We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, elegant hotel in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buswells Hotel to your Saves list
Buswells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #27 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, elegant hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Most enjoyable stay complemented by very attentive staff. Rooms are small due to townhouse setting but very clean. No AC and had to keep window open during warm weekend and there was street noise on our front room. Location is superb. Elegant dining room and service although they missed on an allergy issue with our group. Cannot comment on value since we were tour group.

Room Tip: I recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Gerry H for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our excellent location.

I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you back in Buswells on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    311
    99
    25
    7
See reviews for
175
318
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Buswells for three nights, room 402, Sep 19, every thing and every one we dealt with were superb , The room was excellent, food in the bar was great and breakfast was freshly cooked , i would rate this hotel very highly . John Browne Cork

Room Tip: 402 was perfect is all i can say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you John B for your lovely review following your stay with us last month. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borden, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

2 minute walk to Grafton Street. Across the street from Trinity University. Literally the heart of Dublin. Rooms were small but had everything you needed. Staff was exceptional. My husband claims the salmon he had was the best meal of our holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Molesworth can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
DAN19612013, thank you for your lovely comments on the hotel. It is great to read now much you enjoyed your stay.
I hope your return to Borden was a pleasant one and you are planning another trip back in the near future to have some more great salmon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was the first hotel we stayed in when we came to Ireland. The location in Dublin was fantastic, very close to sights and walkable. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We had an electricity issue in our room and they took care of it immediately. Highly recommend for a great, small hotel in a terrific location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Erika M, It is great to read your recent comments on Buswells Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We chose the Buswells Hotel based on tripadvisor comments and its location. Air Coach service from Dublin Airport deposited us in front of the hotel. Pick up back to the airport was a few blocks away, but the walk was short and the service convenient. The staff at the hotel was very attentive and helpful. Check-in went very smoothly and the front desk staff provided us with many suggestions for dining and sightseeing. The hotel's atmosphere was charming with a maze of hallways some wide some not.

Our room was on the street side at the front of the hotel. The room was rather small (a single and double bed for two people) but comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean and kept tidy every day of our visit. "Temperature regulation" was problem while sleeping and we had to keep the windows open to get air movement which also introduced street noise into the room. We purchased a package which included breakfast. The breakfast was plentiful with a combination of choices from the buffet and cooked items. The wi-fi worked well although one needed to get a new logon code each 24 hours. This hotel was the most expensive accommodation during our two week vacation in the UK and Dublin, but what isn't expensive in Dublin?

The hotel's location was ideal for our two day visit to Dublin. Many attractions and eating establishments were within a short walking distance and buses were plentiful if one needed to travel a little further from town center.

So, if your'e looking for an ideal location to visit the Dublin sites with easy access to airport transportation with comfortable surroundings, then I recommend the Buswell's Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Physicsgeek for taking the time to post your wonderful review following your stay with us last month. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We heard about Buswells from a friend. The hotel is in a great location, near everything in central Dublin but on a quiet street. The atmosphere is Georgian & Victorian, with dark furnishings, antique or reproduction furniture, and a decidedly dated air. The room we stayed in, while large, could really use some editing (too much furniture crammed in, some of it broken), and some fresh paint, new drapes, etc. Everything felt a little worn out. The bathroom was recently renovated and very nice.
The breakfast was adequate, but we preferred the great cafe just down Molesworth Street, Busy Bean. Better food, prices, and coffee than the hotel.
The AirCoach was very convenient and dropped us off right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are only accessible by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review of your recent stay. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our central location so perfect for you.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh/Durham/Cary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Buswell's served us well, as first time visitors to Dublin. The location is perfect. We took the Air Coach from the airport, and it dropped us off across the street from Buswell's. The hop on/hop off bus stop is very close. Most important is that you can walk to Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, the Northside, and most of the places you want to see, quite easily, yet you weren't right in the middle of all the noise and clamor of Dublin.

I found the accommodations to be adequate. The room was pretty small, but adequate. The wi fi was a mess. I had to ask staff to help me access it, and a couple of them told me they were frustrated with the wi fi, and hoped the hotel would be changing to a different network soon.

The staff could not have been more helpful, from the front desk people, to the concierge. They went out of their way to assist us, and gladly answered the tons of questions we had. Compared to other hotels in similar locations, the pricing was good. We ate one "dinner" in the pub, and that food was above average.

If you're visiting Dublin for the first time, location of where you stay is very important. You couldn't find a better location than Buswell's, and I would recommend it for that reason, along with the extremely helpful staff.

Room Tip: You may want a room that doesn't face the front, as they may be a bit quieter. Since the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Garyincary, thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us recently. It is great to read that our location was so perfect for you and you could see so much of our lovely city on foot.
We are in the process of securing a new Wi-Fi system which we hope will alleviate the current issues that guests experience.
I am delighted that our front desk staff could assist you during your stay.
I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you back in Buswells on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buswells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.