We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So unprofessional” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aviva Stadium

Aviva Stadium
Lansdowne Road, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
01 238 2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 218 Attractions in Dublin
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The guided tour of Aviva Stadium home of Irish football and rugby is a fun, informative and unforgettable experience for adults and children. The tour includes visits to the home dressing room, players' tunnel, pitchside, press room and much more. Aviva Stadium reopened its doors on 14th May 2010 and has a seated capacity of 51,700. It is the oldest rugby union ground in the world and the oldest sports stadium in Europe. Aviva Stadium is the home of the Irish national rugby and Republic of Ireland national football team. Aviva Stadium is now Ireland's only UEFA Category 4/Elite Stadium and has won a number of awards. Opening Times: February to October inclusive 7 days a week, on the hour 10am to 4pm. November to January inclusive 7 days a week, on the hour 10am to 3pm.
Cobh Co Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“So unprofessional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Arrived at about 2 mins past 2 and was told by the lad at the desk, who I disturbed from his phone, that the tour had "just left literally a minute or two ago". Nothing about maybe we could join as they just left just a shrug of the shoulders and told us "I think thats the last tour of the day". I infomed him the website says the last tour is at 3pm and was told "Oh really em I dunno there might be. Shur do you wanna come back another day cause I dunno if there is or not". This is from the guy working on the tour desk. Dont work there if all you are going to do is fiddle on your phone and not even know what time the tours are.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    86
    23
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great stadium well laid out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

a great day quick access too stadium staff very pleasant and profesional ! a great job compared too the auld place will be back

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgraceful service, food and hospitality to visitors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Unfortunately Leinster Rugby continues to move larger selling games to the Aviva stadium where fans are forced to deal with lack of experienced staff at refreshment stands who have no multi-tasking abilities and cannot foresee to have pints poured before the half-time rush , inedible food for ludicrous prices, and rude attendants who refuse to allow fans to move between levels or to move one block over to use the toilets once the game has ended. On numerous occasions I have had away fans for both International and provincial rugby games ask how as Irish fans we put up with such a poor service in our local stadium. The stadium has a poor architectural design, lacks any sort of atmosphere, and portrays the IRFU and now Leinster Rugby for the greedy organizations that they have become. A very disappointed rugby fan!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Stadium Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

New Stadium in the heart of Dublin. Bus or taxi is your best bet to reach it. and after event there are plenty of taxis available in the area. Check your tickets for the appropriate gate entrance as well as turn-style once inside the gates. They are marked and will not allow access unless your are in the right color coded area listed on your ticket. The stadium was clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. The food was hot and tasty, but as most stadiums pricey. A hotdog was 4.80 and a cuppa tea was 2.40. Fish and chips were around 8 euro

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Santa Tour 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hi, my family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 11 & 8) were on the Santa Tour and we thought it was brilliant. Santa and his elf were lovely to the kids and very welcoming. The gift Santa gave them was very good and the kids were very pleased. The tour is designed to benefit parents and children. Our tour guide Dara did a great job, very nice guy, thank you. Its just a pity Santa didn't have season tickets to give out!! Well recommend this for families.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aviva Stadium also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Aviva Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviva Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.