We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish place in the heart of Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Save Saved
You added Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Hotel Packages
Ranked #18 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stylish place in the heart of Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Fitzwilliam offers well-designed rooms in warm colors, with a lot of attention given to details (bathrobes, nightly turndown service with chocolates, etc.). Bathrooms are top notch, likewise the electronic appliances - LED TV, Internet radio and free WIreless access.
The hotel also contains two of Dublin's top restaurants, although they are quite expensive. Breakfast is affordable and offers plenty of choices.
The location right at St. Stephens Green is ideal for shopping on Grafton Street, and dozens of excellent dining and entertainment options in walking distance. Despite the location the hotel is very quiet, as most rooms face the courtyard.
One warning: The room sizes can vary quite considerably, so better to invest extra for the Executive rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Max_Nymet,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the design, decor and facilities that our guest bedrooms offer. The majority of our rooms overlook our very quiet and calm rooftop garden.

Citron and Thornton's are great restaurants and I am glad you enjoyed your meals in them. I am equally pleased to read you enjoyed the extensive range of items available at breakfast.

The hotel's central location on St. Stephen's Green, means that there are ample shopping, dining and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed the location.

Max_Nymet, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin in the near future.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    911
    371
    128
    47
    30
See reviews for
197
687
69
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

very clean, accommodating and friendly. beautiful clean room, very comfortable beds. we arrived early from california, and the manager, mr kelly gave us a complimentary breakfast. unbelievable. the front staff, especially miro and egla were just wonderful to work with. i have travelled all over europe america and asia, and found this particular hotel to be one of the most accommodating hotel i've ever stayed at. i would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family. also, its in a great location.

Room Tip: stayed on 3rd floor, it was nice and quiet. loved the black out drapes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Bradbutter,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the bedroom and the very comfortable beds. I was equally pleased to read you found the team friendly and accommodating - I have passed on your kind comments to all the team members, in particular to those that you specifically named!

Arriving early into Dublin from the US can be a little tiring and offering some Irish breakfast to start the day is the least we can do for our guests.

Bradbutter, I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam Dublin in the future.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Fitzwilliam hotel 3 weeks ago for the Justin Bieber concert. The location couldn't have been better. All the shops and restaurants gave us loads to do during the day. The rooms were luxurious with attention paid to detail. From chocolates on arrival to music and dimmable lights in the bathroom. The service was excellent. The front desk staff couldn't have been more friendlier or helpfull. My daughter's only complaint was that she never touched a door handle during our stay. ( staff kept open the doors for us)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Andre N,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the property and the choice of shops and restuarants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed the luxurious bedrooms and the facilities contained within the rooms. I am delighted that you found the service excellent and front desk team friendly and helpful!

Let you daughter know that we always open doors for our guests; however when you next stay with us we will give her special permission to open one of the doors herself!

Andre N, should another concert bring you to Dublin we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam Hotel.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful old hotel in a fantastic area for a tourist (directly across st Stephens green). The service, especially the porters was fantastic. The bed fairly comfortable. The breakfast was okay. The room is very clean a decorated well. There is a Dublin green bus stop, for tourist, just across the corner; which is quite convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear JustinR,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the very central location of the hotel on St. Stephen's Green. I was equally pleased to read your enjoyed the room and the service you received from the porters.

JustinR, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam in the future.

With kind regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The Fitzwilliam is perfectly located on St Stephen's Green, and right at the head of the shopping district. From there, it's only a few steps to Trinity College, and close to a number of fine restaurants. The room was a bit small, but beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, and very, very comfortable. The service at this hotel was very fine, in fact, both friendly and professional. The Fitzwilliam clearly caters to a business crowd, but was also a terrific spot for we vacationers.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Ajnbux,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay in November. The hotel is very centrally located on St. Stephen's Green and allows very easy exploration of the city. I was delighted to read you found the room very comfortable and spotlessly clean - we have a very dedicated Accommodation team.

Ajnbux I was particularly pleased to read you found the team friendly and professional as we strive to make the hotel a very welcoming "home from home". I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Ireland and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Was in Dublin on business and my normal hotel (The Shelbourne) was booked solid for the days that I was there. So, decided to try the Fitzwilliam as it's walking distance to where I needed to be.

Arrived VERY early on a Sunday morning, being a realist and having not paid for a Saturday night room, I had no expectations of a room.

Upon check-in, a room as instantly availale which allowed me to go shower, sleep for a few hours and start my day. PERFECT!

The rooms are small, but very well appointed. High speed internet worked well, safe in room, iron, everything you'd expect. Bed was fresh and comfortable and I slept well, very well.

There are three restaurants on property and a bar. The bar was my first meal this trip and the service spot-on and food lovely.

I visited the bar several more times this trip, both on my own and with business associates. Each time the service was top-notch and the collection of bar foods perfect.

One bartender even took me through the various Irish Whiskys, ranging from very inexpensive up to 30-year old aged. I truly appreciated his knowledge and pointing me in the right direction.

The location was perfect as I was able to walk almost everywhere.

All in all, I would not hesitate to stay at the Fitzwilliam again regardless of it being a business trip or personal vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear CaptainMHB,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. The hotel is very centrally located on St. Stephen's Green and this location makes it very easy to explore the city on foot.

While check-in is 3pm, if we can accommodate our arriving guests earlier we most certainly will! I am delighted to read you found the room well appointed and the bed comfortable.

The bar offers a wide range of food and drink and it was great to read you enyoyed both the food and service you received. Our bartending team are very passionate about the drinks they serve and the cocktails they make and it sounds like you had a detailled conversation about Irish Whiskeys!

CaptainMHB, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam in the very near future.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I frequently travel to Dublin for business and usually stay at Fitzwilliam due to its wonderfully central location. The staff are very helpful, especially the concierge and porters. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are decorated tastefully vibrant and elegant. In the past, I've encountered issues with street noise but this time i was given room 623 which is on the top floor. The elevator doesn't even go to this floor. The wall between the neighbor's room was paper thin and they had young children. At one point I checked to see if the door was ajar because it sounded as if the family was in my room. I could hear every word they spoke including the two children whispering with one another. This was unfortunate for someone like me who was there for business and needed my rest. Not only did they wake up screaming two hours before I was set to get up, one child stayed up all night coughing and another one apparently had nightmares. I got almost no sleep and it was quite frustrating. If location and quiet is what you seek and you are willing to pay a bit more, I might recommend the Shelbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Public Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear debbarker,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your most recent stay. The hotel is certainly centrally located for business and leisure. I was delighted to read you found the team and in particular the Concierge team, very helpful.

I am very sorry that your sleep was disturbed by your noisy neighbours. 623 is one of our few inter-connecting rooms and as a result does not affort the same level of sound proofing as the rest of our rooms.

debbarker, as you are probably aware the majority of our bedrooms overlook a very quiet and calm rooftop garden. I would like to update your details on our hotel system to ensure you are allocated a quiet room on any future stays. Please contact the hotel directly and we would be delighted to update your details.

I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Classic, Charmi...
Show More
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 177 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
Classic, Quiet...
Show More
The Westbury Hotel
The Westbury Hotel
#2 of 177 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 177 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Fr...
Show More
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Charming, City...
Show More
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 177 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
North City Centre
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.