We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Buswells Hotel to your Saves list
Buswells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Middlebrough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to dublin,Stopped just the one night, before moving onto Galway. Spacious, comfortable and clean, after tramping back from the O2 at midnight the barman insisted on table service for our night caps. Will stay again, ideal location for 1st time visitors

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Borotmt,
It is great to read you recent comments on Buswells Hotel and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
I hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    276
    94
    24
    7
See reviews for
152
283
42
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at this lovely hotel. Staff were very pleasant. Room a little bit of a squash for 3 but compensated by a large bathroom. Had a meal when we arrived which was very nice and breakfast one morning, also very nice. It's a hotel with lots of character, open fires and a feeling of bygone days. My only 2 quibbles were the hot water, which was a bit hit and miss, also as our room was on the front and even though it was November the room was hot so we needed the window open and it was rather noisy. But other than that fantastic.....great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Dawn94,
Thank you for your lovely comments on the hotel and our staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your meal in our restaurant.

I hope you had a pleasant journey home and look forward to seeing you back in Buswells on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is the nearest to Trinity College where we were attending a conference. I had requested an early check-in time regular time is after 2pm) We arrived just after 1pm, but our room wasn't ready.
We came back later in the afternoon and a porter was called to take our one small bag. Noticing my walking stick, he inquired if I minded " a couple of steps". I insisted on using the lift. When got out, on the second floor we were then walked up and down several flights of stairs, along a corridor and across a sloping covered bridge to reach room 401.
The room was a reasonable size, but gloomy rather than cozy. There was a token radiator under the tall sash window with no heat in it at all. An even smaller radiator was in the icy bathroom. The bedroom lighting was totally inadequate. We had to go into the bathroom to read anything. The two radiators acquired a little heat later in the evening. But neither bathroom nor bedroom warmed sufficiently. There is a notice in the bathroom saying it may take a while for warm water to reach the bathroom. They are not joking.
I should mention that the public rooms on the ground floor are lovely and warm, including an open fire, all of which gives an entirely false impression about the heating elsewhere. Also, I don't think I should have to declare slight mobility problems in a hotel with lifts. Nor should a couple in their seventies be given allocated so inaccessible a room.
The only reason we did not complain and demand a different room was that we were only staying one night and our free time was limited.

Room Tip: Ask how far you are going to have walk to your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Ballydorn,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us recently. We do our very best to match guest requirements with our rooms. As soon as our staff noticied your walking stick, I believe Paddy asked reception to offer you a room nearer the lift which you declined. Never the less, we will retrain the desk staff to be alert to guests particular needs.

It is delightful to read that you found our public rooms lovely with the open fire.

I do hope that when you return to Dublin that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms that have a stagnant odor. Can't get hot water in the shower. No conditioner and soap that smells heavily like cheap cologne. NOT WORTH IT, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. A charming lobby is where the positives end.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear DDJennings,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value all feedback as it enables us to improve on the service we offer and our product.
We supply shampoo and body conditioner in all our rooms but not conditioner. We have had no issues with our soap and this is the first time anyone has had a negative comment about it.
I am delighted that you found our lobby charming.
I do hope that when you return to Dublin that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were seven friends staying at this hotel and all of us thought it was great. Location is unbeatable with walking distance to both shopping, nightclubs, restaurants and a park. Serviceminded staff all over and the interiour was old-fashioned and charming. I could absolutely go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
AndreasIngberg, thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and make great us of our location for shopping and nightlife.

I hope you all had a pleasant journey home and look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almancil,portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel and would reccomend it to visitors to Dublin who are looking for the perfect location,a few minutes stroll from St Stephens Green & Grafton St,the Hotel itself has the old world feel to it,very friendly staff,good food & a busy friendly bar,I go to Dublin five to six times a year and have stayed in most hotels,Buswells will be my number one choice from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more modren rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aed15, thank you for posting your review of Buswells Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay - from our friendly staff to great location.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed at Buswells on my recent trip to Ireland, it was a wonderful to be located in such a great location. Easy walking distance to Trinity College, St Stephens Green and Grafton St. Our room was clean, very comfortable and quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was amazing! We enjoyed our dinner in the pub as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Mckbre80, thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us earlier this year. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our location so great - walking distance to many great places.
I look forward to welcoming you back again to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buswells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.