We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel that is within walking distance to everything in dublin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #8 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel that is within walking distance to everything in dublin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Morrison. Its a hotel that truly is within walking distance to everything you want to see in Dublin! Its a very comfortable hotel with the best hotel breakfast I ever had. The breakfast room is interestingly decorated but the food was amazing! The rooms are clean and good size and they offer King size beds!!! This is a great place to stay Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    251
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
103
417
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I have always stayed in another hotel when we visited Dublin. We decided to try something different and I chose the Morrison because of its affiliation with Hilton. We were not disappointed. It's now our new favorite place to stay.

I can't really add anything new to what others have said but I will reiterate. The hotel is fairly contemporary and modern in style. We stayed in a junior suite on the fourth floor. It was spacious and the bathroom was very nice with a separate walk-in shower. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had no issues with noise. The gym was not huge but well equipped.

Finally the location is great and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Travelled with my wife to Dublin in January and we stayed at the Morrison for 5 nights.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Right across Temple Bar and there's a fantastic shopping district right behind the hotel. There's a mall a stone's throw away and plenty of restaurants across the bridge on the other side. The Luas (tram) is also right behind the hotel and within walking distance - it brings you to most of the main attractions in Dublin. There's really nothing you can fault with the location.

Rooms were decent and so was the bathroom. The bath does feel a little dated and but it's nothing serious. I like the colour combination within the room and they have this little quote on the wall which is a nice touch (though mine had a spelling mistake). The bed is comfortable, air conditioning really efficient and amenities in the bathroom good. One complain would be the lack of a shower head but rather, the bath is fixed with a "rainforest shower". House keeping was also very efficient with the cleaning and they did a good job.

Customer service in the hotel was also good. You'd always be greeted whenever you leave/enter the hotel. Staff will smile at you all the time and ask about your day. This really made the stay very comfortable and warm and we both enjoyed it a lot. The front desk staff did a good job at check-in and check-out, and were fairly knowledgeable in hotel vicinity as they knew where to eat and drink and shop. Kudos to them!

I would return to this hotel. The warm service and fantastic location are too compelling to give it a miss. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business last night and cannot fault the place. Rooms are spacious with free wifi and flat screen TV. Didn't eat here but had a few drinks in the bar which had a nice atmosphere and a good selection of drinks. The gym was standard size for a hotel but all top end equipment and as good as you will see in any hotel.
Location wise was excellent near all attractions and temple bar area. Only slight negative would be it can be noisy late at night due to the central location and it is pricey but if you can afford it then go for it !

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a BA deal, it was a great choice...superb position very short walk across a bridge to the Main Street shopping centre, with a short walk thro the temple bar area. Did not need a car at all, although the car park with preferential rates was just round the corner all that was needed was for the reception to stamp car park ticket.
The hotel was very contemporary clean, and lively it had live music on the Friday night.
Breakfast was superb, everything looked and tasted homemade, the jam, bread, warm bacon and cheese muffins, wonderful!!! excellent selection of everything. can recommend the eggs Benedict which was at no extra cost the staff were very friendly and helpful, service was slick
One of the best hotels in the world we have stayed at, definitely recommend it

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Jap5,

Thank you so much for your very nice review of the hotel, your compliments were a pleasure to read and I have passed on you review to the team as I am sure they will appreciate it.

I am glad you enjoyed our expansive breakfast offering and also that you availed of the a la carte menu and choose the eggs benedict. We are very proud of our breakfast and believe we offer something for everyone without comprimising on quality.
I was also especially pleased to see that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and service 'slick', the highest compliments we could receive so thank you for that.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future and again would like to thank you for you time in posting this review,

Kindest Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice hotel but recent money spent on it was not spent in the best way possible. The room with facilities for a disabled person could not be found by staff - tried 4 rooms before eventually getting the right one. The room for a disvbled person is not fitted out with any great thought of what a disbaled person really needs in their room. Many improvements could be made to the room. The wadrobe space is ridiculously small and one door of the wadrobe cannot be opened fully becuse it is too close to the main bedroom door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday with our daughters and partners. We had a great time and found the hotel facilities and location were ideal for our stay. We particularly liked that breakfast was available until 12 noon and also checkout was at midday. Loved the cookies and the shower was possibly the best ever!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarionOC13, Guest Relations Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Fran B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Morrison Hotel, It was a pleasure to read and we appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel for your husbands 60th birthday, I sincerely hope he had a great time also. Thank you for mentioning our 12noon check out time and extended weekend breakfast until 12 noon also, we understand guests come to the hotel to relax so a nice lie in helps! I was happy to see that you enjoyed the shower too, we all need a good, high pressure shower to wake up in the mornings so thanks for your comments.

I do hope we will welcome you back again in the very near future,

Kind Regards,

Marion O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#8 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants,bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the River. Henry St & Jervis St Shopping areas are on the hotels doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The O2 (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite Fitness Room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Gril & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.