful: well-decorated and clean. The shower was probably one of the best I have ever had - great pressure. There was twice daily maid service with turndown and chocolates.

The breakfast buffet was 25 euros which was pretty steep. There is a bar in the hotel which has late service.

My bill did have a few mini-bar extras which were taken off the bill promptly after explaining that we did not use the minibar, so no big deal.

The staff were incredibly professional and courteous.

  • Liked — Beautiful room
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

Stayed at the Fitzwilliam with my wife for 3 nights. The room was very comfortable, superbly clean and attended to twice-daily by maid service. The decor was plush although one or two bathroom tiles were loose and the 'fresh flowers' comprised a couple of green stalks that did not (and will never) support anything more than a few small buds!
The Citron Cafe at the Fitz provided excellent cuisine and value for money.

If 20 odd euros is too much for breakfast, the nearby St Stephen's Shopping Mall has an outlet which provides all you will need to eat for around 7 euros, and this is available until noon.

The location is first class being within walking distance of most of the city centre's main attractions and shopping areas.

Overall this is a fine hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Air conditioning unit on roof above room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.