We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant

Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant
6-15 Nassau Street, Dublin, Ireland | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 677 7066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Our recently refurbished eatery in Dublin's city center with views overlooking Trinity college offers our guests an experience to remember. Fresh and seasonal ingredients are used to produce daily offerings by our team of highly committed chefs. Truly passionate and friendly staff will offer hospitality that is hard to beat.
Zurich
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Breakfast surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I went walking into town on a Saturday morning after having just arrived in Dublin. We were looking for any kind of cafe. We walked past several small cafes looking very empty and lonely, then we came across the Kilkenny with a huge mezzanine cafe absolutely heaving with people. We thought they must know something we didn't :)

Sure enough we had one of the cheapest and most satisfying breakfasts ever! You have to queue a bit and it might be hard to find a table, but you can't beat the selection and value. This place seems to be a real local institution.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    76
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Easy Sundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Sunday at the Kilkenny Café means - as I have just discovered - jazz and breakfast, jazz and brunch, jazz and lunch. And all the food elements can be just as you choose them from a long list, and it's a serve yourself (initially) so that you get to inspect close up. You can enjoy the music from 10am with just a scone and a coffee, or with an Irish Breakfast (full or healthy), or with salads and cakes, or then from 12.30, there is also a full lunch menu that offers a very good main course and a glass of wine. So Sunday is exactly as you want it and the musicians are wonderful. They don't intrude but they are very far from wallpaper music and they respond to audience enthusiasm. Since the jazz starts early and finishes around 2pm, the patrons come and go and they are of all ages. The staff are terrific here - carrying heavy trays, bringing a second course or a coffee or anything as required. There is no push to move on so it's the perfect calm Sunday. What a delight and a pleasure. I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Made me want to write a review!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I work nearby and so before a deadline, I went there in the morning to catch brunch. I was enticed by the view of Trinity that it had, but in fact I was pleasantly surprised to find a great variety of baked goodies and really excellent service. Am really taken with their homemade raspberry jam (it was tart and fruity rather than tiring jams that are too sweet and have little fruit). The staff was particularly helpful and pleasant and am guessing families love it too, going by the number of tiny tots hanging out there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Terrific Find For Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The great comments in Trip Advisor led us to this eatery for breakfast on our first day in Dublin. When the cabby pulled up to a retail store specializing in Irish goods, we were a bit concerned. But we quickly found the restaurant on the second floor. Our second hesitation was that it was a buffet. Our concerns about lukewarm, tasteless buffet food quickly vanished as we enjoyed as tasty a breakfast as one would experience in a high end hotel buffet at three to four times the price. One can eat sumptuously for 5 to 8 euros, cheaper than most pub breakfasts. We were so impressed we returned the next day and enjoyed their Sunday Jazz Breakfast, at no extra cost!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
“Culinary gem in the heart of Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I live and work in the centre of Dublin, am crippled by food snobbery, and having tried all of the cafes now now I can promise you that this is easily the city's best balance of quality and value. The fare is hearty, home-cooked and frequently (with their breakfasts for instance) it's more cost effective to eat here than to buy and cook the ingredients yourself. I had the lamb shank with potato gratin and salad. The lamb just fell off the bone and the gratin was rich and creamy. There was a warm welcoming buzz about the place too. The staff are personable and professional and there's no sense - as with many other cafes in the city centre - that you have to hurry to make way for more customers. There's an usually large selection of gluten free items too. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.