We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but what is up with those beds?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Buswells Hotel to your Saves list
Buswells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #28 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice but what is up with those beds?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Nice hotel and in a great spot. Right at Grafton St. and close to everything. The bar was set up nice and able to hold a lot of people. The breakfast was also very good. The beds were small and pretty hard and the pillow flat. No AC and you could keep the window open but don't ask for a street side room. We had 4 rooms and the noise from the cars lasted until late. We also had a homeless sleeping across the st. at a vacant building and he would yell alot or sing during the night. Other than the room at night this place was nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    276
    94
    24
    7
See reviews for
152
283
42
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kahalu`u, Hawai`i
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

An old building, well kept up, with polite and helpful staff. The narrow corridors with unexpected steps lent an old-world feel, as did the tasteful decorations.
Close by was St. Steven's Green, Trinity College and the fabulous Archaeological Museum (not to be missed!). Almost everything else was within walking distance as well. The cost was surprisingly reasonable for the middle of tourist season.
The room was adequate and comfortable and quiet; it was a perfect retreat from the busy, noisy Dublin streets.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

First of all let me justify the above comment. At the price I paid I would rate this place great value for money. At the full rack rate I would be bitterly disappointed! The room was simple and adequate for our needs. No airconditioning and the room was stuffy. The advertised free wifi is NOT free- its 6 euros for 50 minutes and you have to sign up for it. No fridge in room. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice and cosy bar. Was going to use the restaurant but it was empty so didnt use it- dont like desserted restaurants. The rooms are dated but tidy. I declined a room with breakfast on booking but on arrival this was offered for 10 euros so why not- NO fresh juices (cordial), NO fresh fruit (apart from a fruit salad that was mainly chunks of apple), the muffins were of 'Aldi' quality, no croissants but lots of soda bread. For the 10 euros i was happy as i got a cooked breakfast. Had I paid the full breakfast rate I would have been really fizzed off. So in a nutshell, happy to pay 70 euros a night anda tenner for breakfast. But at 240 euros a night and 17 for breakfast and extra for internet (20 euros for 24 hours) I would have complained bitterly. Recommended ONLY at earlybird rates.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Perfect location, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast and pub meals.

Because it's in several connected buildings the rooms are on different floor levels and there are only a few rooms which can be reached by elevator without either going up or down half flights of stairs. We stayed in one of the few rooms without stairs to climb. It was a nice, large room, but there was noise from the street, including the beeping of the street crossing sign, which continues all night and day. If you don't mind stairs ask for a room at the back. Also, the 'complementary' wi-fi access is not free !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Buswells has been operating since 1882 and is an elegant 3 star hotel with special character in the heart of Dublin 2. A charming 67-bedroom Georgian hotel, it is ideally located in the centre of Dublin city a short stroll from St. Stephen’s Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions and near to the DART at Westland Row and the LUAS (Tram) terminal at St. Stephen’s Green.

Strangely, whilst I have long recommended it to friends and whilst the present wife and her sister have stayed there this was my first time there as a resident. That is not to say that the place is unknown to me. The bar had Adam style plaster swags painted blue and white and used to be known as the “Wedgwood Bar.” Many years ago in the company of a leading Irish feminist I had bumped into the Northern Ireland poet Michael Longley and his poetess wife Edna who were staying in the hotel. Michael had just won the GPA poetry prize and with the winners cheque in his pocket was in expansive and generous form, from what I could vaguely recall the next day! The bar and restaurant are today called Truman’s after an adjoining print and drawing instrument shop which I was a customer of as a young architectural student. When it closed down in 1975 Buswell’s bought the property and incorporated it into the hotel and as Secretary of the Student Union at Bolton Street I bought most of their stock for our Student Shop. Being across from the Irish Parliament it had an erstwhile reputation as a late night drinking den for politicos leading to the story about a conversation between a policeman who raided the premises at 3 in the morning and encountered the then Minister for Justice (and later Prime Minister) Charles J Haughey “What will it be for you Guard, a pint of Guinness or a transfer to Donegal?”

This is a good hotel in a great location, very close to Grafton Street, Trinity College and the National Museums. Our room was spacious with high ceilings and throughout the décor and furnishings were of a good quality and fresh. The Bathroom and shower were excellent if compact. The bar was good with helpful and obliging service but here and in the lounge you could just sit and relax with no pressure to order anything. We only had breakfast on the last morning (when my parents stayed and this is taken in the rather splendidly upholstered Truman’s Restaurant. It was as good as I’ve seen anywhere with a really excellent selection of juices, cereals, breads (including Irish soda bread) meats and cheeses from a buffet counter with the hot Irish Breakfast, toast and generous pots of tea and coffee served at the linen covered table.

Last year when my wife and sister in law wanted to stay Buswell’s quoted 245 euros a night. Well this is far too much (you could stay in the Shelbourne for this) but what a difference a year makes as I got the rooms on their site on the internet for 89 to 99 euros a night. Don’t pay extra when booking for breakfast because they price this separately at 20 euros a night (A Mercure Hotel in Paris charges 15 euros!) but we were offered “any breakfast” at the desk at a more reasonable 10 euros. The hotel needs to get its pricing realistic and consistent. The other thing to remember is that as this hotel incorporates four different Georgian buildings so room sizes vary and the dovetailing of bathrooms into the structure doesn’t always make for good sound insulation. Also, being in the centre street noise is unavoidable but we found by closing the windows, including the secondary glazing, the room was quiet. Also as these are Georgian buildings don’t expect aircon, but really you don’t need this in Dublin.

This is a well managed property with well trained and friendly staff who really make a difference and I would single out Mary on reception and Clive the Concierge but most of the staff have been here a while and this continuity makes a difference. If you want a personal hotel with a country house athmosphere in a great location Buswell’s is a good deal. Or as the elder Mr C put it as he was reading the complimentary newspaper in his adopted armchair in the relaxing lounge “I could get used to this.”

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

A little off the beaten track but still within walking distance to temple bar and O'Connell street. Also very near the lovely St Stephens Green.
We did get there quite early so our room wasnt ready. When we went back at 2pm it still wasnt but the hotel did provide free tea and coffee while we were waiting and gave us the internet time we had arranged free of charge.
The room was lovely and quite roomy, no view to speak off as it was at the back of the hotel but this was probably better as nice and quiet at night time. The bed was comfy and plenty of pilows.
Bathroom was nice and light but the shower was apalling, couldn't get any pressure from it and lukewarm even when turned up to the highest. Hubby liked the bath tub though.
We didnt eat in the hotel but we may have well had as Dublin was extortinate to eat out and even to drink. We recommend the Duke pub nearby very friendly. Also the Brazen Head which is Irelands oldest pub at Ushers quay. Go any day and an irish band will strike up the music and get the whole pub involved. Went in for one drink and ended up staying for 3.
All in all a good stay and did like the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I booked a weekend in Dublin for my partners birthday and after trawling the internet for good value, nice hotels we came up with this one. We did have a slight problem in that the weekend we went the Friday was alcohol free. We found this out the day before we got there! Whoops! Because of this alot of restuarants were closed in Dublin as well so we decided to eat in the hotel restuarant.....probably one of the nicest meals we have ever had! The service was second to none, very attentive and always made sure that our water and wine glasses were full. As we were eating they were allowed to serve us wine and this was lovely, our waiter was extremely helpful when it came to picking this. the meal was stunning and fresh and my partner in particular loved his Chocolate Fondant, we were warned when we ordered it that there was a little wait on this as they make it from scratch to order.... why they thought we might be disappointed by this i do not know : )
We booked a double room and we had read that some of the rooms are a little small so when booking i was a bit cheeky and mentioned it was for a birthday weekend and could they ensure that we had a decent sized room. We were not disappointed. They gave us a very large twin room with double beds. It was a little hot at night and we couldnt really open the window as there were air vents outside that were quite noisy.
The ladies on reception were extremely helpful and provided us with lots of details of places to go and how to get there etc.
The only downside to the experience was that they put a hold on my partners debit card and then when they went to put the authorisation through when we were checking out it wouldnt work - we were nearly late for our plane home and the hotel staff had to let us leave without paying so that we could get home. It took about 4 days before my partner could use his card again. Have to admit though that i dont think it was entirely the hotels fault - think the bank had something to do with it as well!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buswells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.