We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great full service hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buswells Hotel to your Saves list
Buswells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great full service hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed for three nights two weeks ago. very nice room and really
helpfull staff-very good breakfasts and a great bar. the hotel has lots of character. excellent location-easy bus drop-off from dublin airport.

Room Tip: its all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Oots412, thank you for taking the time to posting your review of Buswells Hotel.
It is great to read that our staff helped you enjoy your stay and your found our location so excellent.

I do look forward to welcoming you back again to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    269
    92
    24
    7
See reviews for
149
276
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

On our recent trip to Ireland, we chose Buswells as our "recovery day" hotel following our overnight flight. We expected to drop bags at the hotel and spend most of the day exploring the city while waiting to check in. Arriving at the desk just before 7:00am, the clerk understood our state of exhaustion and immediately found an available room for us. What a wonderful surprise! The room was well-appointed, clean, and quiet. The public areas of the hotel are attractive and consistent with the older building right in the center of the city. We were easily able to spend time walking to excellent pubs, shops, and restaurants. While we only stayed for one night, as our rental car was delivered to the hotel the next morning (Dooley's - highly recommended for auto rental), we could easily have enjoyed Buswells for a multi-day visit to Dublin City Center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us recently. It is great to read that we could accommodate you so early from your flight and to give you more time for sightseeing and shopping.

I look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Long-established hotel in city centre. Great location for shopping, Trinity College, museums and government offices. The style is very "olde world" and, in fact, the building and much of the fittings have been there for decades, so it is not cheap reproduction. On the contrary, the soft furnishings, beds, sheets, towels etc are of the highest quality. The breakfast is excellent in a calm, restful room and is cooked to order. The thing I remember most about the hotel is the friendliness and personal attention of the staff - true professionals in the highest tradition of hotel-keeping. Free wifi. One problem - car-parking is complicated and expensive due to the central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you pbru54 for taking the time to post this review following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our accommodations and friendly staff so great.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

In my view Buswells has the best combination of character and location of any hotel in Dublin. When visiting cities I like to stay in an hotel that reflects the history of the city. Buswell's certainly does that being a combination of five Georgian former town houses.

Rooms are very comfortable but definitely not in the cookie-cutter style of modern hotels. Shapes and sizes of the rooms vary and we felt it added to Buswell's charm. A particular joy was relaxing in the super-comfy chairs in the salon area between the large hotel bar and the reception area after a day's sightseeing on the streets of Dublin. Staff were without exception very helpful and friendly during our two stays.

Breakfasts at Buswells are highly recommended. For those seeking sustenance before a day visiting Trinity College and the National Museum (steps from the hotel) the full Irish breakfast is the only way to go.

Shopping in Grafton street, a leisurely walk in St Stephen's Green or a pint of Guinness in some of Dublin's most famous pubs are a stones throw away.

My girlfriend and I stayed at Buswell's for three nights when we arrived in Ireland for a three week trip and were so impressed we booked in for the final two nights prior to our return to the USA.

If you love modern business-style hotels with their uniformity and drabness Buswell's is not for you. However if you like to stay in a place that speaks to the history of the city and is in a wonderful location with efficient and very friendly service then I highly recommend Buswells for your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Azeuro O, thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us.
It is great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel especially our comfy chairs in our lounge. We always recommend our breakfasts to guests - they are a great way to start off your day.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I think this is the third time we have stayed at Buswell's in Dublin. The staff are helpful and extremely pleasant, rooms comfortable and attractive, breakfasts delicious, location perfect. What's not to like? We stayed three nights this time, will always pick Buswell's for a Dublin stay.

Room Tip: We liked our front facing room, opening the window at night, enjoying the night sounds. It really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
BooksellerKatie, thank you for wonderful review following your stay with us recently at Buswells Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read how much your enjoyed your stay and found our staff so helpful. Our location is so perfect - in the centre of the city and within walking distance of shopping and tourist attractions.

I look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Buswells was our first hotel on a two week journey through Ireland. It was great in many ways: right in the center of town, staff at front desk and restaurant were very helpful, lounges were comfortable after long days of walking around. We were fortunate to have a large room in the back, after walking a set of up & down stairs it was worth it to have the space and quiet. Staff are happy to help with everything from luggage, taxi's, umbrella loans, and cheerful tips. The bar/retaurant was fine, we enjoyed meeting friends there...all around it worked for us. It's not fancy but friendly and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Staff is helpful so ask for assistance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Katherinekai, thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our staff were on hand to assist you during your visit.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is located just a few blocks from everything. It also in a nice part of town that allows you to walk to most attractions. As you can see from the pictures it is very nice and the breakfast was well done, and it has a bar for night time social hour. We were with a Rick Steves tour and so I don’t know the price, but for a nice place to stay, with good staff, it was great.

Room Tip: It is on a side street and is not noisy. Second floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you Voyles for your lovely review following your recent stays with us at Buswells Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and found our locations so central and our staff so accommodating.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buswells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.