We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food slightly off the main track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
9 Sussex Terrace, Upper Leeson St., Dublin, Ireland
01 676 2851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,845 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great food slightly off the main track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent restaurant offering good food in pleasant surroundings upstairs from a great old pub. Salads particularly good in a city that doesn't do salads well. Friendly service and good value adds to the experience. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    60
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SHROPSHIRE
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food, very good prices , good location and excellent staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate here before watching the football at the Aviva Stadium and it proved to be a very good choice. We first had a couple of beers downstairs in the bar and then enjoyed a three course meal. Everything we chose was very well cooked, well presented and good value for money. The guys at the restaurant were very polite and friendly. All in all a very good place to eat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found our way to this restaurant while visitng Dublin for the week. It is a bit off the beaten path but well worth finding. We found our way up the stairs and was pleasantly surprised by the warm, upscale, cozy environment and very attentive waiters. The food was delicious and the price a great value for all we ordered (fresh fish of the day). We wanted to try a variety of restaurants as we were only there for a week but kept thinking we should just go back to The Sussex again as it was such a great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Best kept secret in Dublin. The food was amazing. Fresh - farm to table. The atmosphere is warm and cozy - staff was great and the view of the kitchen always makes the dinner experience that much better!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great retaurant in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a couple of times, the first to watch a lunchtime match which was great. They had large screens to show the game, a lunch time special of a burger and craft beer and really helpful staff. The food was great and they were extremely accommodating; we were a group of ten and they had no problems re-arranging the tables for us The location couldn't have been better with the pub below ideal for a few afternoon pints. On the foot of this visit I brought my girlfriend for a quite meal and we couldn't have been happier. She had the prawns to start while I had the smokies, both were extremely fresh and tasty. For mains she had the hake and I had a steak. Again, both were cooked to perfection. We had a bottle of the house red and there was no problems getting pints from downstairs if wanted. Again the staff were great, we weren't rushed and were made to feel incredibly welcome. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sussex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.