We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Dublin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Hotel Packages
Ranked #15 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great stay in Dublin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked 2 rooms at the Fitzwilliam for our stay in Oct 2012. (3 nights)
Staff were really friendly at check in and concierge was also helpful with tips for our time in Dublin.
I was very pleased with the rooms, one of which had a balcony that overlooked the park - it was nice to sit out there and watch the world go by. The rooms were spacious and stylish, bathrooms also very nice and newly decorated.
Location was fantastic. Right on the to of Grafton St, and opposite the park. We strolled through the park many times, it was lovely.
Did not eat at the hotel, so cant comment on that.
Would stay here again and would reccomend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels facing the park had a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear pz25,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have really enjoyed our spacious & stylish rooms, the excellent location & found the team so helpful.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    393
    135
    50
    31
See reviews for
217
765
72
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The Fitzwilliam is in the middle of Dublin across from St Stephens green. I had a queen room with a balcony overlooking the green. I highly recommend the balcony rooms. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Shooperlaw,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have really enjoyed our location & found the team so helpful.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We staying at the Fitzwilliam hotel in late October, having read numerous reviews. We were not disappointed. Interior was very modern, and clean, overall very boutique style. Our room was on the fifth floor and located not far from the lifts. Our balcony was overlooking St Stephens green, which was fantastic, this was an upgraded room - which I would definitely recommend. Had the weather been better we would definitely have used the patio heater and seats relaxed. Rooms were very well equipped with the usual mini bar, tea / coffee, and luxurious bathroom. Little extra touches were an umbrella and stereo.
Location is perfect with hotel situated just at the top of Grafton Street, close to shops, restaurants and tram.
When we arrived, concierge parked our car for us and again when leaving, they went and brought it round to the front of the hotel, as it was pouring with rain.
Buffet breakfast was one of the best I have seen which included the usual sausage, eggs, bacon, but also cheese platter, smoked salmon, pastries and fruit.
Out of all the hotels I have stayed in Dublin this is by far my favourite, because of location and standard of the hotel.
A really enjayable stay, and I will definitely be back - I cannot recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: Fantastic view from upgrade rooms at front, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Pippa-Power,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed a very great stay & that you found our rooms so modern & clean.
It was also fantastic to read that you found breakfast to be so good, as we really take great pride in the quality & variety of our breakfast.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed in this hotel just one night on a business trip. The room was really cosy, with a super comfy bed and very spacious bathroom. The hotel is ideally located near the commercial streets of Dublin and there is plenty of restaurants around the hotel. The rooms with the view on the large park are very nice and not very noisy despite being over the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Public Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear nroth,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have really enjoyed our location & found your bedroom so spacious & comfortable.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last weekend as a romantic break away. The hotel is located in the best part of Dublin for shopping, sight-seeing and really is the ideal place to be located in the city for a break.

We got a Winter Getaway deal which included 2 nights B&B and for the hotels standard and location I thought we got very good value. The hotel is modern with nicely furnished rooms and well kitted out bathrooms with a powerful shower and good sized bath.

The other stand out point about this hotel besides the location and value were the staff - we were treated very well and everyone we met was extremely professional and welcoming.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtyard facing room which for us was a very calm, quiet, relaxing place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear AngieMacEire,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have really enjoyed our location. Most importantly it was great to read that you found our team so professional & welcoming.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend last weekend. We've stayed here on a few occasions and the best thing by far is its location and parking facilities. Once you arrive everything is within walking distance. I only have very minor negatives about our stay the first of which was our room was overlooked by other rooms so for privacy we closed the blinds,no problem there however the lighting is extremely dim. Secondly the hotel seemed lacking in atmosphere,we were the only people at the hotel bar the night we stayed and the next morning we were the only people having breakfast. Finally the gym is pretty small and cramped,I imagine I'd feel uncomfortable if there was more than myself in it.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and most likely would return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here on the 25th of nov after having to reschedule original date. Staff were lovely and very friendly, when rescheduling and on the day. Rooms are average size but attention to detail was well above average. Had room service breakfast which was fine and did the job. 1 minute from all the high street stores. Parking was €10 euro for the night which was unimpressive. Lovely view from balcony. Beds were very comfortable. Films were good value too. Pool would have been nice. Enjoyed every second of the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Laura C,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us on tripadvisor.

The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to us and take heart from the positive sentiments you have expressed regarding the hotel & our location. It was great to read that you found the staff so friendly & that you enjoyed Room Service.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.