We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great five star hotel but could improve in the area of food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
The Merrion Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy 3 Nights Stay
Ranked #1 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great five star hotel but could improve in the area of food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed recently overnight and must say that it is an excellent hotel by any standard expected from a five star. Lots of room with an atmosphere of luxery where the staff are happy to help. As with most hotels in Ireland these days, a lot of foreign nationals on the staff but most had good communication skills. My room was spotlessly clean and service was clearly designed to make my stay special. Everything comes at a price though and you get what you pay for. Great idea to light turf fires in the evening, the smell filling the rest areas. Overall I did find the hotel a little too hot for me. I did dine in the celler restaurant of the hotel and this is the one area that was not up to scratch in my view. I had the Galway salmon starter which does not work for me. Sugar and salmon do not go together. For my main course I had the 'house fish & chips'. Both the fish and the chips were overcooked. the batter was hard and tough and I dont like mushy peas being made into a paste, just let them be mushy peas please! Desert was just ok. Not hte best dining experience I have had. I would recommend dining out in one of hte many good restaurnats close by. This was suggested to me by one of the hotel staff when I booked in but unfortunately I did not follow that advice. Overall though a great hotel to stay in if you are in Dublin for a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    209
    57
    21
    16
See reviews for
274
826
59
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Don't miss the cellar wine bar.
Good size bedroom, very quiet.
Interesting art exhibition.
The only negative point was the breakfast, a little too expensive.
Great spot for a city break

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

What a lovely hotel, great facilities and helpful friendly staff who were genuinely happy to help. Bedrooms were very comfortable and pleasantly decorated with a more traditional feel than say that of The Dylan. Would recommend a visit to the Cellar Bar even if you are not a guest at the hotel lovely interesting setting.

The only element I didn't like was that you could smell smoke throughout the hotel from the open fires in the reception and coffee areas, but hey a really minor negative point in what was a fabuolous stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

all you expect from a 5 star hotel without the "stuffy aymosphere". relaxed yet totally professional ! situated in the heart of the city this location is perfect ! nicest rooms we have ever stayed in! leaves the four seasons hotel trailing behind !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at the Merrion Hotel in Dublin last week. It is a beautiful Hotel, all the amenities you could ever want, including a heated pool. Rooms were immaculate, and included a mini bar. Location was excellent. Wood burning fireplaces all lit downstairs in the hotel, a beautiful courtyard outside with plants, trees and a wading pool. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Service was excellent, shower was excellent as were the consierge. Anything we requested wheter it be something in our room a place to eat dinner, etc was recommended and all had great service and value for what we wanted. I have no complaints. If we ever stay in Dublin again, this will be the Hotel for us.

One of the best parts was the location. Just around the corner from Saint Stephen's Green, a huge, beautiful park in Dublin. Two minutes walk to Grafton Street and maybe 5 minutes walk to the Temple Bar area. Just a superb Hotel!

You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We come over to Dublin a couple of times a year and since we first stayed at the Merrion a few years ago we haven't stayed anywhere else.
It is in a great location - just next to St Stephen's Green, it is a beautiful building with wonderful public areas. The bedrooms are large and confortable. We love the Cellar bar in the basement. There is a great swimming pool there as well.

However the best thing about the Merrion is the staff - in particular the concierges. They are incredibly welcoming and helpful. On the latest visit we particularly noted Rory the French barman in Number 23.

I only wish I could afford to stay at the Merrion more often.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastford Ct
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I am definitely returning to Dublin and to the Merrion. We stayed in the basic king room and it was grand and very well priced. Location and staff superb. I talked to the actor Gabriel Bryne who is a frequent guest. The swimming pool is lovely. The peat fire in the lounge a delight. Dublin was fun too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.