We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

For me the Fitzwilliam ticks all the boxes for an excellent experience.
It is in an great location being in the heart of Dublin right next to St Stephen's Green and Dublin's main shopping streets. At checkin the staff were very professional and you instantly get the feeling your stay is going to be a good experience, unlike the experience I have had at some of the other 5* hotels when checking in. I was also given internet access vouchers for the whole of my stay free of charge, other hotels should certainly take a lead from this. I was shown to my room by the person that checked me in and she was most helpful in ensuring everything was to my satisfaction. The rooms are of a high standard and the decor certainly lives up to its 'chic' hotel status. Really comfortable bed, good desk space, good seating and a very spacious well equipped bathroom - well done all round. Breakfast was fine, a good selection and a very nice full irish breakfast, although on two occasions I had to remind the waiter I had not received my food.
There is a turn down service that really is one with some lovely chocolates. The lounge is in the lobby so very small and very busy but I guess with such a nice room why use it.
I loved my stay here and will certainly return on my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    421
    144
    51
    33
See reviews for
233
806
78
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We spent the long weekend in Dublin and the Fitzwilliam is in the perfect spot for exploring Dublin, being on St Stephens Green, a short walk along Graftin St (the main shopping street) to Trinity college and the Liffey. We also found out it's the area where there are a lot of good restaurants and some great bars (although most of Dublin has great bars). Our room was modern clean and comfortable, through not huge. We did have a wonderful balcony area overlooking St Stephens Green with space to sit out and enjoy the views and the sunshine (yes, we had good weather!) The hotel staff are friendly and efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: make sure you get a balcony facing East!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed in the Fitzwilliam hotel for the first time last night and I'm just sorry that I didn't try it before now. The location is fantastic. Prices are fair and the staff set a perfect tone. Going back tomorrow on the first of many return visits.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgemont, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at the Fitzwilliam on both sides of a trip to the Dingle Peninsula. The hotel was terrific - very stylish lobby, equally as nice/stylish were the rooms (on both stays). The rooms were not overly large, but very comfortable with very nice bathrooms. Our rooms both had terrific views of St. Stephen's Green with the second night's room having a balcony that included a table/chairs and a heat lamp - very nice on warm spring nights. The staff was also very nice, especially the concierge who helped us with restaurant reservations, taxis etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at the Fitzwilliam for 2 nights in May. We found the staff to be wonderful, so helpful when we needed help finding restaurants, getting around, etc. We were in Dublin when Pres Obama visited which made our requests all the more challenging given the city was basically closed during his brief visit. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was luxurious. We have stayed in other major world capital cities and as compared to other hotels, the Fitzwilliam ranks high on the list. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

It was our first trip to Dublin, Ireland. We are glad that we decided to stay at Fitzwilliam Hotel. The location is great, right at St. Stephan's Greens with shops and everything right there. One can walk anywhere from there and it is not noisy like Temple Bar area.

The rooms are a little on the small end but very clean and beautifully decorated in simple and elegant taste. The fresh orchids are a nice touch. One tiny complaint - the sink faucets in the bathroom are not very practical. Water splashes all over. Other than that, the bath tub is a blissful oasis by its own. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was a wonderful selection of fruits, vegetables and delicious ham and banger sausages. One can also order omelette or dishes from the menu.

One small tip - One can take Air Coach which goes directly to city center. It only costs 7 Euro per person vs. 30 + Euro by taxi. The bues are very clean and runs every 10 minutes or so. It is just a short walk (no more than 5 minutes) to the hotel from the bus drop off.

All and all, it was a very enjoyable stay. Most of all, we enjoy the friendlly Irish people.

Room Tip: Request quiet room not facing the main street for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

It makes all the difference when you can see the staff at a hotel interacting with each other when they don't know they're being watched and you see them treating each other with the same amount of respect and courtesy as they treat the guests.

The service was excellent. The food was great (especially breakfast) and the room was clean and well maintained.

We loved this hotel and we've stayed in many around the world. This one is a favorite.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.