We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Modern and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brooks Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brooks Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brooks Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location. Modern and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location. Not quite as good as I was expecting. The bed was nice.The room was clean. The breakfast we payed for didn't start until 8 AM on weekends. We had to leave for the airport before that time. On checkout the front desk clerk tried to charge me for someone else's room. It took 5 minutes to sort that out. The shower curtain did not hold the water in very well so my wife and I both caused an unavoidable flood with each shower. Minor complaints, but annoying none the less. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    828
    399
    82
    38
    7
See reviews for
189
587
77
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Brooks Hotel Dublin. Our stay far exceeded our expectations. All the staff coud not have been more helpful and pleasant. The location for us was ideal, being very central, and the bedroom, restaurant and bar were all excellent. As we were touring Ireland by car parking was a serious consideration when selecting our hotel, and in this case I doubt we could not have chosen better. We would certaintly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was a deluxe dble on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were back to Brooks Hotel Dublin for the May Bank Holiday holiday visit for Ireland's Bloom Garden Festival. We were thrilled to get a room for the busy holida.y weekend and we were so well look after from the caring staff.
On this occasion we attended a classic film show in their in house deluxe cinema that was for us a first night for a great weekends in Dublin.
Breakfast at Brooks is a great experience and a food spectacular that one will have to travel far to better, we will be back later on this year.
Kind regards to a wonderful staff.
Sean Horkan, Castlebar.

Room Tip: Central city location, ideal for visiting shopping and theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My partner, sister, and a close friend spent 5 nights at the Brooks Hotel in Dublin recently. We were treated to a warm, friendly, professional staff and gracious surroundings right in the center of Dublin. There were some mechanical issues in one room, one afternoon so the desk staff allowed us to use another room close by until a room next to ours could be made ready. We were not inconvenienced at all. From the Irish breakfast each morning to a night cap in the bar each night, we felt so welcome. The room was tastefully decorated and had small refrigerator and safe inside cabinets. The location was just blocks from the river and central tourist destinations. The concierge kiosk & staff were extremely helpful. It was certainly a good value for our American dollars.

Room Tip: We faced the street which looks out beyond a parking garage to a lovely red brick Victorian building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This Hotel delivered everything it promised. From the moment of arrival we were made especially welcome at Reception and by the Concierge, Conor. Our room was spacious and spotless. Everything we needed was supplied, including toiletries, which is a rarity nowadays. Room service was prompt and pleasant.
The location is great for anybody visiting central Dublin, and the whole city centre is within comfortable walking distance.
Food in the bar and restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. On top of this, there are several very good bars and restaurants just around every corner.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay and will be back.

Room Tip: We took the room we were allocated and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal position. Walking distance to Trinity College and to the pick up points to collect your bus if going on a day tour. The room was very comfortable, the only negative would be the towels were well used and need to perhaps be changed for softer ones. The staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was very good and the dinner menu was also very good. We would come to this hotel again, when in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night, the rooms were nice, but the corridors very narrow., i was staying here on business which my employers paid for which i think it hd an impact on how i was treated, when arriving at the reception the lady was very nice however the first thing she said is we have a dress code, how can you tell guests what to wear when they are paying you over 250 euros per night to stay there, secondly my employers had put a tab for my food and drink, only to be told again that my tab could only be spent on food but no drink, again i was puzzled i am paying you a lot of money and you are telling me what i have to do?? Go down to dinner and order the chicken which was 26 euros what came on the plate was an absolute disgrace for the money, it was 1 piece of small chicken and i mean small with a slither of gravy over it and that was it no vegetables and no potatoes an absolute rip off, breakfast was absolute chaos with everyone running around like headless chickens, i was asked what i would like, i asked for 2 pieces of bacon, poached egg, toast and some mushrooms but no tomatoes, what did i get no bacon, poached egg which was the size of a 50 pence piece, 1 mushroom, a triangle of toast that was gone in one bite and tomatoes, a total shambles. This hotel is in a good location for bars and shops, the concierge were great but too many rules and regulations and over priced for what you got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerB, General Manager at Brooks Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear LHE16

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Brooks. At the outset I am sorry that you found there were many rules and regulations. Regarding a dress code, we don’t actually address this directly with guests although we have a reference to it in the room directory where we recommend guests dress smart casual. This would be quite the norm in a four or five star hotel. Regarding the Tab set up for you by your company ;We would always follow the direction of the company and pass this information on to guests. I do apologise that breakfast service seemed chaotic, on occasion guests can all come to together to the dining room and it may take time to serve everyone promptly. The chicken on the A La Carte is priced at €21 and was both Irish and organic and I am sorry that it was not up to your expectations and you felt the portion size small. We generally get positive feedback on the food both at dinner and breakfast and I am only sorry that we did not reach our normal high standards on this occasion. I am glad that you found the hotel well located and hope that you will consider returning as I have no doubt that we can deliver on food and standards for your next visit. I would very much welcome meeting with you as we truly do strive to ensure our guests feel they are getting value and are happy with their stay and I hope we get the opportunity to do this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brooks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel

Address: 59-63 Drury Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#9 Family Hotel in Dublin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Brooks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.