We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the smoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harding Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harding Hotel to your Saves list
Harding Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Shame about the smoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

The hotel is well situated on the edge of Temple Bar and is therefore quieter and cheaper than other hotels in the area. Don't have any complaints about the hotel (and happy to stay there again) except that ALL rooms are smoking rooms (with ashtrays on show). I though this was illegal in Ireland!! It's almost impossible to get rid of the smell of cigarette smoke, even with the window open. When I raised the issue I was told that it was difficult to have non-smoking rooms in a hotel of this size. What?? Anyway, the people were nice and the breakfast OK and if they only followed normal hotel practice, I'd be able to recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — All bedrooms smoking rooms. Ugh
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    568
    135
    29
    12
See reviews for
129
385
199
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

From the get-go, Harding Hotel was great! We arrived in Dublin way before our check-in time, but the hotel held our luggage for us in a secure location so we could explore the city for the day. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and we had a view of Christchurch Cathedral from our window! There's a bistro downstairs that was convenient for dinner, as well as a pub for the evenings.

If there's anything to complain about, it would be that the pub sometimes stays noisy until very late at night, and we could definitely hear it from our room. However, the noise was traditional Irish music, which didn't bother us at all, so it was nice to go to bed to. Also, while within walking distance to City Centre (maybe a 15 minute walk?), if you're not a fan of walking (or, for example, if you're traveling with extremely young ones or elders), you'll have to take a cab to get to areas like Trinity College and St. Stephen's Green.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, walking distance to City Centre
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was our 2nd trip to Dublin and The Harding was lots of fun and a great place to stay. The staff were the greatest. Including the crazy turkish football fans and the lovely lady on the front desk who tried to help me to sort out a problem with my flight. You can't believe the location for the price either. The hotel is opposite christchurch cathedral. Our room was massive and clean. The bed was very comfortable but it was 2 single beds pushed together - I always find that really annoying. The Darkey Kelly's bar was fantastic we spent our last night in the bar drinking with the Turkish staff and cheering them on in the Euro 2008 semi final against Germany. There was also a lot of German travellers in the bar and the atmosphere was lovely and lots of fun. The bar was the cheapiest in the area too. Only complaint was that I am a veggie and asked for just some scrambled egg on toast for breakfast the waiteress said that wasn't possible. I'm a bit shy about my eating habits so didn't push it but found it annoying and a little odd. However, my boyfriend who loves meat said the breakfast was made for kings!

  • Liked — The Bar and the Staff
  • Disliked — Twin beds pushed together to make a double
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Stayed two nights at Harding and its hard to fault for the price.
Only a few minutes walk from Temple Bar and Grafton St
Rooms where clean and modern. Very comfy king size bed,good shower. Breakfast really hits the spot good choice available.
Darkie Kellys bar adjoins hotel so you dont even have to go out side to get to your room.
Only slight negative is Cathedral bells from over the road.
Great value ,great position certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

We picked the Harding on the basis of the reviews and in the main were not disappointed. We were given an upgraded room on the first floor, which was, in the main, clean and tidy (some minor housekeeper problems). Breakfast ws good. We also ate in one night and felt it good quality and value.

Ideally situated for Temple Bar and central Dublin.

Take some earplugs if you want to retire early and the karaoke is scheduled for the attached pub!!

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We arrived very early at 8 a.m. expecting just to drop off our luggage. However, the receptionist did a bit of room juggling and checked us in straight away. It was a bonus to be able to chill out and have breakfast after a very early morning flight. The room was large and did overlook the outside of the bar, which I suspect would have been quite noisy at weekends. However, mid-week, no problem. We had no fault with the room and the reception staff were very helpful. The location is brilliant - right opposite Christ Church cathedral and near the tour bus stop. We got the Airlink bus from the airport which dropped us off just at the bottom of the short road up from the river.
All in all we could not fault the hotel. It is rated 2 star, and the price reflects that. However, we felt it deserved a higher rating.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stumbled across the Harding Hotel on the way to our Youth Hostel..ridiculously so the rooms for a double were cheaper at the Harding Hotel than our pokey 72 euro double at the Youth Hostel. We decided to stay for our last 2 nights as many of the same class hotels in Temple Bar are rather run down and more expensive.
The rooms are spacious and clean, the bed very comfortable and there are tea/coffee facilities in the room as well as WIFI.
You can expect to pay around 65 euro for a double probably during the week but this doesn't include breakfast.
The location is great, only a 5 minute walk to Temple Bar and plenty of restaurants nearby.
The staff were pleasant. The policy here is they don't make up your bed if you are staying more than one night - I was told by the Manager that this is not part of the service - a little strange I thought, however they will replace your towels.
Great location, clean and comfortable.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding Hotel

Address: Copper Alley Fishamble Street | Christchurch, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harding Hotel is a red bricked, traditional property located between the fashionable and lively Temple Bar and the old city areas of Dublin City, suiting both the leisure and business traveler, with comfortable 3 star quality rooms and facilities, coupled with a warm, welcoming, friendly service.Our spacious rooms are decorated in warm and relaxing tones, some offering views of the cathedral and are equipped with TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and fridge. Our comfortable beds, fresh linen and towels all serviced daily, will ensure that you just have to relax and enjoy the city when staying at the Harding. So why not come and sample the warm welcome, the excellent location, the spacious rooms and see for yourself how easy life in the city can be when staying in the Harding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Harding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harding Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.