We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant

Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant
6-15 Nassau Street, Dublin, Ireland | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 677 7066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,891 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Bakery, Irish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Our recently refurbished eatery in Dublin's city center with views overlooking Trinity college offers our guests an experience to remember. Fresh and seasonal ingredients are used to produce daily offerings by our team of highly committed chefs. Truly passionate and friendly staff will offer hospitality that is hard to beat.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Friendly, welcoming staff, good local food, nice selection. Inexpensive. Seating area had view from second floor onto the street.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    62
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What an improvement!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I hadn't been in the restaurant part of Kilkenny Design for some years and was very pleasantly surprised on recent visits for breakfast and lunch. They have a fantastic deal for breakfast (€5 for 4 items) and really tasty and unusual salads at lunchtime as well as hot meals. In the past the service was eccentric to put it mildly but it has improved beyond recognition. A place I will definitely go back to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice place to have breakfast, not expensive, plenty of choice, on the first floor of a beautiful Irish touristy shop with ceramics and other things.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This is how to start your day in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On the first floor of Kilkenny shop.
Start your day with an Irish breakfast. So much to choose from. My favourites are Porridge with dried fruits dressed with Irish honey plus white or brown toast ,butter and course cut Saville marmalade and a pot of Irish breakfast tea , all for Euro 4.80. Or try two slices of soda bread,butter and a choice of four pieces from the fry. I normally have bacon, black pudding, fried egg and vine tomatoes and a spoonful of their delicious relish. Plus of course my pot of tea (if your a coffee drinker a mug of coffee), all for Euro 5.
The staff are engaging and polite both at the counter and on the floor.
PS normally there are copies of the Irish Times left on the counter for customers to read and to be left back when finished.
Now it's time to visit the store and buy the best of Irish !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Always come here at least once for lunch when we visit Dublin. Freshness and variety of food is really good. Prices are about average for Dublin and the quality is so good that it is not surprising that the place is usually full. Staff are most helpful. I had injured shoulder and one of the managers actually carried my tray to our table. Never to be missed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilkenny Cafe and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.