We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel) (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #9 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Victoria BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is located conveniently between Temple Bar and a large shopping area. I had a room with a nice view of the river. I did hear a bit of late-night noise, but it didn't bother me too much. The room was spotless, never a wait for the elevator and lunch in the hotel was really good. One interesting thing is that when you turn the TV on, it is personalized with the guest's name. Oddly, mine had some man's name-- which was kind of weird! I wondered if my name was showing up on somebody else's TV! I have to admit I found the light system all a little complicated-- though I've noticed more and more hotels are installing these.

The on/off bus stop is just a few blocks away, and the airport bus is probably a 10-12 minute walk away. It runs frequently and is much less expensive than a taxi.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    191
    29
    13
    3
See reviews for
80
311
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at The Morrison recently for 4 nights. This was the first time we had been back since the renovation. What brings us back to The Morrison is the location -central yet quiet; the ambiance - relaxed, very friendly yet private and intimate. Bit of a character change from the renovation and comes across more like the Hilton Chain than a private hotel as it seemed previously. In some ways I preferred it in its previous guise but there is no doubt that the renovation has created a more modern,cleaner, more sophisticated setting. We had a great stay and will return again. The staff are lovely and this is a great, relaxed place to stay. Request a room with a river view if you want to spend time relaxing in your room. Only criticism is that the modern seating in the reception area is prettier than it is functional!

Room Tip: River view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Opened the door and my wife was stunned. We had stayed in a five-star in London that was not this nice. The decor was great, the room spotless, and, like most people have already said, location was great, across from the Temple Bar area, but not so close you had a lot of noise. We got upgraded from a river view room to a deluxe, but we lost the view. Not that we were in the room gazing out the window a lot, so doesn't affect the overall. Walked to most of the venues, friendly taxi service or horse-drawn carriage to the rest. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view, don't go with the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

the hotel is like a business hotel...it was kind of them to upgrade us ...the location was excellent central to city attractions and all the party places, also several intimate and gourmet restaurants around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is review is comparable to the others. This hotel was in a great location, and all the amenities needed were in place and the bed was comfortable. There was a delicious warm cookie served while we waited for our room, which was a short wait and it was also an early checkin. The reception desk took care of our taxi for us for departure to the airport and it worked out perfectly.

No complaints here whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Morrison is in a great location in Dublin. We took the bus from the Dublin Airport and you get dropped off maybe 5 blocks from the hotel using the bus. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. My wife and I walked everywhere from the hotel. Michael Collins barracks/Guiness factory were the furthest walk and took us less than a half hour to reach both. Temple Bar district is a quick walk over a bridge across the street from the hotel. The hotel knew we were on our honeymoon and left us chocolates in the room. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but had drinks there. The bartender was very friendly. We wanted some pizza after drinks and since she was getting off work walked us to the pizza place nearby!

If the street noise (our room was facing the street) was less we would rate this as a 5. However, even with the low street noise we would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Another very good Doubletree experience. Stayed here 2 nights in early October/13 at the end of a 21 day journey. The warm cookie was a nice reception along with very helpful staff at check-in.
Hotel is very conveniently located near city center. The room was very clean, nice large towels and a very comfortable bed. The staff was really friendly during our stay which added a great memory to finish our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants,bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the River. Henry St & Jervis St Shopping areas are on the hotels doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The O2 (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite Fitness Room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Gril & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.