We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, atmosphere and great Guinness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buswells Hotel to your Saves list
Buswells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Character, atmosphere and great Guinness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building, good range of food on bar lounge menu - paninis to rib eye steak, nice atmosphere, breakfast cooked to order, wonderful large beds BUT nightmare showers - scalding or freezing. Was assured all showers having a refit in October. Nice part of town. Have corporate rate of €85 B&B so will check if showers done on next visit or move account.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
RNR59, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay with us recently. It is great to read how much you enjoyed our facilities including our great range of bar food.
I do apologise for the plumbing issues that you encountered and would like to assure you that issue has been rectified.
I look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    311
    99
    25
    7
See reviews for
175
318
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were traveling with friends and their experience was better than ours. We complained two times about the king bed in our room; one side of the bed was like a soup bowl (very depressed from poor springs). The only compensation offered was a free breakfast -- not a room change or a reduction in cost of room. On the second night we discovered that when the bed was made there was no bottom sheet put on the bed so we had to call for someone to re-make the bed. Lastly the cleaning person left their dirty cleaning rag on the floor of our room -- unfortunate oversight. So three bad comments for a 3-night stay does not rank this hotel high on my list. I probably would not return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you Julie R for posting this review following your stay with us. All feedback is important to us as it enables us to improve on the service we offer and our product.
I do apologise for the issues you experienced and would like to assure you that this certainly is not our standard. We have replaced the mattress in this room following your comments and I have passed all your comments to our Housekeeping Manager.

I sincerely hope that you do choose to stay with us again should you return to Dublin as we would love the opportunity to renew your faith in us.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Most enjoyable stay complemented by very attentive staff. Rooms are small due to townhouse setting but very clean. No AC and had to keep window open during warm weekend and there was street noise on our front room. Location is superb. Elegant dining room and service although they missed on an allergy issue with our group. Cannot comment on value since we were tour group.

Room Tip: I recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Gerry H for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our excellent location.

I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you back in Buswells on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Buswells for three nights, room 402, Sep 19, every thing and every one we dealt with were superb , The room was excellent, food in the bar was great and breakfast was freshly cooked , i would rate this hotel very highly . John Browne Cork

Room Tip: 402 was perfect is all i can say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you John B for your lovely review following your stay with us last month. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borden, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

2 minute walk to Grafton Street. Across the street from Trinity University. Literally the heart of Dublin. Rooms were small but had everything you needed. Staff was exceptional. My husband claims the salmon he had was the best meal of our holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Molesworth can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
DAN19612013, thank you for your lovely comments on the hotel. It is great to read now much you enjoyed your stay.
I hope your return to Borden was a pleasant one and you are planning another trip back in the near future to have some more great salmon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was the first hotel we stayed in when we came to Ireland. The location in Dublin was fantastic, very close to sights and walkable. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We had an electricity issue in our room and they took care of it immediately. Highly recommend for a great, small hotel in a terrific location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Erika M, It is great to read your recent comments on Buswells Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We chose the Buswells Hotel based on tripadvisor comments and its location. Air Coach service from Dublin Airport deposited us in front of the hotel. Pick up back to the airport was a few blocks away, but the walk was short and the service convenient. The staff at the hotel was very attentive and helpful. Check-in went very smoothly and the front desk staff provided us with many suggestions for dining and sightseeing. The hotel's atmosphere was charming with a maze of hallways some wide some not.

Our room was on the street side at the front of the hotel. The room was rather small (a single and double bed for two people) but comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean and kept tidy every day of our visit. "Temperature regulation" was problem while sleeping and we had to keep the windows open to get air movement which also introduced street noise into the room. We purchased a package which included breakfast. The breakfast was plentiful with a combination of choices from the buffet and cooked items. The wi-fi worked well although one needed to get a new logon code each 24 hours. This hotel was the most expensive accommodation during our two week vacation in the UK and Dublin, but what isn't expensive in Dublin?

The hotel's location was ideal for our two day visit to Dublin. Many attractions and eating establishments were within a short walking distance and buses were plentiful if one needed to travel a little further from town center.

So, if your'e looking for an ideal location to visit the Dublin sites with easy access to airport transportation with comfortable surroundings, then I recommend the Buswell's Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Physicsgeek for taking the time to post your wonderful review following your stay with us last month. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buswells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.