We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as advertised, great family dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
9 Sussex Terrace, Upper Leeson St., Dublin, Ireland
01 676 2851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,831 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good as advertised, great family dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Thought this restaurant on top of M. O'Brien's bar was perfect for our family of five. Food was excellent. 3 of us enjoyed the price fixe 3 course menu. We were able to be our normal family-selves - that is, loud and goofy. No problem. Food was good - I particularly enjoyed my squash, coconut, chili soup. Also, my hake. Son and wife had an excellent linquini with mussels and prawns and two other sons had a steak they liked. Cheese board good, too. Overall, highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    64
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good service, nice atmosphere, excellent value...what else do you need. Will definitely return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food, warm wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were early so there was plenty of time. I wanted one side dish that was on the menu but not on my meal choice, and this seemed to be really too much for the 'chef'. The menu was a bit misleading, and the red wine was served at 'room temperature' which at the time was about 27 degrees C.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Friend had eaten here last week and said it was fab. My wife and I were not disappointed. Had an early bird meal here which was excellent quality and very tasty. Staff were very attentive and friendly throughout but not pushy. One of the most pleasant meals we have ever had in Dublin and we will definitely be back this year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, we had to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went for our anniversary dinner based off a recommendation from our hotel and it absolutely did not disappoint. Everything from the Dingle Bay Prawns to the Superfood Salad to the filet was delicious. We decided to return the following the night to try out as much of the menu as we could, and honestly would have continued until we hit everything. Service was great with the entire staff exhibiting true Irish hospitality and the price was right on. Would go back to Dublin just to eat here again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sussex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.