We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go and eat there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
9 Sussex Terrace, Upper Leeson St., Dublin, Ireland
01 676 2851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,892 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lisburn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just go and eat there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just visited the Sussex again after first visiting in January. Once again the food was excellent. Having previously rated the fish and chips at the Merrion as the best in town, I now revised my view and put the Sussex at No 1! The specials starter of smokies were to die for, and my partner's steak was faultless. Service is excellent and the relaxed atmosphere enriched by the eclectic mix of locals. To cap it all, the owner remembered us from our first visit, and even remembered where we were from.!

All in all, this is a no brainier. Visit it, it's great value for money, a real gem.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    68
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

They slipped us in on a walk-in – lovely food, unbeliveable garlic prawns on toast, and great burger, couldn't finish it all – really nice find above the pub which was busy and looked fun!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A good all round experiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was a good quality place to eat with a good selection of food. I had the soup as a starter and it was really nice and fine. Had the shepherds pie for my main course which was excellent except there was not a lot of it. Canny place overall

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great welcome to Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely (if jetlagged) supper in a great atmosphere with excellent service. One had fish & chips: light, crispy, well seasoned. Another had the hake fish of the day. Beautiful presentation. The Early Bird Special made it a real bargain, and we recommended it to friends coming a week after us.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

For our last evening in Ireland, we choose to eat at this restaurant based on recommendations from our tour guides. We were NOT disappointed. Located above it's pub, this restaurant served fantastic food and drinks. Although small, the restaurant is quite modern with gorgeous wood furnishings and large windows. The food was fantastic and if you get there in time, they feature early bird menus. Their steak was incredible, as was their brownie sundae. I highly recommend this restaurant!!! It truly is a hidden gem!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sussex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.