We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diwali Indian & Nepalese Restaurant

Diwali Indian & Nepalese Restaurant
South Great Georges St. | Unit 1, Castle House, Dublin, Ireland
+ 353 (1) 4750091
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went here for the early bird menu and it was delicious and reasonably priced. service good and friendly staff, centrally located would recommend this Indian.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    90
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Slow service and average Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I think our perspective may have been different if we had caught the early bird menu but in view of the full cost we paid it was expensive for an Indian meal. The food especially curry sauces were very average and we had expected more in view of the newspaper cuttings in the window. We also had to wait a very long time for courses with the staff seeming to be more interested in filling the tables with new customers rather than serving existing customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We regularly dine in Diwali as a family, as it simpy cannot be beaten for quality, service and value for money. We usually avail of the 'early bird' - excellent value. For visitors to Dublin, it is centrally located and quite accessible.
The food has invariably been of excellent quality - lovely flavours. The service is exceptionally friendly, yet discreet. We are usually favoured with a complimentary liqueur. I'm so pleased to provide this with the highest possible recommendation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin ,
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent early bird”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went to Diwali for early bird to celebrate daughters birthday. Very good menu with 7/8 choices of starters & main-courses for €16.95 Recommend the "sunhere malai tikka" as starter & others liked the main courses"lamb saag" & "murga badami korma". A really excellent value meal after which we were offered complimentary drinks- whiskey, baileys etc. total cost for 4 including 2 deserts & coffees , half bottle wine & large cobra beer was only €96
Food quality excellent , I. Would totally recommend. Decor very plain but well visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went to the Diwali on our holiday when we spent a day in Dublin. We took the menu for £10 each and if I remember correctly, I ordered the Onion Bhaji as a starter and the Mix-Max Vegetables as my main course. The food was incredibly good, the waiters were very friendly, and the price was more than alright for such fine cuisine. I will most definitely come back there as often as I can!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diwali Indian & Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Diwali Indian & Nepalese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwali Indian & Nepalese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.