We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location is great, perfect for exploring the city center. It was close to everything, we didn't even need to book a tour bus because everything was with in walking distance. The hotel itself was nice, pretty standard. Definitely great for couples, and perfect if you are going to spend most of your time exploring outside. The only con is that they charge you for wifi, which is pretty ridiculous since, but they had a small t.v. so we got to experience Irish soap opera...
FYI this isn't one of those cheap budget hotels with loud partiers or dirty rooms. This is a nice, comfy, clean, standard hotel in a great location. I will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sue P.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Dublin.

I shall pass on your kind words to all the staff, and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    269
    101
    49
    23
See reviews for
98
268
48
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location but barely any staff to be seen! The room was quite small, and the lack of wi-fi was the most inconvenient thing that happened on my holiday! They served alcohol on Good Friday at least!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear SarahBrz

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i hope you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.
The hotel has wired and wireless internet throughout the hotel, so i was surprised to read your comments in relation to this.

Thank you for your feedback, and as always we take on board the comments of all our guests, as this helps us to improve on our products and service.

I do hope we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Terrible 30 min policy on free wifi to guests that book through a 3rd party site while people who book directly get it free! Ruined our break as could never get access to free wifi. Staff were friendly and embarrassed by situation but was nothing they could do. Surely the Internet should be built into the price!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us. We were sorry to hear about your comments on the Wifi. We have a complimtary 30 minutes per day and it is then charged per usage.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a girlie night planned in Dublin, so booked a twin room for our overnight stay. Travelled by bus to Busaras and hopped across to Connolly Station where we got a dart to Pearse Station. The hotel is less than a 2 minute walk from the station. Staff at reception were friendly and we checked in very quickly. Room was a tad on the small side but it was only for one night and it was perfectly adequate, clean and tidy. As this was a twin room, we were a bit disappointed at the frugal amount of toiletries and tea/coffee/milk supplies - not enough for two people. We stayed in room 228 which is just around the corner from the lift. It was very quiet in the room despite being so close to the lift. We were not disturbed by any foot traffic etc. Room service arrived before 9.00am to clean room which was very unwelcome as we had only hit our beds at 4.00am but perhaps we should have put the "Do not Disturb" sign on our door. They didn't disturb us and left when they realised we were still in bed. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and again the staff were very helpful. After quite a lively night on the town with our friends, my friend was quite thirsty when we arrived back to our room and we had both forgotten to buy some water and there was no water supplied in the room. She went downstairs to reception and returned to our room. Less than 2 minutes later, a member of staff arrived with a jug of iced water and two glasses. Tip top service. Many thanks and very much appreciated. The location of the hotel is excellent for proximity to Grafton Street, Trinity College, Merrion Square, Stephen's Green and city centre. No need for taxis at this location as everything is within walking distance and the area is quite safe. All in all, a very pleasant stay and we most definitely would return for our next girlie outing. I have to say it was really good value for money. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Gingernutlongford.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your girlie night in Dublin and in our hotel.

I shall pass on your nice feedback to all staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for your next girlie night in Dublin.


Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are going to Dublin to hang out in your hotel room, then don't stay at the Monte Clare. If you are going to Dublin to see the city and the country and just want to stay in a clean, safe, friendly, accommodating hotel in a great location, then you should absolutely stay at the Monte Clare. My husband and I had a great experience there. We had a king size bed which only had 2 pillows but the staff promptly brought us more and fresh towels when we requested them. The location is great. We had a room that faced the courtyard in the back of the hotel so there was certainly no view but it is on a busier street so we were happy to not hear the cars driving by. The rooms are small compared to US hotels but a good size for Europe. The water pressure was weak in our room but tolerable. Overall, it was a great hotel experience in a central location with friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear MPKJ.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, both in Dublin and in our hotel.

I shall certainly look into the issue with the water pressure, and again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An older but well looked after hotel near the center of Dublin - easy walk (4-5 blocks) to Trinity College, Stephens Square, Temple Bar - and right opposite Merrion Square. Was a little hard to find when we were walking from the airport bus as the signage was not easy to see, and the streets are confusingly named - had to ask someone after we walked by it a couple of times. The price seemed very reasonable for the quality and location of the hotel. The check-in was quick and easy, and the people were generally friendly. Only extra was €2.99/hour for internet, and we had to ask the front desk to print out our boarding passes when we left as the lobby computer also needed to be paid for - they did this with no problems. Rooms were a bit old but well looked after, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear ColinP3.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review,and i was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I traveled to Dublin in a group of six, 3 couples. We stayed at the Mont Clare February 14th - 20th and had a very pleasant stay. We arrived very early in the morning on the 14th and we were exhausted from traveling overnight. The staff was very accommodating to our party and said they could have our rooms ready after we returned from grabbing breakfast. They recommended Kilkenny's a couple blocks down the street as it was a beautiful morning and we wanted to get a little air. (Excellent recommendation for breakfast, we ate there most mornings of our stay)

Our rooms were ready when we returned and they were nice rooms, very clean with nice big beds. We found the hotel to be well kept, the staff friendly, the location and rooms safe and the location very convenient and within walking distance to several places, Trinity College, National Gallery, shopping, pubs, restaurants, etc...

The hotel offers a restaurant for breakfast (but we didnt try it, we were hooked on Kilkennys) and a Pub. They will pour you a drink in the pub anytime even if it looks like its closed. The hotel was pretty quiet during our stay with the exception of the first night when there was a party or something going on in the pub, we thought that we may have to change rooms as we were located just above the pub but the staff assured us the next morning that they had nothing else scheduled so things would be quiet moving forward and sure enough, the rest of the nights were peaceful and quiet.

We found the hotel to be a very good value for the money but if you are expecting The Ritz then no, you will not likeit. If you are expecting a nice clean hotel with a friendly staff in a central location then I definitely recommend staying at the Mont Clare!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear PJM27.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I shall pass on your lovely feedback to all the staff, and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dublin
#31 Family Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O’Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in our Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith’s Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O’Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland’s historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O’Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital’s attractions, so whether you’re looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin’s best shopping district, they’ll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.