We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 177 hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monaghan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Comfortable Hotel close to the city centre, the price was great for this time of year. Checkin in was fast no waiting. The only issues I had was the following, it was very difficult to regulate the water temperatur in the shower, it was either too hot or too cold, the pressure wan't that great either. The Heated towel rail in the bathroom wasn't working either, not a mjor issue, just the towels were cold and the bathroom was cold also affter coming out of the shower. There was only one small tube of shampoo and shower gel for a double room. There was a lamp shade missing from one on the bed side lamps,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your feedback. I shall certainly address the issues with the accommodation department.

Just to note, that the towel racks are not actually heated racks.

Once again., i thank you for your feedback, and i look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    218
    89
    45
    20
See reviews for
78
226
47
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very comfortable hotel in excellent location near Merrion Square, and just a short walk to Grafton Street. Friendly staff. Old-fashioned but in a good way - gleaming brass and dark wood as you walk into reception. We've stayed there twice and would stay again. Only serve breakfast, but good choice of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We were asked if wanted a front or back room. We asked for a quiet room and our back room on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your valued business, and i hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginjill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great room, my fiance got us the Lady Lavery suite, i was at a conference in the Street Hospital, and he travelled independlly but we got a fantastic room with huge bed and sofa and dining room table
Just a short walk to shopping and Temple Bar, on sat night we went to the Pigs EAR, in torrential rain we omitted to see the many awards this fantatic eatery has
No complaints..great hotel xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards.
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here Friday /Satueday 16/17 of november .Location was great with easy acess to shopping and sightseeing .Hotel was nice clean but in need of refurbishing .The staff were all lovely and helpful in all hotels. The breakfast was excelent with a good selection of both hot and cold .Carparking was was a central carpark for the three o Callaghan Hotels in the area a little distance from our hotel to walk back to and not so easy to see in the dark .No resturant between the three hotels was unuasual only bar food avable We found a lovely little Italian Resturant in Westland Row( Il Caffe Di Napoli) just round the corner from the hotel ,food was lovely ,service was good and prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was delighted to hear that you had a nice relaxing break with us, and that you enjoyed our hotels.

The O'Callaghan Mont Clare hotel is undergoing a soft refurbishment in January on the bedrooms, and we are also revisiting our food offerings to guests.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very good, very central, disappointing the wifi was not included. There was also an issue with the ticket machine in the car park which meant I had to wait 30 mins for an attendant. Forgivable except the person leaving when I got there, told me she also had to wait 30 minutes...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be convenient for all your needs.

Please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the issue you had in the carpark, as this is a very rare and isolated incident.

In terms of the WIFI, we offer very competitive rates on a hourly and daily basis.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we shall certainly address the issues you have highlighted to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for the second time. 2 nights fot a conference.
Location is great, within easy walking distance of most sights and the city.
The hotel needs some renovation, especially the bathroom, but it is convenient and offers good quality compared to it's pricing. Nice breakfast and very comfy beds,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

The hotel is undergoing a soft refurbishment in January, so i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel once completed.


Kind Regards.

Dara McEnenaey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean and comfortable. Secure - you need your room key to access the elevator in the lobby. Breakfast was great. Only downside is lack of a restaurant. For dinner you have to go to their 'sister' hotel across the street. Not a big problem but worth noting before arriving. The food there was excellent as well.Friendly, helpful staff.
Had a great 2 night stay. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O’Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in our Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith’s Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O’Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland’s historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O’Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital’s attractions, so whether you’re looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin’s best shopping district, they’ll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.