We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tis Eccentric” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morgan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Morgan to your Saves list
The Morgan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Fleet Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tis Eccentric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have t say the bar men are full of wonders, they actually are well trained at bar tending. The best time to go here is off peak hours, nice and quiet and everything is much cheaper. Nice to go on a day date in. But the night is more for a good group of friends, t have some fun. The music is outstanding, i was impressed with their jazz and bongo performance and that was just a sunday night, i can only imagine what a friday or saturday is like. We came in with a lot of bags and we asked the reception to mind it for us and it was no problem. The time i had went before I was speaking with a receptionist and she had answered all my questions and was so helpful, i think her name was Julia.She had blonde curly hair with dark roots. Some of the people that go there are weird, which isn't such a bad complaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Shiela C, Hi and hello I hope this email finds you well. I've heard that Weird is the new in thing to be. Weird though can be described as so many different ways. Of, relating to, or suggestive of the preternatural or supernatural. Of a strikingly odd or unusual character; strange. The list goes on and on. It's amazing the way life works in cycles isn't it. What was once " weird " or "uncool" is now "in" and "hip", like the rubix cube, or old nintendo games. Anyway Shiela C, thank you for taking time out and writing such a nice, thoughtful, retro, and all around funtastic review of us. In a way your review is a bit weird so your totally in style I see. People from all over this planet come to us for our Vibe. An energy that flows through every nano inch of the hotel, helping to enhance the senses to new and unexplored levels of light, sound and energy. An awsome experience that has us quite possibly the coolest spot on earth. Everybody wants some and always comes back for more, and I am delighted that your name is now on the list. Shiela C, once again thank you for your random act of kindness, and I look forward to welcoming you back with us sooner than later

Be well and stay Weird

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    485
    220
    103
    82
See reviews for
82
707
71
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel because of the location and convenience. Both were very good. The front desk staff was helpful and kind. Many restaurants( good and poor) and pubs were within walking distance. Trinity College and the Book of Kells were just around the corner. BUT, there are far too many shortfalls to recommend this hotel. Our room 411 faced Fleet st. and was very noisy.

The room did not have temperature control. It became hot so we had to open a window to cool and the noise from the street became worse.

Carpets in the hall were stained. The noise from the Morgan bar was simply terrible and they played late into the night.

First hotel I've ever stayed in that provided ear plugs. We will not stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi HalVan I hope your well. I havent heard back from you so just making sure you're okay.

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

As an ex-resident of Dublin, it's interesting to come back and live out of a hotel for a few days. The Temple Bar area would not have been a first choice - it's loud, and overpriced for beers and food. But on the recommendation of a friend I checked into the Morgan.

This is a small hotel that's right in the middle of the temple bar action. As such, both the nightlife (in all it's glory) is immediately on-hand. But so is easy walking access to all the major sights of Dublin city centre. So full marks for walkability.

The hotel itself is 'boutique' in atmosphere. A small intimate lobby, with a nice décor and ambience, and a welcoming staff. Just adjacent is a substantial dining area where I did grab breakfast one morning. Buffet style, immediate seating and good quality fare. The coffee took a little while to arrive but overall a good breakfast experience.

Room itself is small. A double bed and essential furniture. But I have stayed in more compact rooms in other major cities for sure. No sign of air conditioning, but in April this is not an issue. Dublin hotels can get a little stuffy in summer, so something to check other reviews for a view on.

My stay was midweek, and just before the tourist season kicked off. So I didn't notice any noise pollution.

They have a deal with the parking garage across the street (literally) although the price break is for a full 24 hours. For shorter stops, or over night, the garage rate is better than the hotel. They do advise you of this.

Checkout again was swift and friendly.

Overall a well run, well maintained little city break hotel right in the Temple Bar 'action'. If that's what you're after!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
shayg1979, Hi and hello I hope this email finds you well and all. shayg1979, thank you for taking time out and writing such a nice, positive, informative, friendly and overall funked up review of your recent stay with us. That was really nice of you, thank you. It's Amazing how kindness works. I read yesterday that kindness was contagious, and after reviews such as yours, straight from the heart I see this to be proven true.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back with us sooner than later

Be well

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I recently had a very pleasant stay at The Morgan. Reception staff were friendly, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean, the bar area is modern and funky and breakfast is plentiful. (However please note your potato bread is awful - it should never be deep fried, the oil oozing out of it was disgusting, what must tourists think? It should be lightly fried with minimal oil)
This aside - a lovely time was had.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
GAWA75, Hi and hello I hope this email finds you well and that the sun is shining wherever you may be. In life, time is one thing we never get back, so the fact that you took some of your time and wrote a review of your recent stay with us is an honour, thank you. The potato bread. I've forwarded on your comments on the Potato bread to our Kitchen department and this is being looked into as I type this email to you. Thank you. Please email me direct on generalmanager@themorgan.com the next time you plan on staying in Dublin and I will arrange a complimentary upgrade to one of our signature design suites with full Vip treatment and we'll see if we can start again at being friends. Anyway, thank you again and enjoy your weekend, and I look forward to welcoming you back with us sooner than later and we can have a chat about the potato bread lol. Be well

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Morgan is in an ideal location in the heart of Temple Bar. Its interior is modern and very quirky. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the third floor by the very friendly receptionist. The room was bright and the bed was extremely comfortable, a little noisy when the window was open but fine once we closed it. Breakfast was good too. Really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Third floor room was really lovely. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
2011traveller2, What a great review, thank you. It's excellent to see such nice, positive and uplifting words packed into such a short and sweet review. Amazing. The quirky level at the Morgan is always set at 11. Each and every nano inch of the hotel has our signature design pieces scattered stratigically along with lighting and energy to help create our world famous Morgan Vibe. Ecerybody wants some and always comes back for more. I am delighted that your name is now on this list. 2011traveller2, once again thank you for the kindness and I look forward to welcoming you back with us sooner than later

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The receptionist was friendly and very professional We had a suite. It was very spacious. It was fairly modern. The bathroom was very nice. The shower was very good. The bar had mostly young customers but the lobby has lots of sitting and is very nice. The hotel is in the heart of Temple Bar so it very well located.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Janiel, Hi and hello I hope this email finds you well and are getting some of this sun. Amazing sunny day in Dublin today with not a cloud in sight. Janiel, thank you for such a nice, thoughtful and positive review of your recent stay with us. Excellent. It's nice to be nice to the nice. The Suites at the Morgan are amazing aren't they. I have met and got to hang out with some of my heroes in them. From Abba to ZZ top, they have all stayed here and like everyone else they always come back for more. Excellent that your name is now on this list. Janiel, once again my friend thank you for the random act of kindness, and taking time out to spread the good word. Take care, and I look forward to welcoming you back with us, and we'll see if we can change your "nice" to "excellent" lol

Be well

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

In the midst of Temple bar area. Lively neighbourhood, but not too noisy inside. We had a beautiful room (deluxe suite). Very nice staff, breakfast was brilliant! Great decorations throughout the whole hotel. Go there!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
WillemSp, what a nice review thank you. The way you have worded it reminds me of a movie or a narrator Love it, thank you. WillemSp, thank you for taking time out and writing such a nice, short, sweet, warm hearted, entertaining, no messing around, hip, retro and all around funked up review of your stay with us. Please email me direct on generalmanager@themorgan.com the next time you plan on staying with us and I will organise a complimentary upgrade, press all the Vip buttons, and we'll see what happens. Be well

Eddie Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Address: 10 Fleet Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#31 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, crazy outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse with rooftop garden. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin’s best loved boutique hotel The Morgan has 120 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines, uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morgan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.