We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel) (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 178 hotels in Dublin
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in perfect walking distance to Temple Bar and other key locations in Dublin. The hotel has recently been redone and the rooms are large and comfortable. The lobby area,restaurant and bar area were also impressive but I really didn't stay there.
I have to say Daniel O'Connor may be the best hotel staff member I have met in years. He went above and beyond for us (I'm a Diamond member) in every way giving me and upgrade and my associate a new room after his had power troubles. He gave us great recommendations and even greeted us with coffee in the lobby one morning. Outstanding work!

The only negative on the hotel is that the gym is a joke. Almost no equipment, screens didn't work, etc. Fix this and you get a 5 from me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    147
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
55
237
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed four nights. Wonderful hotel. Great Location. Outstanding staffing throughout. Cannot wait to visit again. Staff truly cares for the guests and go way out of their way. Our scheduled (not though hotel) cab did not show up for an early picked up on a very cold morning. The desk agent walk to the main street to hail a cab....then stayed to assist with luggage......going way above and beyond. Staff answered questions with a smile and "you are most welcome" attitude that was REAL.

We have stayed at two other fine hotel in Dublin and while they were very nice......the DoubleTree will be our choice next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights after reopening from renovations and the rooms looked fantastic and was good value for money.
Great location, everything is in walking distance.
Staff were also very friendly.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stay in Dublin every week for work at the moment and thought it was about time I gave this new renovated hotel a chance. I stayed here pre-renovation and thought it was rather average so I was looking forward to assessing the new version.

I have to say that I am incredibly impressed with the changes. The rooms have been kitted out beautifully, with great furnishings and incredible televisions. Fantastic personal free wi-fi service and some really nice little touches. I also really like the bathrooms which feel large and clean.

Some colleagues ate in the attached grill restaurant a couple of nights ago and remarked that it was the best steak they'd had in Dublin.

Overall I'm very impressed - clean, comfortable, quiet and a good location. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Morrison has been a highlight in Dublin for years. The perfect comfortable and stylish destination. I returned post 'renovation'. The rooms have been done up in the worst way imaginable (unless you are a 5 year old girl). Rather than holding on to the previous design whoever they've brought in to do it got carried away - it's cheap and tacky. Comfortable sofa's replaced by plastic 'pleather' silver sofas; the rooms lit by neon boxes. It's trying to be something it's not. Beyond disappointing. Not at all geared towards business users. Ideal for a cheap 'hen do'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

In the hotel bar at 11.15pm we asked to order food and were presented with a menu with no vegetarian options so chose fish and chips. The waitress took our order then returned to tell us that food was only available as room service, and an even more limited selection at that. We said fine to put it on our rooms but we'd like to eat in the bar. They said no - their concern seemed to be that other people in the bar would then want to order food. But if they were hotel residents then why would it matter where they ate their food? And if they weren't residents, surely they could be told food was for residents only?

Also, the patisserie at breakfast were, if not exactly stale in the sense of being hard, then certainly not fresh. And the apples in the fruit salad had turned to mush from having been in there much too long.

Everything in the room was good though and the wi-fi was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at The Morrison during the first week of March. Hotel is located on the Liffey River and short walk to Temple Bar area. Hotel has had a complete renovation and is beautifully decorated. We had a king room and it was very spacious and comfortable. All of the staff members were great, so friendly and helpful. Kerry and Rob at the front desk really went out of their way to help us. Dinner at the Morrison Grill was great and breakfast was equally good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Dublin
Address: Lower Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Morrison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton is located in the heart of Dublin city centre along the banks of the River Liffey. Templebar & its many restaurants,bars & galleries are located 40 steps across the River. Henry St & Jervis St Shopping areas are on the hotels doorstep with Grafton St a short 10 minute stroll away. Jervis St Luas Stop located directly behind the hotel links it with the IFSC (10 minutes), The CCD (15 minutes) & The O2 (15 minutes). It also links with both city train stations Hueston & Connolly (7-10 minutes) & Dublin Bus Station. Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Distillery, Trinity College & The Book of Kells are all within walking distance. Complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel. Hotel guests can also access the onsite Fitness Room. The hotel restaurant features Dublin city centres first Josper Gril & Quay 14 features a musical inspired cocktail list. The perfect place to sip a drink or enjoy a meal as you look out onto the River Liffey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.