We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricy, but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Brooks Hotel to your Saves list
Brooks Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A little pricy, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Compared to most hotels I stayed in during my visit, this was the most modern ( but also the most expensive ). The hotel itself is gorgeous, taking a page from some of the comparable boutique hotels in NYC. The reception has a porter who is very welcoming and helpful, and the rooms are chic and elegant. The hotel has a fitness center and a bar which stays open during "special" late night hours for its guests only! Its a good hotel to come back to and unwind after a night at the pubs, as its somewhat off the beaten path, but still in the center of things.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    435
    90
    41
    9
See reviews for
208
654
82
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greeniend9
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We recently stayed at the Brooks Hotel as part of our honeymoon. We were so pleased with our junior suite -- huge, incredibly comfortable bed, desk, large flat screen television, high-pressure shower, bathtub, and television in the wall over the bathtub! The free high speed internet really pleased my husband -- it really is fast! The room was spotless and quiet given its proximity to Temple Bar, however, what really blew us away was the staff who gave us the utmost attention during our stay. We had a bit of trouble with some of the appliances in our room but friendly staff members were very quick and helpful; furthermore, the front desk is extremely knowledgeable about the area and spent ample time telling us where to go / things to do. The restaurant and bar areas are extremely elegant as well. Recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kircubbin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Brooks Hotel on 11-13 Feb 2009. It is a charming hotel, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The deluxe room we had was lovely, clean and very well maintained. There was nothing to fault and, in future, 'Brooks' is the only hotel we will be staying in on our return visits to Dublin!

  • Liked — The well maintained rooms, overall decor of the hotel and great location.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to fault at all.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Very nice hotel. Room was well appointed and comfortable with a massive bed (2 large singles made up as one bed). Fruit bowl in the room was a very nice touch. Nice bathroom with a separate shower and quality fittings/towels/toiletries.

The hotel is well place for sight seeing and shopping - just off Grafton street. Staff are helpful and friendly. The only possible downside was the wifi internet could not be picked up from the room - but this could be just a problem particular to this room.

Would recomend if the budget can stretch to it. Many places to eat around the area and in walking distance of Temple Bar and Henry Street.

  • Liked — room comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

This comfortable, quiet hotel provided a peaceful retreat - yet it is right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Dublin city centre. Trinity college, Grafton St, Temple Bar and the castle are minutes away on foot, as are numerous bars, pubs, restaurants and live music venues.

Our executive double room provided excellent value for money especially as we phoned direct and got a much better rate, including breakfast, than the internet booking site. Our room did not overlook the busy streets therefore it was quiet and peaceful although the view was therefore of a back alley.

The staff were friendly and attentive, we turned up for breakfast 5 minutes before it closed yet were still welcomed in. The breakfast was a delicious buffet style continental and a cooked breakfast menu, all the food was fresh and there was a wide selection.
The hotel also provided us with a left luggage service free of charge on our final day because our flight was not until the evening.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Disliked — Nothing - fulfilled all our needs
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

Brooks is a lovely litlle oasis in the heart of Dublin. The staff were brilliant, the hotel was clean and neat and the location is spot on if you want to see the sights, do some shopping and eat great food. We had a wonderful time in Dublin for a couple of days and with the help of the staff at Brooks managed to see and do everything we would have wanted to. From the first impression where we were greeted by the desk staff and the concierge they were lovely they gave us a map showed us all the things we should do provided us with recommendations for food and drink. We had one issue with our room that was resolved immediately. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a short stay in Dublin it is a little bit more expensive but it is totally worth it to minimise your hassle.

  • Liked — Staff and Service
  • Disliked — Room Size but its a European hotel so don't expect a mansion
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We booked our trip to Ireland through a company who specializes in Ireland travel. I read about the Brooks here and decided this was where I wanted to stay for Christmas, the beginning of our trip. However, the travel agency didn't have a contract with the Brooks, and the suggested other places. I looked them over but finally said if they didn't book us at the Brooks I wouldn't be booking with them, they did, and we had a wonderful time. The only thing I would have changed was that our room was small--a double and a twin for myself, my husband and our nine year old. However, everything else was first class. The food was fresh, delicious, and varied. The croissants were the best we've ever had, hands down. The location is perfect for visiting Dublin. There is a pillow menu, a huge "screening room" for movies, turn down service, and a great bar. I cannot say enough about The Brooks. We stayed in many different hotels all over central and southern Ireland and this was by far our favorite. I suggest you don't have a car, however, while staying there. No need, and it will cost you at the car park across the street.

  • Liked — Clean, wonderful staff, great location, outstanding food
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel

Address: 59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.