We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltoptreks - Day Tours

Hilltoptreks - Day Tours
17 Dodder Lawn, Dublin D24, Ireland
00353(0)877849599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 60 Outdoor Activities in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy great guided walks throughout Ireland with qualified, knowledgeable and fun guides. Ireland is a walkers paradise and walking is a great way to really see this country.
Nyaker
1 review
“Great day tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a lovely day in Wicklow. The hiking tour was very nice and not too challenging and there where wonderful views over the country side. Our guide Jim had lots of information to share and did a good job. We just wished we've had a bit moore time in Glendalough to explore, it was a bit rushed in the end. But overall we would book again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must see when in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our day tour of the Wicklow Mountains out of Dublin. Hilltop uses 15 passenger vans rather than large buses which makes the tour more personal and gives them access to narrow roads where the big guys can't go. The disadvantage is that the back row has the windows partially blocked by company advertising so visibility is limited from those seats. Our driver was knowledgeable and fun. We made frequent stops for photographs. The tour is somewhat flexible for choices. The morning can be spent with a visit to Powerscourt Gardens (our choice), horseback riding or hiking. We were picked up for lunch at a great little cafe, then off to visit the Wicklow Mountains and Glendalough with many sights along the way. We would go with the company again but don't sit in the back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A refreshing break from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

While I'd wanted to visit Dublin and the tourist sites, I tend to run out of patience with cities pretty quickly so the option to get out and see the countryside around Dublin for the day was very welcome!

I was a little disappointed that I was unable to get on a full day walking trip as that was what I had hoped for, but took the Day Tour of Wicklow that included a 2 hour walk (optional extra costing 10 euro). The walk was lovely but over all to soon! On the upside, this did mean that we were able to go on a long drive around quite a few other beautiful sites in Wicklow - Lough Tay, Sally Gap and Glendalough which was probably the highlight.

Our guide Jim was great - put us all at our ease immediately. I think I was lucky that there were only 5 of us on the trip so we had lots of space on the minibus, chance to ask questions and chat, and didn't feel "herded". Also, given that I was traveling, I was again fortunate that the group appeared to get on very well and part of my enjoyment of the trip came from that element as much as what we saw and did.

I believe there could have been up to 15 and this would probably have made it less enjoyable and would have seemed worse value for money. I guess the price was fair but there were no inclusions in terms of entry fees, refreshments etc.

I would definitely recommend taking this trip if you'd like a complete contrast to the city and love the countryside.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent walking tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I spent a day in Glendalough with Terry Lambert as guide of hilltoptreks. Terry was very very organised, great guide with lots of information and advice. I would recommend Terry Lambert and hilltoptreks to anyone interested in walking/treking on any of the trails he promotes.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltoptreks - Day Tours also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hilltoptreks - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltoptreks - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.