We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

stayed here 22 feb 2014
upon arrival the staff were very pleasant and friendly, fresh warm cookies when checking in were just the ticket and the start of a totally great hotel stay. the whole place is very modern and contemporary with song lyrics in the lift and on the wall in my room. comfy bed and pillows, mellow lighting, mini bar, complimentary bottled water, central location its all here. this hotel ticked all my boxes so much so i have signed up for the hilton honors loyalty scheme. i will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Barry M,

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, it was a pleasure to read. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and have enrolled to become a Hilton Honors members, hopefully soon you will be able to enjoy the benefits of being a member such as complimentary upgrades, fast speed wifi, complimentary breakfast and much more.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff being friendly and efficient, we, as a team, work very hard to meet and exceed our guests expectations so thank you for the acknowledgement.
It was also lovely to read that you liked the new design of the hotel and you enjoyed your room.

Thank you so much again for your time and I hope to welcome you back very soon,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    296
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
124
495
44
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and very much enjoyed the stay. The warm cookies on arrival were a nice touch. The reception was very modern and our room was on the third floor overlooking a garden. Even though it was close to the Temple Bar pubs, etc we weren't disturbed by noise. The room was very comfortable with purple lighting, a big bed and good facilities. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the restaurant - they do a delicious bloody mary!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Gladtobehome08,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Morrison, I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you may be aware we underwent a full refurbishment last year and we are continuously working hard to maintain the high standards we adhere to, so it was nice to see that you liked the new decor and enjoyed your delicious Doubletree cookie on arrival.

We are very lucky with regards to our location, we are very central yet far enough from the hustle and bustle of Templebar so noise is not a big issue for our guests.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the bar and restaurant, our bloody mary's are indeed delicious, I am so glad it was to your liking.

Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcomming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

From start to fininsh I could not fault our stay. My finance got a nights stay as a surprise for us for valentines weekend. From when we entered the hotel to when we left the staff were amazing. We were given a warm cookie on arrival (compliments of the hotel), complimentary bottles of water in the room. It's like they thought of everything...robes & slippers in the wardrobes. The staff at each stage were nothing but helpful. The breakfast the next morning....AMAZING. The choice was endless with omlettes, eggs benedict and pancakes (to mention just a few) all cooked fresh & made to order. There was something for everyone. Hotel very centrally located. Would highly recommend the hotel and will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear OConball,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Morrison Hotel, it was a pleasure to read.

I am so glad you and your partner enjoyed Valentines day with us, your comments regarding our staff were very kind and I will be sure to pass them onto our team, we are dedicated to providing excellent customer service and so it was a welcome read and to know our efforts paid off.

We are very conscious of making the hotel as comfortable and convenient as possible for our guests and this is why we provide everything we think our guests might need in their guest rooms, from robes and slippers to our Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, complimentary bottles of water and free wifi access.

I was also happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, we are very proud of our breakfast offering, We only use the highest quality ingredients and believe by offering an A La Carte menu as well as our buffet we are ensuring there is something for everyone.

I will also be sure to pass your compliments onto the staff as I am sure they will appreciate your comments.

Thank you so much again for your time and I do hope to welcome you both back in the very near future,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

.... First bite of our chocolate cookie! Staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms are stunning modern, attractive, and have all the mod cons you require. Perfectly located for everything you'd need in Dublin including Temple Bar and the shopping district! Only downside is that the room faced onto a main road and it was a tad noisy but nothing too bad. Would stay again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Karl B,

Thank you for your review of the Morrison Hotel, we appreciate the time it takes to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular that you liked our new decor. We underwent a full refurbishment this time last year and we are continuously working to maintain the hotel to the very highest of standards.

I am also glad you enjoyed our location also, we are very fortunate to be so centrally located, within walking distance of almost all tourist attractions and shopping areas in the city.

I am very sorry you had some noise issues from traffic on the quays, should you be returning to us please do not hesitate to request a quiet room with an inner courtyard view or to have a higher floor. We are lucky that we do not generally have noise issues however if you do experience noise issues our front desk team would be happy to assist you in moving to another room and can be contacted 24 hours.

Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we looked at the outside and thought oh dear! However as soon as we got inside we completely changed our opinions. Inside the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the reception and whole of the hotel are spotless. Most rooms have been recently renovated and are very modern.
Overall we were very impressed, don't let the outside appearance put you off

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Karl P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Morrison Hotel.

It was lovely to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, our team works hard to provide excellent customer service so I will be sure to pass on your compliments.
Thank you also for mentioning that you found the hotel to be spotless, our accommodation team are continuously working to maintain a very high standard and so they will be delighted to read your review.

The hotel underwent a full refurbishment last year and I am glad you liked the new decor, as you mentioned it is quite modern yet we feel it is also comfortable and we provide all amenities we feel a guest may need during their stay.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to welcome you back very soon,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This location is great. Close to shopping, close to temple bar, a short walk to Guinness and janesons, the castle and the cathedral, can't beat it. The staff is friendly and helpful, music in the bar on some nights. The only drawback is the breakfast eggs either runny or overlooked omelette.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Ted R,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience with us, we appreciate your feedback.

I am so glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we are very luck to be so centrally located and within walking distance of all the major attractions Dublin has to offer, as you so kindly mentioned. Thank you also for mentioning our staff, we work hard as a team to provide excellent customer service so I will be sure to pass on your comments. Our bar, Quay 14, does indeed have live music every Friday and Saturday night and I hope you enjoyed it.

Regarding the eggs, I have passed your comments onto our chef to investigate further, we generally receive very good feedback from breakfast and so I am sorry you were disappointed with the eggs, please, if you are returning to us, be sure to mention any issues to the breakfast staff who will be more than happy to assist you with any requests.

Again thank you for your time and I hope to welcome you back very soon,

Kind Regards,

Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked the Morrison for the Ireland v Wales Rugby game. The rooms, food and staff were great - thoroughly recommend it. My only small quibble is the bed was a little hard for us but that may be a personal choice and wouldn't stop us staying there again. Thank you to the amazing bar staff who put up with us into the small wee hours of the morning and the chefs for the amazing buffet breakfast to keep us going throughout the day!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Grainne S,

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Morrison Hotel, we appreciate all guest feedback as it is our most valued tool in continuously improving and providing excellent customer service.

I was so glad to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all. I will also pass your comments to the bar staff and also the breakfast chef.

I am sorry you found the bed to be a little hard, during our recent refurbishment every room was fitted with brand new beds and we also have installed mattress toppers for added comfort. I do hope this did not affect your overall experience at the hotel and should you be returning to us we would be more than happy to assist in providing extra blankets/mattress toppers for maximum comfort.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back soon,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants,bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the River. Henry St & Jervis St Shopping areas are on the hotels doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The O2 (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite Fitness Room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Gril & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.