We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Globetrotters Tourist Hostel to your Saves list
Globetrotters Tourist Hostel
46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“fab for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

stayed here with a group of girlfriends in March during the 6 nations (Ireland Wales weekend). the hostel was full but it didnt stop the front of desk people being really friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was crazy due to sheer numbers but the staff did a fab job of serving people as quick as they could.

The room we had we in the roof of the building and is basically an apartment with a walk in wardrobe! we all loved it!

We had a great stay and would definately return.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — long queues for breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    24
    10
    11
See reviews for
7
24
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

Globetrotters in Dublin is divided into a Hostel side and at a seperate enterance "Townhouse" B & B. We stayed on the Townhouse side. The room was very nice- although it took quite a while for the hot water to reach the shower. The breakfast room is shared with the Hostel and can get quite busy. The breakfast is really good,especially if you compare it to the breakfasts provided at most Hostels. The Townhouse interior is really very pretty and the smoking patio is nicely landscaped. The Guests rooms are named after the plays written by the former owner. A nice bit of whimsy.
The only downside had nothing to do with the Townhouse or it's staff. We were there when Kerry was playing Cork in the football finals [go Kerry!] and the neighborhood got a little rowdy late, late at night. At 3AM a guest thought it would be fun at set off the Fire Extinguisher in the hall- which also set off the alarm breifly. Those guests were politely exjected into the cold Dublin night. The Staff were very polite through it all.

  • Liked — The Breakfast
  • Disliked — The noisy neighborhood
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

I stayed in the Globetrotter for 4 nights on a short trip to Dublin and I absolutely loved it. The beds were very confortable and the extra space provided for bagagge allows it for budget travellers to feel a lot more at home than at other hostels. The breakfast was fantastic in taste, plenty and, due to the late opening hours of the kitchen (10am), even party-goers can have a good start of the day. I stayed at the Avalon hostel the last time, and can only say the Globetrotter is a lot better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Just got back from staying at the globetrotters in Dublin. I stayed for one night and it was enough. Dublin that is.
The hostel itself is located on lower marsh st. Where quite a lot of other hostels/ B&B's are.
On entry the hostel seems to be really run down. The guy who checked me in wasnt very happy and im guessing was really tired as he was yawning none stop! Check-in isnt till 2pm but you can leave bags in the baggage room. The room was clean and the beds were great. Only problem was the bathroom. There is only one bathroom per dorm and no locks on the bathroom door. If your just one person its pretty hard to not have someone walk in on you. Also the fact it was a 12 person dorm the wait to use the bathroom can be quite long.
brekafast in the hostel is included in the price and is good.
Nothing really special about this hostel to make me go back though. Some people told me the Marlborogh st. hostel is a much better choice.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — the check-in staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

this place was fine, clean and professional, but not very friendly or cozy. the included breakfast is very filling, and the bus to the airport stops right out front. the only problem is in large dorms, where up to 10 people have to share one private bathroom.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

Clean & comfortable room, really good breakfast, very good location (town centre close and transport links, in case u want to go out to howth or somewhere else), nice staff. the only thing that was bad was that, i was sharing a room with around 6 other people, and there was no lock on the shower roomdoor. each shared room has a toilet, sink and shower, but although there is a lock on the door to the loo, there is no lock on the door for when you go to the shower, and it is a clear paned shower.... i had a friend guard the door from outside so no-one would walk in on me! apart from that, id definately recommend the place.

  • Liked — simplicity
  • Disliked — no lock on shower room door
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

This is hands down the greatest hostel in Ireland if not europe. I stayed there for 4 nights and I can not think of one single complaint. The rooms are very clean, spacious and have very very comfortable beds that the staff changes your sheets and maks it for you every day. The breakfast is a huge money saver and is fantastic. They give you eggs, bangers, rashers, beans, fruit, scones, toast, jam, tea, coffe, tomatoes, cereal, i could keep going but you get the point. Anywho the location is fantastic as well like 2 blocks from the GPO . I walked to Parnell square, Grafton St, Trinity College etc. Also it is 2 blocks, other direction, from the Connolly train station, so if you plan on heading up north after your stay its an even bigger plus. The atmosphere is great for young travellers met quite a few people that I went out to see the city with or went out to the pubs with. Each room has a number code to get in so there is no worry loosing your key and the outside door is locked as well during the night and you must be buzzed in to get down to the bedroom areas so the security is great as well. The rooms give you pently of room with a big pull out drawer that you can fit your stuff in, a reading lamp and a place to hang your clothes. Each room with about 10-12 bunks has a toilet and a shower which are very clean and I never had a problem gettin hot water wheter i was showering at 9am or 9pm. Im not one to endorse many places or products but when you get a place like this so far from home you have to let the word out.

  • Liked — The beds, and food.
  • Disliked — Internet acess was free but only 1 computer and i went down twice when i was there
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globetrotters Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters Tourist Hostel

Address: 46 - 48 Gardiner Street Lower, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Globetrotters Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotters Tourist Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globetrotters Tourist Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.