We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 177 hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Repeat Guest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Mont Clare is a great option for travellers who are on a bit of a budget but are use to the comforts of more North American style hotels. The service is wonderful and the rooms albeit dated are spacious and well maintained. It is located inside the Dublin City Centre but on a quieter street which is a great combination. Drawbacks included some difficulty in getting a comfortable shower temperature (it worked but took it's time) and that there are stairs to get into the building (an issue if you need accessible accommodations). Brilliant otherwise for a great price for a hotel in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and i am delighted that you have chosen to stay with us once again.
Thank you for your constructive feedback, and we are currently in the process of a soft refurbishment of the guest bedrooms, to include the showers, so the issues you have addressed will be rectified.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, so that you can see the work we have done, and i welcome your comments and feedback.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    220
    91
    45
    21
See reviews for
69
222
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here mainly because I got a deal from booking.com and I had a concert to go to in Dublin.

The location is great proximity for shopping its close to grafton street. You also have the natural history museum really close by.

Check in was fine .. The room was ok .. I would echo previous reviews in regards of the showers and getting the temperature right can be a pain.

My main gripe was the pillows.. they were like sleeping on paper they were so flat and only two were provided for a double bed which is fine if your on your own, but if you have two people its not great.
There wasnt any extra in the wardrobe either, But at same time I didnt bother to request more either it was late and i was tired.

I think id have been more upset if i had paid the standard rate for this room.

Room Tip: get extra pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your constructive feedback. The hotel is undergoing a soft refurbishment, and the showers and pillows are being upgraded in the process.
We hope to have this complete in the next few weeks.

Once again, thank your for your feedback, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Comfortable Hotel close to the city centre, the price was great for this time of year. Checkin in was fast no waiting. The only issues I had was the following, it was very difficult to regulate the water temperatur in the shower, it was either too hot or too cold, the pressure wan't that great either. The Heated towel rail in the bathroom wasn't working either, not a mjor issue, just the towels were cold and the bathroom was cold also affter coming out of the shower. There was only one small tube of shampoo and shower gel for a double room. There was a lamp shade missing from one on the bed side lamps,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your feedback. I shall certainly address the issues with the accommodation department.

Just to note, that the towel racks are not actually heated racks.

Once again., i thank you for your feedback, and i look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very comfortable hotel in excellent location near Merrion Square, and just a short walk to Grafton Street. Friendly staff. Old-fashioned but in a good way - gleaming brass and dark wood as you walk into reception. We've stayed there twice and would stay again. Only serve breakfast, but good choice of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We were asked if wanted a front or back room. We asked for a quiet room and our back room on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your valued business, and i hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginjill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great room, my fiance got us the Lady Lavery suite, i was at a conference in the Street Hospital, and he travelled independlly but we got a fantastic room with huge bed and sofa and dining room table
Just a short walk to shopping and Temple Bar, on sat night we went to the Pigs EAR, in torrential rain we omitted to see the many awards this fantatic eatery has
No complaints..great hotel xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards.
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here Friday /Satueday 16/17 of november .Location was great with easy acess to shopping and sightseeing .Hotel was nice clean but in need of refurbishing .The staff were all lovely and helpful in all hotels. The breakfast was excelent with a good selection of both hot and cold .Carparking was was a central carpark for the three o Callaghan Hotels in the area a little distance from our hotel to walk back to and not so easy to see in the dark .No resturant between the three hotels was unuasual only bar food avable We found a lovely little Italian Resturant in Westland Row( Il Caffe Di Napoli) just round the corner from the hotel ,food was lovely ,service was good and prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was delighted to hear that you had a nice relaxing break with us, and that you enjoyed our hotels.

The O'Callaghan Mont Clare hotel is undergoing a soft refurbishment in January on the bedrooms, and we are also revisiting our food offerings to guests.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very good, very central, disappointing the wifi was not included. There was also an issue with the ticket machine in the car park which meant I had to wait 30 mins for an attendant. Forgivable except the person leaving when I got there, told me she also had to wait 30 minutes...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be convenient for all your needs.

Please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the issue you had in the carpark, as this is a very rare and isolated incident.

In terms of the WIFI, we offer very competitive rates on a hourly and daily basis.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we shall certainly address the issues you have highlighted to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#37 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O’Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in our Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith’s Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O’Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland’s historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O’Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital’s attractions, so whether you’re looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin’s best shopping district, they’ll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.