We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

hotel was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful, very comfortable bed, short walking distance to all the sights that Dublin has to offer, could not have asked for a better hotel and very good value for money, would recommend to anybody to book this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Iain M,

Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    244
    94
    46
    22
See reviews for
90
246
47
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good location within short walking distance of Grafton St, Temple Bar, O'Connell St and Dublin Castle. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful especially the very entertaining Bernie. Very comfortable beds and good breakfasts. Lounge bar very quiet and lacking in atmosphere however lots of lovely pubs nearby.
Room was a good size with the only complaint being the lighting must have been designed by a man, hopeless for applying make-up or drying hair. Hairdryer cable does not stretch to the mirror.

However would stay here again if only for the comfy bed and the best sleep I have had in ages.

Room Tip: Pick a room to the back during the Christmas party season.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally practices good in respect of recycling however was surprised that towels were changed on day 2
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Katroisin,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and like to get feedback. I will be sure to pass your review on to management in relation to the hairdryer cable been to short and in regards to the lightening.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice affordable hotel,always has good deals when booked early.
Situated very close for shopping
Have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions for great value.
Great hotel if you are going out in dublin or shopping

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Elinnoddrogheda,

Many thanks for your review on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived from the US at the hotel around 0730. The hotel was booked and no room for us until 11 (ish). The front desk staff were exceptional. Their level of customer service for weary travelers was second to none - I believe the best during our 14 day trip. When we got to our room it was absolutely beautiful (room 250). The only downfall was on Saturday evening when there were some college students having a great time on the street side so they kept us up a bit - not a hotel issue. Breakfast was very good - wait staff were attentive and caring. We didn't know the breakfast was included in our pre-paid package so only took advantage one morning. The hotel lounge was very quiet - had a band we could listen to, but only one other couple. Great impression for our first few nights in Ireland! Hats off to Rachel (hostess) - you went above and beyond - even when our luggage was lost you assisted us in contacting the airline.

Room Tip: Room 250 was very roomy, quiet and had the bright morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tigger49_13

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience here with us and I will pass on your comments to staff but sadly Rachel no longer works with us and is sadly missed amongst the staff. Maybe we will welcome you back through the doors in the future.

Kind Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel if you want to stay close to the city centre yet off the beaten track. Very friendly staff, nice spacious rooms with reasonably good wifi connection. Good value and quite a few watering holes nearby.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Morten A

Many thanks for your review, we delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again.

Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After looking at the professional pictures online, I am shocked that this is the same hotel! We stayed for one night while in Dublin and it was okay. Nothing spectacular and not terrible. I feel that it was way too expensive for the quality we received. We paid over 100 USD for a very small, mostly clean room. Breakfast not included, although when checking out we found out we were charged for it (easily fixed by friendly staff). The hallways had a distinct smell to them, as if they were just painted. Hotel isn't far walking distance from Temple Bar and Grafton St. Overall it was fine, but I probably would not return.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear tarynk07,

Thanks for your review of the hotel.
We currently have renovation work been carried out on the hallways of the guest areas so apologize for the odour of paint.

Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Great location - we walked to every attraction that the tour buses go within Dublin, big room and very comfortable.
Con: Quite dated, some parts of the room were obviously old and needed a little maintenance. Nothing too bad just generally old.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria L, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear No N

Many thanks for your review. Delighted to hear enjoyed your time in Dublin.
We do our best to keep our rooms maintained as its an old traditional style hotel.

Kind Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O’Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in our Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith’s Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O’Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland’s historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O’Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital’s attractions, so whether you’re looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin’s best shopping district, they’ll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.