We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, tasty and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
9 Sussex Terrace, Upper Leeson St., Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 676 2851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 1,832 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Bistro, Irish, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Quirky, tasty and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went to the Sussex with my wife and 2 year old daughter for dinner. The atmosphere was lively, the food was great and place was really accommodating. One of the few restaurants that seem to understand what blue means when it comes to steak. It's worth noting that our waiter was nice but either overly busy or forgetful as he forgot our drinks after taking our order and again later but the manager picked up on both occasions without us needing to ask. Also the glass of Prosecco I ordered was warmer than I'd expect but before I had time to ask the waiter, my daughter resolved the issue with an ice cube. Petty complaints aside, a really great place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    78
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had the fantastically delicious lamb shepard's pie upon recommendation from the staff. The staff was attentive and very nice. Simply put, Eat Here!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

From the service, wine, starter, main course and desert this place was outstanding. Above O'Brians Bar. Hard to find and little known but well worth the search. Dont miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“"Good Honest Irish Food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This brasserie-style operation is a bit of an unexpected gem. It's located above a popular pub nearby to the Leeson Street bridge and advertises itself as providing "good honest Irish food". Their menu has the usual staples (like steak sandwich, shepherds pie, a hearty burger and fish'n'chips) along with some usually interesting daily specials. The quality of the domestically sourced produce and the obviously careful cooking certainly comes through in each dish. Added to that, it has a fresh and bright atmosphere, the service is friendly and efficient and the pricing is really very fair indeed. Well worth seeking out and definitely deserves to do well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Eat here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic find! What looks like a pretty regular pub has an amazing gem of a restaurant upstairs. Great food, decent prices and good service ... What more would you want really. Location is a bit out of the main city but this is a great spot if you are going to Aviva .. Maybe a 20 min walk

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sussex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.