We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have stayed in so far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
The Merrion Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Dine & Dream in Luxury
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
County Louth, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have stayed in so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent hotel. The room we had was fabulous, we were complimentary upgraded to a suite to celebrate my fiancées 30th birthday! The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us! I wish we could of stayed another night and I will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay.

We are genuinely honoured that you chose to stay with us for your fiancées special birthday; please pass on my best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    228
    62
    22
    16
See reviews for
309
930
64
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were amazed by the quality of service and kindness of ALL the people who work in the hotel, whether it be the Concierge, the receptionists, the waiters, the bartenders, room service, housekeeping, spa staff and I really hope I'm not forgetting anyone because they all deserve to be remembered!
We had such a lovely stay, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and so comfortable, the courtyard is one of the many cherries on this cake.
We have two young/very young children and the Merrion made us feel at home and they we're so wonderful with the kids, the kids menu is the best I've ever seen, they have little bathrobes and slippers even for toddlers so they can go down to the pool. The pool is so clean and pleasant, the spa treatments are great.
There is not one negative thing I can say about the Merrion, I just can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our room was in front of the elevator and out of the four nights we stayed, I did not once hear a no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us in such detail.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I was delighted to read that you had time to avail of the facilities here at the Hotel and that you enjoyed them so much.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you will have another memorable and relaxing stay with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our stay in The Merrion Hotel was a delight from start to finish. From the moment we arrived we were very well looked after by the attentive and professional staff; all of whom were a credit to the hotel.

We had not stayed in the hotel before but had been there on many previous occasions for drinks and/or lunch.

The food (as always) was superb and the room and facilites were excellent.

Repairs/replacement were being carried out to the carpets in the drawing rooms on the morning of our departure but even this was handled professionally and with no disturbance at all to the guests.

We cannot wait to return and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Merrion.

I have shared your wonderful comments with all the team here who join me in thanking you; we are all genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I am delighted to read that you are looking forward to returning the Merrion and I just hope it is not too long that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

One of the best choices of lodgement in Dublin. Walking distance from some Dublin city sights such as The Stephen's Green, The National Gallery and St. Patrick Church. Dependencies includes a large swimming pool and steaming room at the basement. Courteous costumer service are available and they were very friendly and kind with me and my partner. Having brunch at The Cellar Restaurant really worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our Sunday Brunch in the Cellar Bar.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at The Merrion for two nights last weekend for my boyfriend's 26th birthday. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, the rooms were beautifully decorated, gorgeous Italian marble bathrooms and the comfiest bed we have ever slept in! Ordered breakfast to the room on the first morning which was pricey but lovely tasting and set us up for a nice swim in the stunning swimming pool. My boyfriend then had a hot stone massage which he highly rated. The second night we came back to the hotel extremely merry and rowdy after being out all day and night round Dublin, the staff were amazing and found us highly entertaining - there was no snobbery or people turning their noses up at us haha we had a ball! The meal in the cellar restaurant was fab too and we enjoyed the drinks in the cellar bar! Thank you Merrion for a great weekend, we will be back (if you let us) :D xxx

Jessica and Joe
Manchester UK

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently following you and your boyfriend’s stay with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I was delighted to read you enjoyed the Tethra Spa and all other areas of the hotel..

I am glad that you both enjoyed your stay and I do hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just home tonight after 4 nights there. Wow, what can I say. The young man at checking went above and beyond to make us welcome. I wish I had his name to give him credit. He remembered speaking to my husband and made great strides to make us feel welcome. He was warm, friendly and made a great holiday for our kids, remembering our name to say hello during our stay. Keen, who brought our bags to the room was such a lovely fresh faced help. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and kind holding doors and greeting us. I especially enjoyed the gentlemen who helped me with the stroller at the door even though I said I was fine. The pool was great, (the woman who got floaties for our 3 yr old was a hero). The location was super and we cannot wait to go back. My 6 year old cried for an hour while leaving as she wanted to live there. Top notch, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your family’s experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. Your words are extremely generous and kind and have given us all a big boost; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. We are so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

Both my colleagues and I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Merrion hotel is beautiful visually and located perfectly in Dublin. Despite the lovely surroundings and outstanding food and wine, I would consider that the best thing about the Merrion is its staff. They have the unique ability to anticipate your every need, before it even arises! Their professionalism and ability to please is second to none. As we were celebrating a special birthday, upon arrival, we were fortunate enough to receive a room upgrade, which made the entire stay extra special. Looking forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. Your words are extremely generous and kind and have given us all a big boost; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

Both my colleagues and I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.