We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you want to party in Dublin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riverhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Riverhouse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 24 Eustace Street | Temple Bar Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok if you want to party in Dublin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights April 2013. great place if you're on a budget and plan on clubbing. Would not recommend if you want to get a good sleep. We were in a front room, which was VERY loud.
It had a few things that needed attention, r.e maintenance that would not be difficult to fix, this was disappointing as it just felt as if the owners didn't care. Overall it was clean and acceptable for the low price. If you want luxury, look elsewhere.
The location is excellent, however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    33
    34
    79
See reviews for
6
54
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked into this place had to be worst then a nightmare,most dirtiest disgusting rudest staffed place i have ever been...Pictures are lies mold and dirt of the rooms slept in my full set of clothes.Got rudely awaken at 7am constant banging on the door and when notified the staff the next morning as slept in the depart times the staff x3 stood there telling me it was my fault and sneering you only pay for what you get and this is certainly the lowest of the low

ITS A HEALTH HAZARD....Would rather dip my hands in acid then EVER STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else....Keep Away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights during March, last month, and it was a truly horrendous experience. We arrived to find a girl collapsed in the middle of the hall. On viewing the pictures of the hotel rooms on the internet it seemed basic, but good for the price. However i was mistaken. There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling (which was made of cardboard) the lights were hanging off the walls & there was no bulb in 1 of the only 3 lights in the place! The room was so tiny it became claustrophobic and the window wouldnt even stay open so we couldnt get any air into the place. There was an unpleasant smell of damp in the room, paper thin walls so a good nights sleep was out of the question. The tv was like something from an antique shop which we had to wire ourselves, had 3 channels and no remote. There werent even key cards for the rooms its was so old fashioned, stuck in a timewarp and definitelt in need of an update! The phone in the room didnt work and there was no proper wardrobe. This hotel depicts a false picture of itself online, and i would avoid it again at all costs!!!!

Room Tip: There are no tips. DONT GO HERE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for a night last December as I was going out for work Christmas party. I had looked it up in advance and thought the rooms & bathroom looked ok and would be cheap and cheerful.
But unfortunately that was not the case at all.

The staff at reception were quite pleasant.

The corridor to where my room was went by the back of the pub and the toilets linked to the pub and the stink was something else. The noise didnt bother me too much.
Then I had to trek up the stairs which had the most awful stains on them (photos will follow!!)
I then arrived at my room. It was small which wasnt a problem. The bathroom was awful. There was a huge hole in the roof that looked like there had been an extractor fan once upon a time and it was now gone but no one had bothered to fill in the hole.
The shower was quite powerful but the head wasn't on properly so water spewed in every direction. Unlike the photos on their page I had a shower curtain and no shower door so the place was quite wet afters.
There were funny stains everywhere and a few other holes in the walls.
The bed was really tiny even for a single. The sheets were a bit suspect as regards their cleaness!
And you defo would not be walking anywhere in your bare feet.
Manky is the only word you could use.
Got woken at 6 in the morning with the bottle bins been emptied outside but I didnt mind that too much its to be expected location wise.
I did feel even though I'd only paud €50 that it was a €50 badly spent!
Don't think I could face staying there again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in one of their apartments at this hotel this weekend and although it was described as basic nothing could have prepared us for how absolutely vile this hotel is. It smells of what can only be described as a mixture of urine and vomit and upon arrival at our room the door had literally, at some point, been kicked open and was held back together with glue. The inside was even worse. There are huge holes all over one wall, the toilet comes away from the wall by a foot every time you sit on it, the shower doors did not shut therefore they spray water throughout the room and to top it off you couldn't get in one bathroom as the carpet was ripped to shreds and blocked the door. There are very questionable stains on every wall and even on the ceilings and there is mould growing up the netting and curtains. Even better the hotel seemed to think it was appropriate to charge an extortionate amount for the privledge of staying here and were utterly rude when we complained. The ONLY thing this hotel had going for it was the location. Photo's to be uploaded asap!

Room Tip: Go to Blooms instead! Cheaper and very clean, better located and polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location if going to see a show as its smack bam in temple bar! Price was ok for a cheap ish night out in dublin city! But nothing was clean the carpets really need to b updated r just a good clean! Walls were filthy on way to room and in room! Bed wasn't the cleanest or the bathroom which there were dirty towels given to us! Yeh it was a great price but i was definately afraid to walk around bare footed!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good location but my box room that wasn’t the cleanest. And they don’t like you bringing back visitors either. Under no circumstances will reception (which is open 24 hours) allow non-guests upstairs. They need not be so concerned about non-paying guests staying though – seriously, that bed wasn’t even big enough for one person and even if there was enough floor space, I don’t think anyone would want to take any chances by sleeping on it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Hotel

Address: 23 - 24 Eustace Street | Temple Bar Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverhouse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Dublin
Riverhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.