We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
9 Sussex Terrace, Upper Leeson St., Dublin, Ireland
01 676 2851
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 1,754 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Three fantastic dishes and two glasses of wine incl. also coffee for around 40€! Very nice atmosphere and professional service. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    125
    48
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having read the rave reviews on TA we decided to have lunch here today. It felt like a sin to be going indoors on such a rare sunny Wednesday but the Sussex is so bright and airy that it's the next best thing to being outdoors. We were welcomed and shown to our reserved table, I'd booked yesterday as I thought it would be busy due to the reviews it has been enjoying. It was busy. I chose the fish of the day; hake with mussels, tomato, baby potatoes and asparagus and my boyfriend had the Sussex burger. Both were very tasty. The mussels were beautiful and the hake was perfectly cooked, as was the burger; really juicy and served with a yummy salsa and cheese. The chips were nice but I prefer chunky chips (these were the skinny type). The staff were friendly and ensured that our water was topped up. I fully intend to return to sample the dinner menu, and will no doubt lunch there again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Mills, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Jewel across the canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staying near Lower Leeson I wanted a casual restaurant with great food and thanks to #31's recommendation I found it. Out of our 4 nights in Dublin we ate dinner here 3 times, to me, that says something. Not wanting to walk forever we found a delightful and wonderful place for fine Irish food in this restaurant. Décor was great, music was just as good as was entire dining experience. Our party tried the Shepherds Pie, Rib Eye Steak, Fish n Chips, Salad with goat cheese and pecans, Chocolate Dessert and Lemon Pouisset (sp?) with Rosemary infusion as my personal favorite dessert. We found nothing wanting. Just so you know I save Excellent
ratings for my fine dining experiences but for that I would have rated it Excellent for casual and great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem in a Diamond of a city!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Food was great and for central Dublin was really good value, Tasty, ,decent portions ,would recommend a visit!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on our first day in Dublin. Checked trip advisor (it was in the top ten of 1,100 and only a few blocks away.) We were thrilled to find it as quaint and clean as the photos. Our server was more than pleasant. She was attentive but not intrusive, and even returned with a printed exchange rate for us after we causally mentioned it.

My salad was one of the best I ever had. It was called the superfood salad and it was just perfect after a Long trip of eating not-so-good food on the run & in airports. It was so nice to be able to depend on trip advisor & not wander around trying to find a good place to eat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sussex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.