We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“single traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Liffey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Liffey to your Saves list
Inn on the Liffey
21 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“single traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My first time at the inn was made very pleasant by the friendly staff. The rooms are small but very clean and well kept. This was the last week in august and as I had two different bookings over the course of a week I had a double room for the first part and a single for the second. Both were fine. If you can request a room at the back it would be best as the front room had street noise from the open window. The full buffet breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food. Location is excellent as it is right across the river from Temple Bar where you spend the evening. It is close to all major sights. A good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Away from street is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
21
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I am a crossdresser and I am shocked at one of your reviews from some American.I visit this B&B often as I can express my self.
I find it upsetting that some bloody Yank can criticise CDs and even goes on to say it is all old people who frequent the sauna.
I must remind this guy that according to Irish law it is forbidden to discriminate on age and rightly so.
I stay there maybe 3 times a year and have been for 10 years or so when I am in Dublin.He goes on to criticise the colour of the rooms.
What a plonker for if he pays what I do 65€ what does he want the Ritz?
I have always found staff friendly and helpful the place clean and a brilliant breakfast with free Wifi and all in the heart of Dublin.
There is no way of pleasing some some people and all for 60 or so Euro,and I think people who discriminate on age and cross dressing should not be welcome in this establishment.
I bet the staff are glad to see the back of him not so long ago people thought the way he now thinks about Gay people

Disgusted

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Have stayed at Inn on the Liffey many times over last 10yrs. My latest was a 4 night stay in March 2013.
I have never before written a review, but I am so annoyed to see the unfair negative reviews on this site, that I have been moved to present my views.
The en-suite room was warm, clean, nicely decorated and pleasantly furnished.
Staff are friendly and helpful, and breakfast is superb. Dining room warm and pleasant.
Only negative is the gay sauna (free admission) which is past its sell-by - but like gay saunas the world over, if you hit the right time, you can have horny encounters ... or maybe you'd rather pay 23 euros to go to the BoilerHouse sauna, or 10 euros to sex shop cinema, where you're still not guaranteed to 'score'.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you want from your stay - they will advise an appropriate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked 6 days in this guesthouse. I chose it due to the website, however I did not see anything that was posted on the website. My stay was late Jan 2013, There is little or no heat for most of the day. My room was COLD. The breakfast was good but there was no heat in the dining room. My shower was disgusting it had BLACK MOLD and alot of it. Not sure why the decorator painted everything PINK. Now the Sauna, what a miserable place. the steam room was noted by request only. the clientele was senior citizen not to mention the drag queens that we in the sauna. Overall on a scale of 1-10 it gets a -2.

Room Tip: Book another location, I got an email from the Owner and he said it was a 3-5 Star location, NOT EVE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

i stayed there recently it was very cheap but when you see what your getting you see why the hot water will scald you the walls are paper thin breakfast was ok but the real turn off was the sauna ok we know its a gay sauna thats why i went but shock horror the steam room was closed sign says by request but from the smell of the room it hasnt been used in many many months the porn shown on the tvs had novolume and a drunk guy that came in was snoring like a train and thats all you could hear they advertise that you get condoms and lube but alas there was none in locker and attendant said nothing
to end this lads STAY AWAY go to the boiler hiuse across the river its superior

Room Tip: dont go there go elsewhere southside superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Tired, jaded and badly in need of a revamp! Second time I have stayed here and it has deteriorated loads. Reception staff were reasonably pleasant but the guy in charge of breakfast was truly miserable! Went through the motions of providing a service and everything was too much effort. A pity - because last time, some years ago, the woman on duty was a delightful character! All rooms are smoking too - which means if you are on the top floor you would surely get all the smoke from adjoining rooms if occupied by smokers. A place to avoid...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed there last month and for70€ I think this is an absolute bargain.I got an unsuite room a breakfast that is better than a 3 star hotel and even Sauna was free.I had a room overlooking the Liffey mind. But it never stopped raining.
I would like to say a big thank you to the staff who where very pleasent.The only complaint I would have is the clientel where old in the Sauna but can't blame B& B for this.How any one can say this is not value for money is beyond me.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Liffey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Liffey

Address: 21 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Liffey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Liffey Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Liffey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.