We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Save Saved
You added Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Hotel Packages
Ranked #19 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful, modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A marvelous hotel, beautifully located in the heart of Dublin shopping and tavern scene. The rooms were spacious and nicely maintained. The concierge staff was most helpful and their recommendations were spot on. Ask for a room that does not face the street. It can get quite noisy in the park across the street (until the very late hours).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear welchboy,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you enjoyed central location of the hotel and the spacious bedrooms.

I am delighted that you found the concierge team most helpful and I have passed you kind comments on to them.

welchboy, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    900
    368
    125
    47
    30
See reviews for
195
676
69
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we had stayed at the belfast fitzwilliam, so stayed here as a result. location is great. it's actually remarkably quiet in the hotel, which is nice considering the activity outside. staff were very nice and accommodating. concierge was very helpful. would definitely stay here again on my next trip to dublin!

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor, but you have to walk up one flight to get there....if you have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Jonvespa,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you enjoyed central location of the hotel and the quiet bedrooms.

I am delighted that you found the team nice, helpful and accommodating and I have passed your kind comments on to the team.

Jonvespa, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived into the hotel late on Sunday night, in preparation for a business meeting on Monday morning. The room was very nice and the powerful shower and big bath were very welcome.

I pulled out the trouser press, and out fell the previous resident's pornographic magazine. That was, er, unexpected. Perhaps forgiveable - I doubt the cleaner's checklist includes "check appliances for porn".

Tired and hungry, we ordered room service. We called reception, who greeted us by identifying our room number, and put us through to the kitchen. We gave our order carefully and were told it would be with us in 20 minutes or so.

An hour passed - we called back and were told they hadn't taken our room number, and so our food had just been sitting there! As a gesture they said there would be no charge for the food - they brought it up immediately, but nobody gave thought that soup sitting for an hour will be stone cold. We phoned back and got another delivery of soup.

The rest of the food wasn't quite what we ordered, either - we had to pick out the ingredients which we had specifically requested not be included. Salmon served on Jamaica ginger cake rather than bread was unexpected, too.

If we had popped out for some food instead of room service, I would be giving my stay a much higher review - the room service experience really left a dampener.

Earlier in the day we had got a cup of tea in McDonald's, with a request to only half-fill the cup - the server made the tea and was at pains to check that the water level matched what we wanted. A far better service experience for a much lower price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear RennyEB,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the room and the bathroom facilities.

I am sorry that a magazine from a previous occupant was retrieved from the trouser press - we have revised our checking policy as this is "a first" for us.

The room service experience you have detailed is not acceptable and certainly not the standard that the team are trained to deliver. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for lack of prompt service that you rightly expected. The smoked salmon is served on a Guinness bread (which does not contain ginger) and this is stated on the room service menu. I am sorry if that was not what you expected.


RennyEB, thank you for your constructive feedback as it allows us to continually review our service offering. Should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fitzwilliam for one night in July. It is in a perfect location. The hotel is very modern. Our very quiet room was on the top floor facing the inner courtyard. The room was wonderful, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and great towels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Denise D,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the comfort of the room and bathroom.

Eventhough we are located in the heart of the city our rooms are quiet and when occupying a room overlooking the courtyard garden it is hard to believe you are in the heart of the city.

Denise , should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Fitzwilliam for two nights at the beginning of our week long trip in Ireland. We loved this hotel! Great service at the front desk and at the restaurant. The Concierge team were the best we encountered through out the four hotels we stayed in during the week. We got spot on recommendations from the Concierge folks on restaurants, pubs and places to visit. This hotel is really centrally located and easy walking distance to pubs, sight seeing spots, tours to catch and shopping areas and to the Temple Bar area. Would go back there in a heart beat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear 176mtb,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service you received from the front desk, concierge and the restaurant. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the recommendations you received from the Concierge team and I have passed your kind comments on to them.

176mtb, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good Hotel would stay again - Mostly there is always something with a hotel I dont like or feel needs improvement however on this occassion I could find no real fault. Staff were pleasant and professional. Valet parking good, room good with a window seat overlooking the courtyard. good breakfast with tables all cleaned and tidied promptly. The only downside for us was late on the friday evening loud music in the distance although this was probably outside the control of the hotel. We hope to return to the hotel with the family next time. the hotel did provide a lovely touch for our anniversary of chocolates and a message from the manager in our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 318GailJ,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay so much and that you found the team pleasant and professional.

I am sorry that you got disturbed late on Friday. Please contact me when you are planning your next visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to discuss room type and rates with you

318GailJ, we look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam in the near future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel and staff. The Concierge team couldn't do enough for you as a customer and recommended a top restaurant.
Definitely a top choice for the heart of dublin.
Special thanks to Egle for her warm welcome and friendly smile.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Michael M,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay so much. I have passed on your positive feedback to the team and in particular the concierge team; feedback such as yours makes everyone's day!

Michael M, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.