We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and elegant haven in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
The Merrion Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Dine & Dream in Luxury
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gracious and elegant haven in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Merrion for three days in October 2012 and couldn't recommend it more if you're looking for an elegant retreat in Dublin!

I stayed in a Merrion Suite in the Main House, which overlooked the garden. The suite was very spacious (it would have been comfortable to entertain in) and beautifully furnished. I appreciated that the suite had all the modern conveniences you would expect in a luxury hotel while still incorporating a lot of charming Georgian period detail. I especially liked that the room was decorated with many interesting antique engravings and prints (as is the rest of the hotel). It's like an art gallery and hotel in one.

The hotel could not have a better location: it's steps from St. Stephen's Green and Merrion Square, Trinity College, many museums, as well as lots of restaurants and shops. My companion and I were able to walk everywhere during our stay which really enhanced our trip.

I would recommend tea in the drawing room to anyone staying in the hotel, it was delicious and the setting couldn't have been lovelier.

The only real downside of the hotel is the high prices of the rooms. But I did certainly feel it was worth the cost, as the hotel met my every expectation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Clea17,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    227
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
304
912
62
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A much needed two day stay at the Merrion felt like two weeks. Elegance, charm and an overall sense of calm and comfort prevailed. The facilities are excellent, the staff from doorman to chambermaid, a total delight. Our room was perfect with everything we needed and more, beautifully and tastefully decorated, as are all the areas in the hotel. Bathroom was just fabulous. This hotel creates a feeling of being in a family country hotel - in the middle of a gorgeous part of Dublin. Wonderful food and maitre d (and staff) in the Celler Room. What can we say - perfection all round. We would have quite happily not stepped outside the door of the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden - delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Merrion is a lovely hotel, but the staff- from the doormen to the concierge to the front desk who went above and beyond- made the stay all the more pleasant. I found the pros to be: (1) the charming Georgian style of the hotel, including the cozy spots for tea, (2) the fantastic bathroom, including a large soaking tub, bath robes and toiletries from Asprey London, (3) the small extras such as fresh orange juice, fruit & tea outside the gym, (4) complimentary wireless, and (5) the staff who were always welcoming, friendly and ever so helpful. The only slight con was the gym was a bit dark and could be larger with better equipment- for such a beautiful and meticulous hotel, it should have a top notch gym (although it does have a gorgeous pool & spa).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Kristisk8,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about all aspects of your stay here at The Merrion. It is very satisfying for all the team here when we read comments like yours as it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Thank you also for your feedback about the gym in the Tethra Spa. I am very aware of that feeling of space but rest assured that if and when the opportunity arises this will be addressed as it has been to the forefront of our minds for some time now.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family just returned from a weekend in Dublin at The Merrion, and we can't say enough nice things about this hotel. For its friendly and welcoming staff, its immaculate service, the gorgeous public rooms, the completely elegant, beautifully decorated (and quiet!) rooms and suites, and its perfect location, this is THE hotel you should choose for your stay in Dublin. Did I mention the friendly and welcoming staff??? They were lovely with our children, and wonderful with all of us, anticipating our every need and accommodating any request with grace; every service, from housekeeping to room service to the help of the wonderful concierges and doormen, was executed perfectly and discreetly. Somehow, The Merrion strikes a perfect balance between sheer elegance and total lack of snobbery. Highly, highly recommended - we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear justhe4ofus,

Many thanks for the wonderful and comprehensive review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Merrion. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three days to celebrate my 60th. On arrival there was a chocolate cake in my room marked "Happy Birthday" with compliments.It was far to nice to do it justice in mere words.I mention this not only to wet your lips but as an example of the service you can expect.
The Merrion is not just another 5star hotel with rooms and food of a quality to match it is somewhere special and what makes it so is its staff. They are without doubt the friendliest and most helpful of any other hotel we have stayed in and make you feel very special indeed.
"Mary Poppins" Has sprinkled some of her magic over this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a little more on a superior room,it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for bestowing such high praise on my colleagues here at the Hotel.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about all aspects of your stay here at The Merrion. It is very satisfying for all the team here when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did particularly given it was on the occasion of your birthday.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is the fourth time I have stayed at The Merrion. I have tried other allegedly comparable hotels in Dublin but none matches The Merrion for its excellent facilities, total professionalism, fabulous staff and delicious food. You get what you pay for and it is worth every Euro.
I happened to mention that a good friend of mine who had stayed at the hotel in September, had fallen in love with the spiced grape chutney which was served with a cheese plate in the bar. As the chutney was not available to buy, member of staff went to the trouble to fill a pot for me to take home to her!
It's a very special place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden wing are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear dinglewellannie,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for your very kind comments which my colleagues and I were delighted to read.

I am so pleased that we were able to facilitate your request to take away our chutney to give to your friend and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming both you and them back to stay with us again.

Thank you once again for the high praise; it genuinely does keep us motivated in striving to provide the highest levels of attention and care for all of our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel cannot be faulted. The situation is perfect, the bedrooms spacious and comfortable, the food top quality . However what makes this hotel the best place to stay in Dublin is the staff---always helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to our fourth visit next month.

Room Tip: We have always had a standard garden view room which has been very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear brightonlovestravel,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I am delighted you are recommending us to your friends and family and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Mac Cann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.