We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Penthouse Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel) (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #7 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Penthouse Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Double tree has surpassed it's standards. This is a truly remarkable experience, chilling with the bose surround sound playing softly in each room of your choice. Soaking in a bath that can fit three while enjoying a good glass of the fine stuff and then as the day turns into night walking out on to the balcony and seeing Dublin lit up with the river down below.

Quality in every part of the suite and attention to detail in a way that just cries out excellence, nothing has been left unnoticed, no dust or dirt anywhere. Just one very well choreographed suite that is kept to the highest standards with a cheeky Nespresso machine to give it the finishing touch.

The staff surpass themselves, again nothing is too much effort and they pride themselves in the knowledge of the town and where to go as well as the hotel and all of the facilities including the interaction of the smart screen TV's, blu ray and Bose.

Looking forward to our next stay in a truly remarkable place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Gary288_74,

It was great to read your wonderful review of our hotel following your stay with us in our Penthouse Suite. It is a unique experience given its views of the city and the very high level of comfort we have managed to furnish the room with.

I was also very pleased to learn of your positive staff experiences - we have a great team of friendly, dedicated individuals here and I know that they will be very appreciative of your kind words.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future and look forward to hopefully having the opportunity to do so.

With kind regards,

Patrick Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    204
    32
    14
    4
See reviews for
89
335
33
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As a first-timer to Dublin, not much more could have been better about our stay at the Morrison. The location is absolutely ideal. It's in walking distance to every major site, but just far enough away to pass on the bustle of over-touristy streets (i.e. Temple Bar). Customer service was great, the rooms large and very well kept, and the cookies at the front desk were delicious! Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Casablanca298,

Many thanks for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay and for sharing these with the online community.

It was great to read that the hotel delivered on so many aspects of your time here, from location to our great team of staff to the high comfort levels in the hotel & I hope you will choose us if you are back in Dublin again.

With kind regards,

Patrick Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's the first time for me that the hotel adv. pictures looks less good then the actual.
Special place, good service which includes all the little things which make your stay special - The welcome cookies, the water at the room, the smart TV and more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear RachelMS,

It was great to read your recent review and to know that the hotel delivered above and beyond that as promised on our website. We are delighted with our recent refurbishment and to know that it made your stay along with the extra such as our new Smart TV's is great feedback to receive.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon and thanks again,

Kind regards,

Patrick Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Morrison, and couldnt recommend it highly enough.
The staff we all lovely and friendly and made our stay seemless with their proficient service. the welcome cookie is a nice touch too!
The location is great, right on the river in the middle of town, so everything is within walking distance.
The Quay 14 bar is very good, offering a wide selection of drinks and a very impressive cocktail menu. the food is good too.
The room was excellent, large with a huge bed to crash out on!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Gavin J,

Many thanks for your review following your stay with us. Myself and all the team were delighted to read of how much you enjoyed your time with us and in particular your super comments in relation to our bar, Quay 14 and our new bespoke cocktail menu.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future and thank you for having chosen us in the first instance.

Kind regards,

Patrick Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Morrison for seven nights, based mostly on the stellar reviews on Trip Advisor. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. Paul checked us in - and being Hilton Gold, we expected and deserved an available upgrade. (According to HHonor's policy.) Paul stated that "executive rooms are for the guests who PAY for that upgrade - and they are reserved for business customers." Sorry, Paul, but that is NOT Hilton Honors policy. When we told him that we were willing to change rooms if a better room became available over the length of our stay, he later that day suggested a room change - to a SMALLER room! Unbelievable! Our stay went down from there.
This remodel, which has been touted as making the hotel so much better than it was, is a case of FORM over function. This is a pretentious mess of a hotel. Examples? I have MANY. The lobby LOOKED fairly inviting, until you realized there is really no comfortable place to sit. The business center, which is standard these days in Hilton properties, is ONE computer and ONE printer on a book shelf in the lobby - at which you must STAND - in the open lobby - BY THE FRONT DOOR - to access and use. No, I'm not kidding. If there is another business center for their "business guests" - we certainly were not made aware of it. The room we were in, room 229, had a LONG worthless hallway IN THE ROOM, and a HUGE bathroom which was almost useless, not to mention very, very dangerous! Why? Glad you asked. The floors of the bathroom are ceramic 12-inch tiles which, even when dry, were slippery ALL THE TIME! In your bare or "sock feet" - they were an ice skating rink. When wet, they were even worse. The sink was huge - with a tiny faucet which leaked non-stop - and when you tried to rinse your hands, the water just rushed up onto the counter because of the faucet's position on the sink. The bathroom also had one of those DEEP tubs that are scary to try to get in and out of! There was very little water pressure, which was made even worse because of the "rain shower" NON-adjustable shower head. There was no "American-style" plug-in receptacle in the whole room, which is unusual for a recently updated hotel. There were only two places to plug in a hairdryer or places to style your hair, which were outside of the bathroom of course. But there were NO MIRRORS by the plug-ins. Instead, they had a pretentious "saying" on the wall. Form over function. GIVE ME A MIRROR SO I CAN STYLE MY HAIR, please and forget the prose! There were "trendy" little uncomfortable chairs instead of a couch in the room, and no bureau drawers for your clothes. This room had a closet and a lame little pull out drawer from the desk that was - no exaggeration, less than two inches deep. Again - not kidding. There was water damage to an entire piece of floor molding which gave the room a run-down look. Another example of "form over function"?? They tie a ribbon around ONE bath towel, ONE hand towel, and have ONE wash towel in the bathroom - for TWO people. They have another "ribbon tied" set above the closet outside the bathroom. Really? Forget the ribbon and simply GIVE me enough towels! In the BATHROOM! There was no ice maker on ANY floor. You had to order ice to be sent to your room, which we TRIED to do at 6:00 p.m. the first night we were there. It never came. Now, you may be wondering if we made the hotel staff aware of our displeasure. We did within 30 minutes of arriving. When we went downstairs to start sightseeing, Paul asked us how we liked our room. I asked him if he REALLY wanted to know. He said he did. He took notes on everything I mentioned in this review, and then changed nothing. He said he would "pass along" the concerns to the hotel manager. The manager didn't contact us.
Now - there were some good things about the hotel. Location was great. Beds were fine - but with small, bad pillows. The housekeeping staff did a good job. The breakfast was fantastic - and we received friendly and efficient service from Valeria every morning. She deserves a raise! Daniel at the front desk was friendly and helpful during our stay. Our check out was easy.
I guess we expected too much - like an upgrade for Gold HHonors and a "livable" room that did more than simply LOOK good. Think twice before you stay here. You will be treated better - for far less - at Bewleys.

Room Tip: Don't expect an upgrade just because you are Hilton Gold. Ask to speak to Patrick Joyce (genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear MandMIdaho,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us and for also corresponding with me directly. This has allowed us to work through the issues you experienced and afforded me the opportunity to explain some of the reasons behind them.

During our refurbishment we did put a lot of thought into how the rooms would work for our guests as the hotel is 2 buildings joined together. As such we did not manage to always achieve identical sized or shaped rooms but I think this is what endears many guests to us, in that our rooms are to a high standard and offer all the comforts expected while remaining individual also. I have of course viewed the picture of the skirting board and agree this is absolutely unacceptable and was addressed immediately when brought to my attention. A repair as scheduled did not happen but it is fair to say that this should not have been the experience of any guest and I sincerely apologise for our oversight in this regard.

On the matter of the upgrade as a Hilton Gold guest, I am sorry we could not upgrade up on the day of your arrival. As you know, all upgrades are subject to availability & on the day of your arrival we simply could not accommodate the upgrade which I agree is unfortunate. Having looked into this further, I know Marion our Asst. Reception Manager did contact you the next day offering you a complimentary upgrade to one of our Deluxe rooms for your remaining 6 nights with us & to show it to you, but this was declined.

I was pleased to read that aspects of your stay such as the staffs interaction and our food offering were to a high standard and thank you for having allowed me the opportunity to respond to your post.

With kindest regards

Patrick Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and could easily walk everywhere - great location! I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends and family. Something to be aware of is that the standard twin room is small; but, luckily, we were upgraded to a larger twin room tucked away so we didn't get much noise from the hallway but there was some street noise. The breakfast was very good - the best we had in four 4 or 5 star hotels all over Ireland. The staff were very good at addressing quickly to any issues we had. Overall, a great 4-star hotel especially since other 4 star hotels we stayed at were at best comparable to a 3-star hotel by American standards. The hotel decor reminded me of the W Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear katrin72h,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and for your overall very positive experience.

It was great to read of the many aspects of the hotel which pleased you from our staff thru to our breakfast offering and to know we are getting these things right is fantastic.

I hope you will visit us again when next in Dublin,

Kind regards,

Patrick Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel was excellent and well appointed. However, a couple of things let it down such as poor water pressure in the shower head (water only came out of half of it and at a trickle), the AC did not function properly and the TV seemed to have interference from the wi-fi it emitted for your hand held devices.

It was very well located with the Jervis Shopping Centre only a few minutes away and other shops such as Arnotts and Debenhams. Our room overlooked the Liffey River and also you could see over to the Temple Bar area which was only 5 minutes walk over several handy foot bridges.

Breakfast was lavish with the ability to order from a menu, however the service was slow due to them being busy, but the buffet was sufficient. All in all a great hotel but not 5 star due to some issues.

Room Tip: Check that it has water pressure and AC functions as room 431 did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, General Manager at The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear brissytraveller_44,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. While I was pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, I am sorry that certain issues in your room impacted your overall enjoyment.

I can assure you we maintain a robust level of maintenance here at the hotel especially since our refurbishment given we wish to maintain the product to the same level going forward. We will as a result be sure to address the issues mentioned.

Thank you for your understanding and for still recommending us, it is appreciated.

With kindest regards,

Patrick Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#6 Business Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants,bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the River. Henry St & Jervis St Shopping areas are on the hotels doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The O2 (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite Fitness Room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Gril & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.