We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin City Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dublin City Inn to your Saves list
Dublin City Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
paulib32
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed at the Dublin city inn and we were very impressed. The room was very clean and comfortable, although the TV was poor (however we were not there for TV). Reception staff were excellent, very friendly and knowledgable about the area, very very good customer service. The hotel itself was close to pubs and restaraunts and 10 minutes walk to temple bar. Only moan would be the lift, it was very shakey and eventually broke down but don't let that put you off, I would definitely recommend this hotel as a cheaper alternative and would stay again. If you are a smoker this hotel offers smoking rooms. Last thing make sure you go to 'the Celt' which is a pub next door it's very good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin City Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn recently . We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us .I am glad to see you found our staff friendly as we pride ourselves on our customer service. We were having our lift maintained the time you were staying with us and i can assure you it is now in full working order. I do apologise for the incovenience this caused you. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    215
    155
    60
    22
See reviews for
50
235
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I paid 118 Euro for two nights for myself and my daughter for one room twin through hotels direct.com

First off, the location is excellent, many restaurants, stores, right at your doorstep. The "hop on, hop off" bus tours are just at the end of the street, it is a seemingly safe neighborhood and within walking distance of most attractions.

We had two single beds but it may as well have been one double as they were positioned side to side with built-in nightstands on each end preventing any movement.

The bedroom and bathroom were tiny (certainly by my American standards) but it contained all that we needed--a full length mirror, another mirror with a shelf and hair dryer (w/many outlets to do hair, makeup, etc) and also a place to hang clothes and a safe(more on that later).

The bathroom contained a small shower which was a bit tricky to keep the doors closed on in order not to flood the floor. There was also a sink with a shelf. We had no hot water at 11 a.m, my cousin across the hall reported no hot water at 9 a.m. We ended up washing our hair closer to 10 pm and we did have hot water at that time.

The hotel was clean enough but a little shabby in terms of wall stains and a missing light fixture, the bed was comfortable in spite of its close position to the other twin and with clean sheets and adequate bedding.

There is a guest lounge on one of the floors with an outdoor area (which is mostly used by smokers) but overall the area looks to be a pleasant space.

I very stupidly stashed some American dollars (quite a few unfortunately) into my suitcase and when I checked on it later it had all disappeared so please, please, do use the safe provided.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin City Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time in submitting your review following your recent stay at Dublin City Inn. We are delighted to see you forund your room comfortable and the facilities provided. I must apologise for the issue you encountered with the lack of hot water and delighted to see it was addressed on the day to avoid any recourrence later in the day.I would appreciate if you can contact myself directly to discuss your stay. We hope to see you again should you be returning to Dublin in the future.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
gm@dublincityinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Very secure, easy to get to from the DART, close to the Spire, bus and train transportation and oodles of restaurants and pubs. Rooms are small but there is a nicely appointed guest lounge on the first floor adjacent to the breakfast room. Free WiFi was quick to connect with my iPad. Our room was on the street side and we were concerned it would be nosy but we were pleasantly surprised at the quiet. Staff was extremely helpful in all things: maps, locations, tours, making rental car inquires, etc.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin City Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn recently and for submitting your review which is very much appreciated. We are delighted o see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We are ideally located in the city centre to explore all of the major attractions. We hope to see you again should you be reurning to Dublin in the not to distant future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on two occasions both on hen weekends , but don't let that put you off !

This hotel is so quiet you hardly ever here or see another guest. on both occasions the staff have been very polite and helpful , the rooms are well looked after.

The rooms are a little on the small side but have everything you need , a full size bathroom , tea making facilities and large windows.

The hotel is within walking distance to the city so you never need to have a taxi !

i will be staying her again with my husband and have recommended it to many friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin City Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Laura,

Many thanks for taking the time in reviewing Dublin City Inn on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay . We are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband in the not to distant future. I will share your lovely comments with all of my team. We appreciate your reccomendation to your friends and we hope to have the opportunity in welcoming them to Dublin aswell.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have to rave about this hotel! The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff was very efficient and so helpful. The front desk clerk gave us tips on how to save on transportation around the city and maps of locations outside Dublin we wanted to visit; they even remembered our names and room numbers! The hotel is wonderfully located and is within walking distance of a number of restaurants, pubs, shops and even a mall next door! It is a great value. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin City Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dublin City Inn and for your review on Trip Advisor. your comments are very much appreciated by all of our team. We are delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back should you be returning to Dublin in the future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last February with the family.
Check-in was very efficient. The room although spacious is a little bit dated and the bathroom look very old and in my opinion need changing.
There is a free safe in the room and free tea & coffee making facilities which we found very handy since we were travelling with a 1 year old daughter.
There is a TV in the room but it's location is not too good as it is placed in the wardrobe area and is only visible from one end of the room notwithstanding that the room is for 4 persons!!
Although it was February the rooms are not heated with central heating, you have a heater on the wall on one side of the room which does not really cope in the familty room we had. I expected to have central heating in Dublin, being such a cold city.
The breakfast was not included however we did decided to take up the offer they had which is better than what they actually offer on their website.
There is Free Wifi in the rooms and lounge area which is very handy although the connection wasn't too great.
The hotel is well located not too far from the main streets of Dublin just 2 corners away from O'Connell Street.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin City Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to write this review on Trip Advisor. We are happy are happy to see you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our central locaion is ideal to visit all the major attractions and restaurants Dublin has to offer.We appreciate your commnets regarding the heating as this is controlled in all rooms by guests themselves. We have added in more Wifi access points throughout the property to ensure connection is acessible in all areas with this the connection now is a lot better. It is nice to see you found our staff helpful as we pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff members.

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel was in a brilliant location, literally minutes walk for main street areas and a 10 minute walk from Temple bar. Very close to all public transport/tour bus pick ups.
Very good and very clean facilities, safe, TV, Tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and gusest lounge with sun terrace if you fancy a change of scenery.
Room was also freshened up, beds made, and tea/coffee restocked. Unexpected but gratefully received!
Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto main street and were not at all bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland63, General Manager at Dublin City Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay a Dublin City Inn. We are delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We very much hope to see you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Many Thanks,
Patrick Carney,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dublin City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin City Inn

Address: 95 - 98 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dublin City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, the Dublin City Inn formerly Days Inn Talbot Street has great value hotel rooms in Dublin City centre. Located just two minutes walk from O'Connell Street, in the heart of Dublin City Centre. A great place to stay on a city break in Dublin, you will find all the delights of Dublin on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dublin City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Inn Hotel Dublin
Days Inn Dublin
Dublin Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.