We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Hotel Packages
Ranked #16 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Location and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with my Husband and nephews and found the location to be perfect and the views of St Stephen’s green very nice. The doorman and concierge were very helpful in getting dining reservations. The bathroom was lovely and we liked the firm beds with very nice linens. Enjoyed a daily stop at the bar for our afternoon cocktail

Room Tip: Higher floor for a view of St Stephen's green
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear MJF0907,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us on tripadvisor.

The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to us and take heart from the positive sentiments you have expressed regarding the hotel bedrooms & our wonderful location.
It was great to read that you found our Concierge & Doorman so helpful.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    393
    135
    50
    31
See reviews for
217
765
72
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here on St Stephens day as well as New Years Eve, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Yes some of the room facilities are a little dated now, but the location is fantastic and the hotel staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

We used both the bar and the cafe/resteraunt facilities and the range on offer is great, for anyone staying the Irish breakfast is a must. Our only recommendation for improvement is the upgrading of some of the in room facilities such as the bathrooms and windows, which are a little drafts when we where there, otherwise we can not fault this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear George B,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed our fantastic location & that you found the team so friendly & helpful.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just spent 2 week at the Fitzwilliam Hotel - Dublin. The hotel is central to everything (Grafton & St. Stephens Green) but is showing its age. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. The hotel bar and restaurant are above average. My biggest complaint would be that the rooms. Beds are extremely firm. Air/heat in rooms is loud and funtions inconsistently. Plumbing (hot water) is old so sporadic temperature spikes in shower makes for occasional surprise. Overall, not the best of hotels I have stayed but the staff tries to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Dan D,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.
It was great to read that you really enjoyed our wonderful location & that you found the staff so helpful.

Whilst from your review I understand that you did find some shortcomings regarding the air conditioning & the shower water temperature.
Can I first of all offer my sincere apologies for these two issues.

Let me assure you that thsese issues will be acted upon immediately.

I would also be delighted to act as your point of contact to ensure any return visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel would be seen as our opportunity to provide the perfect stay.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have always enjoyed staying here on business. I find the rooms comfortable, I love the bathrooms and supplies - I am less a fan of the food, I think it is missing something but then again I am often disappointed by hotel food (in Ireland particularly). But the staff have been pleasent and over all it is somewhere I am happy to travel back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear JMML18,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide on your most recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed our great location & our very comfortable bedrooms.

It was also good to read that you found the staff so pleasant.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Good - clean, polite, friendly staff. Excellent location. Not badly priced. Comfy bed. Unlimited supply of free mineral water that could be pilfered from the gymnasium fridge.

Bad - lacked character, rooms could do with some TLC - strange lumps under one of the carpets. Particularly strange was the lack of plug for the bath - I assumed that it had gone missing and enquired with the maid, who told me that indeed no plugs were provided. Undeterred, GG and I intrepidly hunted one down in a nearby hardware shop, and once plugged the bath was very nice. Weird though, and a waste of an hour or so. Gym was very small and poorly equipped (aside from mineral water mentioned above)

An amusing aside was when we enquired about how much a taxi to the zoo, the concierge guessed at 30 euros each way. I can only assume he thought we were talking about a different zoo as the trip was 20 euros in total.

We did not have any food so cannot comment, although the room service menu seemed reasonably priced. Overall, not bad, but felt more like a very good 3* hotel, rather than the 5* we were expecting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear JGoldsbrough,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.

It was great to read that you really enjoyed our spotless rooms & wonderful location. It was also heartening to read that you found the staff to be so friendly & polite.

Whilst from your review I understand that you did find some shortcomings regarding bathplugs & the local knowledge of our Concierge.
Can I first of all offer my sincere apologies for these two issues.

Let me assure you that these issues will be acted upon immediately.

I would also be delighted to act as your point of contact to ensure any return visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel would be seen as our opportunity to provide the perfect stay.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a slightly odd experience. It took some time to get attention when I arrived at Reception, but the staff were full of apologies when I was finally attended to. The service level from Reception was good thereafter. I was remembered the following morning ("Did you get the .... you required?" etc.). I had a sixth floor room, but the lifts only go to floor 5. The resultant trek is quite demanding. The rooms at the back (" superior") have not much of a view, but are beautifully quiet. They are large, spotless, exceptionally well-appointed and attractively designed. As a place to sleep, this is an excellent choice. Breakfast is a disappointment, more 2 star than 5 star. It's served in a cramped low ceiling mezzanine that feels and looks as if it's been put in as an afterthought. The tables and chairs are close together and of a sort of 1950's kitchen formica quality. Service is amiable but not slick. I had to ask twice for my fried eggs - and then of course they arrived twice! Computer access and printer are complimentary (always a big tick), but there are only two terminals and one was not working. The printer was out of paper. All of these (and other) minor irritations were quickly put right by staff who were invariably friendly and eager to please, but their frequency is slightly off-putting.
The location (on St Stephen's Green at the top of Grafton Street) is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back (superior), but not if you have trouble with stairs and walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear forester99,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.

It was great to read that you really enjoyed our bedrooms & wonderful location.

Whilst from your review I understand that you did find some shortcomings regarding our
breakfast room & business centre.
Can I first of all offer my sincere apologies for these two issues.

Let me assure you that this will be acted upon immediately.

I would also be delighted to act as your point of contact to ensure any return visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel would be seen as our opportunity to provide the perfect stay.

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blessington, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We've just arrived home from our one night stay in the Fitzwilliam. Let me first say I chose this hotel based on reviews, and so it's no surprise that our stay lived up to its' reputation.
It was our wedding anniversary and on check in, my husband asked was it possible to upgrade, which they did. Our fantastic room looked directly out to Stephen's Green, and the view was spectacular.
After dropping our bags to the room, we went to the bar and were promptly followed by the Gentleman on reception who provided us with free cocktails! What a start! After dining at the AMAZING Citron restaurant ( just go. Even if you don't stay at the hotel just go to the restaurant, you will NOT regret it) we ordered one or two drinks and when we went to pay we were told that the drinks were courtesy of the house! We felt so completely spoilt. With a late breakfast which offered continental and cooked breakfasts - we were set for the day. My only teeny weeny negative is the cost of parking - I thought a bit steep at 10 Euro for one night.
Thank you for making our trip so special!!

Room Tip: we were in the city centre and didn't hear a thing - room onto the Green was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Rorabella,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your Wedding Anniversary. It was great to read that you found our team so friendly and that you enjoyed the cocktails in the bar & your Room Service Breakfast.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.