We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soooooooooooo nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
The Merrion Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy 3 Nights Stay
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
kildare
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“soooooooooooo nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

another very positive stay at the merrion.
I know there are other 5 star hotels in Dublin, but we just love it here.
Its consistant, the staff remember you, the location is great, and I love the fact, that once you step inside, you forget you are in a city.
We had brunch on Sunday in the cellar bar and it was really lovely.
crispy bacon to die for......
Looking forward to our next visit in December.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

My colleagues and I were delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great lift particularly from a loyal guest such as you.

We are genuinely honoured that you stay with us for your visits to Dublin are looking forward to welcoming you back in December your stay then will be as memorable as this was. I am also delighted to read that you enjoyed our newly launched Sunday Brunch in our Cellar Bar which is proving to be very popular with hotel patrons and outside guests alike!

Thank you again for your encouraging words

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    203
    55
    21
    15
See reviews for
264
799
56
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfside, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the finest properties I've ever stayed in anywhere. The accommodations were wonderful, the service outstanding, the grounds and gardens delightful and the location is perfect. Great food, great ambience and the staff could not do enough for you. They were friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and quick to respond to your every need.

Our stay was outstanding in every possible way.

We will use The Merrion as a centerpiece for a return trip to Ireland in the next few years .

Room Tip: I don't think you could get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were there the first week in October, 2013. The care and attention from the staff here is extraordinary in every way. Excellent location, and Ireland's only two-star restaurant is on premises. Try it!

Room Tip: Get to know Patrick, the concierge, and you will be ahead of the game from the start
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Merrion in Sept. On arrival in Dublin for 2 nights and at departure from Dublin for two nights. It's a very nice hotel and it's a good location where you can walk to shopping etc... There is also a hop on hop off bus stop right near the hotel. I would not qualify the hotel as a 5 star but would put it in the category of clean, well sized rooms and very good service. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for one of the more recently remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Merrion a couple of weeks ago as it was the hotel my group decided to book.

The location is quite central. It is an old fashioned 5 star where you will be well taken care of.

The staff is very friendly and very attentive to service.

Beds are comfortable and the room I stayed in was huge.

I had a view onto the Beautiful garden which I was unable to visit as it rained the entire time I was there.

A small criticism on the breakfast. It was not worth the €29 I paid. Despite having so many staff, I struggled to get a glass of orange juice (I had to ask 3 times).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole Thank you for the feedback about your experience in the Cellar Restaurant at breakfast which I have taken onboard fully.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catlin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not ill advised. We spent five wonderful nights here and everything was top notch. Our room was serviced early and this was ideal for a short afternoon rest each day before heading out again. Every member of the staff is courteous and helpful and gracious. We had afternoon tea on Friday; they call it Art Tea. It was a highlight of the trip. The pastry chef is a master at creating teacakes inspired by paintings hung around the hotel. A unique and delicious experience. We stayed in the garden section of the hotel and each morning and evening walked past and though a lovely, sculpture filled garden. Our room was large, lovely, and quiet. Elegant drawing rooms burning logs and peat welcomed us each day as we entered the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Both my colleagues and I found your kind words extremely encouraging, they speak for themselves really.

Thank you again and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms. Efficient and very comfortable, with everything you need. Good service. Friendly and helpful. Interesting architecture. Terrible service in their restaurant, but otherwise very nice. Just don't eat in the Cellar.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I was most concerned to read of your experience at dinner in the Cellar Restaurant and I have already followed this up with the team as this is most unusual feedback for us to hear. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and I only hope it will not deter you from staying with us again and to that end please do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can make the necessary arrangements.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.